We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly the best budget hotel in Belize”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sea Breeze Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Corozal Town
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly the best budget hotel in Belize”
Reviewed March 7, 2009

We were looking for laid back and cheerful and we found it. Though the town of Corozal may not have a whole lot to offer, it is a lovely place to break up transit and relax and catch your breath. Gwyn is one of the best owners I have ever met in all my years of backpacking travel. He is honest, forth coming and full of integrity. Exactly what you need when traveling in a new unknown place. If only all budget places were this good.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandererkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    42
    9
    6
    10
See reviews for
7
58
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cozumel, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

This is a great little place. The owner Gwyn is very friendly and helpful, as is Sondra his housekeeper, cook, and "girl Friday". Sondra took good care of me, making sure I had what I needed, and she makes an awesome breakfast.

Rooms are basic with beds, dresser , cable TV, reading lamp, and fans. The place is well kept and clean. The new house cat is named Tom and he loves to play.
They also have Wireless internet, but my laptop crashed, although I saw others using thier laptops.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubabride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We stayed at Seabreeze for 1nt on Dec 21. I had pre-paid for a specific room days before our arrival and the night we arrived we were told that another couple had arrived before us and said that they were the ones that had made reservations in advance, so they got our room. We were tired and hungry because we had traveled all the way from Cancun that day, so we setteled for another room, and the owner Gwen drove us to a restaurant to eat. The room was very basic, but clean, and we slept well. It wouldnt take much to update it a bit though, even just some new bedding and new shower curtain and towels. Those small improvements would make a huge difference to the feel of the room. I must say that Gwen is very friendly and has wonderful hospitality. I felt it was a great value for the price. We were going to take the water taxi, but my son was not feeling well so we made a last minute decision to take a puddle jumper to San Pedro. Gwen was kind enough to give us a free ride to the Corozal airport.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — needs updating
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mudymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

This is a great place to stay if your passing through Corozal. The owner, Gwyn will not hesitate to sit with you and have a few beers. The rooms upstairs are cooler and have less bugs. There are bikes for use! Although he shows a great deal of animosity towards Belizians, Gwyn is very helpful on giving you advise and tips on traveling through the country.

  • Liked — The owner
  • Disliked — Just heat and humidity, but thats all part of the experience.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrageHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Very good quality for the price. The upstairs bar is wonderful, great atmosphere and fantastic view of the bay. We spotted sea turtles from the balcony. The owner Gwyn is very helpful and accomadating. Breakfast available at the hotel. Close to Patti's Bistro for other meals. I would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EskimoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

After a four day drive from Colorado, the Sea Breeze was a welcome sight and a real treat. A relaxed retreat right on the water. It was the prefect getaway from the winter in Colorado.
The price was most reasonable.
The staff is warm, friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbum77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

The Sea Breeze Hotel is a great place to stay! We contacted Gwyn through his website to make our reservation. We flew into Cancun, rented a car, and drove to Corozal. We knew we wouldn't be arriving at the Sea Breeze until close to midnight, and Gwyn said he would wait up for us to check in! We were greeted very warmly, and sat on the balcony until almost 2:00 a.m. visiting with Gwyn and his other guests...happily drinking Belikins!
The Sea Breeze is located right on the waterfront and the view is incredible! You can see the Cerros Mayan Ruins across the bay from the balcony. Our stay in Belize was for 15 days, so in the morning we left for Sarteneja, and traveled throughout Belize to take in many of the wonderful sites.
We told Gwyn that we wanted to stay at the Sea Breeze again for our last night in Belize. He recommended Patty's Bistro for dinner and it was awesome! After dinner, we came back and visited for a bit in his beautiful bar on the second floor. The rooms are very comfortable and the price was very reasonable.
When staying in Corozal in the future, we will definitely stay at the Sea Breeze Hotel!!!
Dale, Judy and Lucas

  • Liked — Gwyn (the owner), the view and location
  • Disliked — Everything was wonderful!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy_Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corozal Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maya
Hotel Maya
#5 of 6 in Corozal Town
38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
#1 of 6 in Corozal Town
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Hardie's Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#5 of 20 in Chetumal
103 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Villanueva
Hotel Villanueva
#6 of 20 in Chetumal
186 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fontana
Hotel Villa Fontana
#14 of 20 in Chetumal
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Breeze Hotel

Property: The Sea Breeze Hotel
Address: # 23 1st Avenue, Corozal Town, Belize
Location: Belize > Corozal > Corozal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Corozal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Breeze Hotel offers guests a quiet, clean, safe environment at economical prices. All rooms have a bathroom en suite with high pressure hot and cold water. 5 rooms have cable TV. The hotel has off street parking and is situated on Corozal Bay, close to the town centre. We have wi-fi, a guests only bar, a private pier, back up generator and 4,000 gallon water tank. Breakfast is available on the balcony overlooking the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sea Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel
The Sea Breeze Hotel Belize/Corozal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing