We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place”
other travelers have booked this property
Moe's Place The Main Reception Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moe's Place The Main Reception Area
Lodges of various sizes at Moe's Place Good Living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
8 reviews
Moe's Place The Main Reception Area
Lodges of various sizes at Moe's Place
Good Living
The conservatory
Good Living
The Interior house 1
5 lush acres of land and riverside.
Calm emerald waters of the Mopan river at Moe's Place
The grounds at Moe's Place
The rest rooms. Separate restrooms for male and females.
Garden views
Guest Reception
The interior house 2
The interior house 2
The riverside at Moe's Place Ideal for boating, swimming and fishing
The interior house 3
Some flora and fauna
an abundance of palm trees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
San Ignacio, Cayo

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
patricksa...
Belize City, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed to say not more”
Reviewed January 26, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We were really surprised that this property is being offered on the market at all.
Imagine that you dont have a bathroom and need to cross the lawn on a wet grass to reach a bathroom with no lights around ! And once you reach the bathroom, you need to use certain skills and make water running (at the moment of check in the owners will entertain you with long instructions how to get water running etc). We did not manage to get a hot shower anyway.
There is NO wi fi at all, just no network as the owners have indicated. It was a big disappointment because we really needed to check our emails at least.
No credit cards are accepted, so prepare all in cash. You will not get a receipt when you pay in cash, until you insist and the owner will let you understand in all possible ways that he is not happy about your wish to have a normal receipt.
The bed linen is not clean.
I really dont know what to say but to ask the owners not to offer their property for a stay. The road to reach the house is a bumpy dirty road near the cemetery, fortunately we had a jeep...

Date of stay: January 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeirdreB2...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disturbingly Distressed! 😦”
Reviewed December 13, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

"Reality is a matter of perception." We booked our reservation a day before we arrived and in hindsight should have noticed the details. The property is located @ 15 min. By taxi from San Ignacio and not far from Santa Famillia Village. At first glance the property looked pleasant but that is where it ended. We were told of the bus schedule to town, only to wait an hour and a half with no ride to town for dinner. My husband asked the owners about the bus and were told that we probably missed it (there should have been at least 2.) Also told us the only other way was to walk down the road a bit and take a ferry across the river and walk the rest of the way to town. We asummed this would be a short trek and decided to go...we were hungry for a meal after travelling all day from Pacencia and it was getting dark. This is where things got shady. We made it to the ferry (small boat with a gentleman pulling you across for $1.) to the other side, had to hike out for 20 min on a muddy wooded road just to get to a street and at least another 20 to get to the outskirts of town. Keep in mind it was already dark. My husband is a diabetic and his sugar drop so low I didn't think we would make it before he could get some sugar. I found out later that this route is often a spot for crime and is avoided by most locals. Why she didn't offer to call a cab for us I'll never know.

The cabin was quaint, half the windows had no screens...and bed matress was most uncomfortable with old plastic as a matress cover. One shared bathroom for all the cabins that you have to walk to through high wet grass. The shower has only cold water and we were never offered a Continental breakfast. We decide not to stay our additional night with no refund.
If you have your own car, food and don't mind roughing it - go for it. Owners were friendly but did not care enough for our welfare.
They have every amenity checked as if they offer them, not true.
By far our most disturbing night out of our 2+ weeks in Belize.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2017
Our staff quickly realised that on your arrival which by the way was a day earlier than your actual booking date, it was very very obvious to our staff that, you were both totally ill equipped, and incredibly disorganised. We also noticed that despite you asking us numerous questions it became very clear to us you were not digesting any information we provided and you quite obviously did not do any geographical research prior to your booking. The bus service of which we are not the owners was available but sadly you missed it. Despite us advising you to make your way to the front of our property and wait for the bus you casually took your time, whilst you were doing this we actually saw the bus go past our property 15 minutes after we advised you to hurry as it was due to pass by. Despite the fact that there is a bus timetable in your cabin right next to the front door which can not be missed,it is very clear to our staff you took absoloutley no notice of that either.You did not notice the detail and had you, had done so you would have been better equipped. Had you wanted a taxi you really should have either phoned for one or ask us to call you a taxi a matter of which you chose not to do either. Most importantly you did not inform us that your partner had a medical condition, but chose to vent this now. We can not be held responsible for your disorganised mode of travel. You were not prepared to use your phone to call a taxi but quite happy to assume that we should do this for you without your consent. So far all i am hearing is assumptions that was the platform for you to make the booking. When the facts are in plain English. We can not be held responsible if you did not read or digest the information properly. Hot water is available we have a 1000 Gallon tank of hot water available. Had you experienced a hot water issue you could have approached us but you chose not to. We found your attitude very disturbing indeed. Our staff made it very clear to you that when you take the 1 minute ferry ride for 1 Belize Dollar you were advised to take a taxi from there for the fare of 3 Dollars US which would take you into San Ignacio town center. Again you did not follow this advice either. In addition to this you arrived here late and 1 day to early. Your reference regarding the route is as you put it is often a spot for crime is total nonsense and a total insult to the community that live here. The route in which you refer to is used daily by hundreds of travelers and locals. We are not aware of any crime taking place in that area of which you refer. The people here are kind, helpful friendly and law abiding. From the very outset your presence here was fraught with difficulties. The mattress has a plastic cover supported by a linen mattress cover complete with fresh cotton sheets and additional bedding for your comfort.. This is in place in the interest of good hygiene. The mattress to which you refer is in fact a brand new one. The plastic cover was certainly not old at all in fact it was the same cover that the mattress was purchased in only a few days ago. Why would the windows screening be such an issue. Windows screening is not a religious standard practice it is optional. You also did not listen to the bathroom details either, you claim that there was only one shared restroom when everybody else who was here saw two shared restrooms plus an additional emergency WC facility. I suppose you did not hear the staff explain that to you either. Whilst our cook was preparing breakfast i was informed that you came to the main reception area in a happy manner and provided some volunteered explanation suggesting that you conceded to the idea that you were totally ill equipped with your stay here which was clearly obvious to us. You even turned up a day earlier than your actual booking date, it was also suggested by you that you wanted to be closer to town and that we were to keep the balance of payment that you made because you chose to leave early. And then went on to comment on what a lovely place we have here. To which a reply was returned to you wishing you well. We found your behaviours very puzzling indeed to say the very least. You make a reference that owners were friendly but did not care enough for your welfare, surely as adults you are fully responsible for your own decision making. How can we be held responsible for the method of travel choices that you have made. Your presences here was disruptive and totally bemusing. In addition to this we provide everything that is amenity checked. As previous guests have shown in there reviews. We have to say that your presences here was extremely challenging.to say the very least. You also refer to high wet grass, well for a start we do not have high grass at all. Our grass is of a golf course height as standard. Also quite obviously if it has been raining a matter of which it was on and of which is clearly an act of god, well of course the grass is going to be wet, what else can it be. The bottom line is that you were both totally illequipped to staying here, you also came a day to early and to avoid declining your booking my Wife went against my judgment to facilitate you as a matter of emergency. You chose to return this kindness by creating a package of misinformation in return. If i had taken your phone messages personally i would have declined your booking completely. By and large your the most disturbing couple we have ever had to interface with. Thankfully we will take lessons from this and any further interface with you is highly unlikely. We pride ourselves with some very good reviews, up against yours most reasonable people would read into your review as an unconvincing attempt to vent your feelings against my honest and caring wife who did all my wife could could to facilitate both of you at such a short notice. We had 1 cabin spare to facilitate your request for coming a day to early. Complete with a brand new mattress with fresh linen and cotton sheets with over blankets. ceramic Wash hand basin , stainless steel kitchen sink , easy lounge rattan and thickly padded chairs , cutlery, electric kettle, fire alarms and extinguishers. bedside night lights.Sheet rock wall and ceiling interiors, polished and varnished hardwood floors complete with pure wool rugs, curtains, fridge, cooling fans.FREE WI FI. all in a freshly decorated interior. We offer value for money as all our returning guests are clearly happy with our services.As our many other reviews clearly shows. .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
504stacyd
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again”
Reviewed December 4, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I love to camp and figured it would be a similar experience so I was very much looking forward to staying here. I emailed the owners prior to leaving for my trip as I knew once I arrived in a different country I wouldn't have a form of communication. I explained who would be arriving (my mother, sister and myself) and about what time we would be there.

I recieved directions and printed these out because I was renting a car. Let's just say the directions could have been much more descriptive. We ended up arriving in the dark which was not planned as someone hit my rented vehicle and we had spent about 3 hours in the police station on our way there so more description would have been much appreciated!

We finally arrived after a long day of travel, we were shown to our cabin and nicely welcomed. We spoke with the owner and loved everything about it. The next morning we had a excursion planned and had to be gone by 7am. After a day of site seeing and eating dinner we arrived back at the cabin and were in bed by about 9pm. After falling asleep we here someone knocking on our door. Startled by being woken up to someone knocking on our cabin door in the middle of the rainforest, my mother answered and it was the owner. She was informed she had to go into the main house and fill out some information. She put on some more appropriate clothing and left. She came back grabbed money and her passport and left again. Come to find out I only booked for 2 and not 3 on the reservation and owed $28. Also the paperwork was for customs.

Couldn't this paperwork have been brought up when we checked in and not while we were sleeping or sitting in the cabin with instructions? And couldn't the payment have been brought up when I initially sent the confirmation email about who would be coming? I would have loved to have been all settled up in advance rather than mid stay. When waking up the next morning I could tell my mother was still a bit upset about being woken up and dealing with these matters. I had also planned and payed for this vacation for her so I felt responsible for the upset.

We were all eager to leave the next morning, it was also my sisters birthday so we were ready to get this day started. We walked over to the restroom cabin to shower, use the toilet and brush our teeth and to our surprise the water was not working. This really just set the tone. We went back to our cabin, packed and left asap. We couldn't wait to use a restroom and take showers.

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2017
It was not possible to do the paperwork check in when you arrived because you had arrived very late in the night indeed.and as you say the next morning you had left at 7 am and was out all day until around 9 am when i was made aware you all returned. In light that you were only here for a few days i had to take the nearest opportunity to get you to fill in the forms at some stage. It is not unusual for people to leave and not notify the owner of there departure. This of course i wanted to avoid so i had no choice but to take the nearest opportunity to come and ask you to fill in the forms. The restroom was without water from 5 am to 6.45 am due to the village pumping station was replacing a pump. We have back up water tanks on site that we engage in situations like this. Had you made the staff aware of the water issue we would have engaged the reserve tanks immediately . Not sure how your Mother was upset if i approached your cabin in the morning it could be argued i knocked on your door to early. Either way its awkward. I can not make any additional comments about the group here in question because we had zero interface. The management and staff hardly saw the group because they appeared to be out all the time. In this case they finally left without saying goodbye or handing in the keys of which they left in the door, It was probably just as well the opportunity was taken to ensure the group filled in the paperwork at the time, otherwise the paperwork may not have been filled in at all. Due to the unfriendly way the group interfaced while they were here, it is very unlikely that we would accept there booking again. All indications suggest that they would not stay again. We have to say that in this exceptional circumstance we certainly would be fully ok with that. Most guests would have notified us if there was a problem with anything but due to the hostile manner that we observed we are not at all surprised that the group chose to vent there views here rather than adopt a friendly approach to the Management and the staff in the very short duration of there stay here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nielscr
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a very nice stay at Moe's place. We stayed in a bungalow in a beautiful garden. Thelma and James are very friendly and helpful. The food is very nice.

From San ignacio take a taxi to hammock Bridge, pass the river with ferry and walk for a few minutes.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2017
Hi Folks, It was a real pleasure meeting and hosting you both and we thoroughly enjoyed your company. Great people to be with. I would recommend the lovely couple to any hotelier. We wish you all the very best for the future and one day we hope to meet again. Take care Folks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skatepunk...
Isla Boca Brava
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice and quite place to enjoy”
Reviewed March 9, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Here we found a beautyfull and quiet place to relax and made some new friends. The simple but nice and clean cabañas are equiped with almost everthing you need (a fridge is missing but just talk to James). Sure it's not a FiveStar Hotel.

The lot is directly connected to the river where whe could swim and there are also other nice places on the riverside just a few minutes away. Next supermarket 10min walk away (we walked there every day), since we where not in hurry it was also nice to see how the locals life, far from the turism in SanIgnacio where we also made a trip to with the local bus that drives along the main road (15-20min from campsite to city center and 2$/pers.)

The owners James and Thelma made our stay to one of the best in GUA / Belize so far. Had nice evenings and they did everything to serve a great time.
If you just want to relax, have nice conversations and enjoy the nature - don't miss that place. If you're looking for a fancy and luxury place you might be wrong.

Thankxx again James and Thelma, see you next time - prommised. Benni+Julia

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2017
Hi Benni AND julia meeting you both has been a real pleasure your one of the most nicest people we have ever met, your company was well enjoyed by all. We feel very fortunate indeed to have had you stay here amongst us. I can tell you that when you left you were surely missed. Thank you so much for all the kindness you have shown and we sincerely hope we will meet again one day soon. In the Meantime please take the very best of care and Bless you both , a real delight to be amongst you. From your Friends James and Thelma. Bless you both in all that you do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusthe...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love this place!”
Reviewed December 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

So I really needed a break from the big city and this was my go to for quite a few reasons. First I needed some peace and solitude which Moes place was perfect for. I also wanted a good place to practice guitar and enjoy nature and wow this was exactly what I wanted!

Moes place is located in the country side. There is a small market walking distance to get your food essentials. This place is very affordable so enjoy local treats as you please.

Moes place offers a transportation service to and from the airport so that's a big plus.

The cabins are a great deal for what you get which are basically small houses offering running water, kitchens, and large beds. Not to mention you get clean towels and fresh sheets!

The land is well maintained and the couple who run it are absolutely great to be around. They are positive, helpful and very friendly! James always made sure I was comfortable and happy with my stay. I actually wished I would have been able to stay longer but that's ok because Im headed back!

I spent my days enjoying James' company, playing music, and enjoying local brews.

There's also many activities that can be arranged for you for great prices as well. There's horse riding, hiking, river rafting, excursions and guided Mayan ruins tours.

The nature blew me away too with exotic birds like parrots outside my window! See you there!

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2017
Marcus is a great guy and a very talented musician, good to be around and he is a very kind and helpful man. Good to have met you Marcus. Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing