We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River life”
Review of Riverside Cafe

Riverside Cafe
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in Dangriga
Price range: $3 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We serve seafood like shrimp, lobster, conch(seasonal), fish fillet, and fried or streamed whole fish(snapper) daily for Dinner. For Lunch we serve the best of Belizean cuisine like rice and beans or stew beans served with beef, pork, chicken or fish. Breakfast consist of Fry Jacks or flour tortillas with all the trimmings. RiverView Restaurant is also a tourist resource center with maps and fliers about Dangriga destinations.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“River life”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Riverside Cafe is like going home from a long trip. The locals hand there, people that are going to Cayes or fishing gather there, MR. Egburt and Ms. Madeline are very gracious hosts. The food is always good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank del8fuldee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great food and beautiful river and ocean view”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

On May 2nd, we went to the old location and found out they had moved to a much nicer location which is located west of bridge. The food was great...I had fried fish with coconut rice and beans and my friend had chicken with rice and beans.
The owner Mrs. Maudeline Westby was very pleasant and provided us with great information about the country. The view and sea breeze was breath taking. We just wanted to sleep there after eating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Livetotravel227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to try garifuna cuisine”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Tried my first taste of garifuna cuisine at the riverside and it was fantastic. Tried two local soups, the deliciously sweet Hudut and the hearty bundiga. Also tried Madeline's house special fish fillet, cassava fries and rum, tomato and soy sauce. Madeline is also very helpful with information for travellers. She let me into the kitchen and we made a little video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3bvbvkCiwI

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozdocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Resting place for all purposes”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

There were not so many places in Dangriga town where you can sit and rest for longer than the time you need to finish your meal, but Riverside Cafe was one of those few places. We had great lobster there, as well as a good chicken burger, with cold beers. We were also told that this was the place where all information on transport out of Dangriga can be obtained.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank keisuked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and Friendly staff!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had a really good meal at the Riverside Cafe. The lady that runs it is super helfpul and friendly. The snapper that I had was one of my best meals in Belize. Definitely recommend eating here!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuomas_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Riverside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing