We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best Deal In Town"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rolson Cocina,Cantina & Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
“"Best Deal In Town"”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The Rolson Cocina,Cantina & Hotel is the best place to stay when in western Belize.
Sonia and Orlando, the owners, will treat you like family, and their staff are friendly and very helpful.
I only stayed 6 days on this trip, but I, and my wife, usually stay 10 days, twice a year, February and August.
We are already plannung our February 2011 trip to Belize, and looking forward to staying at the "Rolson."

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missionary73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
16
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This hotel is AMAZING! They are completely accommodating to your every need. In the small town San Ignacio there is no place that I would rather stay. The owners are two of the nicest people I have ever met. They are so kind and caring they will always ask you how your stay is and make sure that everything is how you need. Probably the best thing about the hotel is the restaurant. The food is amazing! It is by far the best food in San Ignacio with out standing service. I completely loved this hotel and would go back in a heart beat. This was my second stay I both times were amazing!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgrhtlkkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unitedville, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Once again Sonia and Orlando and their staff have made us feel at home!
Yummy food, comfy beds, the rooms are spotless clean, and the moonrises were spectacular!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigitteBachmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2009

From the moment I arrived, both Orlando and Sonia Castellanos and there service staff could not be more inviting. Sonia allowed me to check in early and offered me a soft drink, since I'm sure I looked tired and road worn. Rooms were clean and neat and the food was wonderful. Prices are very reasonable. I have no complaints and plan on staying there my next business trip to the San Ignacio area. Highly recommended.
Jack Piccalo

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackpiccalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Rolson. And we must say that our stay was a great one. The room was very nice and the food was fabulous! And of course we cannot forget the mechiladas and the specialty margaritas. LOVE EM' YUM! would like one right now! :-) We will definitely stay there again on our next trip. Thank you for making us feel so at home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belize73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed here as a stop-off point to visit Xunantunich and Cahal Pech. The staff is nice, but not friendly -- at least not in the way we mean in US culture -- we didn't have conflict, and they were there to help, but didn't smile much or offer services. We also had some trouble finding the place. We emailed for directions, but the directions were a little vague. Because we weren't familiar with the area, we really didn't know how the roads worked, or if the bridges were one-way, etc. We finally took a chance and circled through San Ignacio and found it.

The shower water was NEVER hot or even warm enough for a comfortable shower, and it smelled strongly of sulphur, especially in the morning. The rooms had air conditioners, the beds were average, and internet service was available. There is a decent restaurant on-site, but closed in the mornings, so no breakfast. We had some tasty fajitas in the evening (to help us feel at home), and the drinks were good.

Still, not too bad for the price. I think the biggest drawback was the cold and smelly water. We might stay elsewhere next time, just to see how it matches up with other places in the area. If it is par for the area, then I see no problems with this hotel worth really complaining too much about.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I stayed at Rolsons for five days in October and was made to feel "at home" . The rooms were clean, staff was friendly and the local and Mexican food was great. There is something to be said of the owners serving you breakfast and having that personal touch. Thank you Orlando and Sonia.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richbassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
1.0 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
128 reviews
1.3 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 34 in San Ignacio
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#7 of 13 in San Ignacio
589 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#4 of 34 in San Ignacio
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolson Cocina,Cantina & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolson Cocina,Cantina & Hotel

Property: Rolson Cocina,Cantina & Hotel
Address: 24 Crenshaw St., San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rolson Cocina,Cantina & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our Mexican Restaurant & Hotel. Our hotel is hip, vibrant and infused with the latest technology. our guest can choose to stay in a King Deluxe, Queen or Double, all of our rooms are very well decorated, clean and comfortable and are equip with cable t/v, a/c, ceiling fan h/c water, alarm clock. Free access to high speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Rolson Cocina,Cantina & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolson Cocina,Cantina & Hotel Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing