We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Venke's Kabob Corner
Ranked #15 of 26 Restaurants in Corozal Town
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Corozal Town, Belize
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The food is simply awesome. The place has recently renovated so it is nicer inside. The nice thing is that you can see the chef actually cooking your meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kyn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Best meal I had in Belize!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I decided to go to this place on New Year's Eve, just to have some different food, as I was growing a bit tired do the local fare. I ordered Lamb Korma and it was absolutely delicious!! And such a big portion that I couldn't finish it all. It came with rice. I paid $16 BZ and thought it was really worth it. My friend ordered a spinach-cheese dish and also enjoyed it. They have purified water there for free, so it's not necessary to order a drink. I only saw one table in the place; I wonder what they do if they have more customers .... ?

The only negative point is that the restaurant looks pretty unkempt and even a bit dirty, both exterior and interior. It would be a good idea if they cleaned the floor once in awhile. It did take a long time before the food was served, but once I tasted it I understood why! A fresh coat of paint and a few Indian decorations on the walls would spruce up its appearance. But if you can overlook the aesthetic aspect, you can truly enjoy some fantastic freshly- cooked Indian food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarteneja, Belize
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Got sick”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The food tasted great and that was the only place I ate that day. Got sick. Think they do not cook with bottled water. Poor sad looking inside and out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SanIgnacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal Town, Belize
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Your curry source in Corozal”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

OK, it might be the only place serving Indian food and it might take a while before you get it, but it is worth it: well spiced, big portions and the price is right. If he has his pickled carrots (he does not always have them), do ask for them.
I'd recommend Venky's as a take-away place, since there is not much ambiance inside (it is what people would call a "hole in the wall"). The seafront park is just around the corner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Exiloecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Stay in Corozal just for Venke's cooking!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

What can I say but "Oh My GOSH" this is the most amazing Indian food I have ever had, and I spent one month in India! I ordered the Chicken Tikka Masala and it was incredible. Venke is from India and really knows how to cook authentic Indian food. His restaurant is a whole in the wall and it takes an hour to get your food but it is totally worth it, we wish we could have stayed longer in Corozal just for his food.

He doesn't serve beer so we ordered our meal then wLked two blocks for some cheap beer and brought it back to his place. The meals are big enough to split between two people with normL appetites.

Seriously, if you like Indian food, make a special trip to Corozal to visit Venke's.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venke's Kabob Corner also viewed

Corozal Town, Corozal
Corozal Town, Corozal
 
Corozal Town, Corozal
 

Been to Venke's Kabob Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing