We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice house for a large group”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hillview House

View of the House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the House
your home away from home view from the upper deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
View of the House
your home away from home
view from the upper deck
kitchen
lower deck view
Living area view
View of house with upper-lower deck and pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
San Ignacio, Cayo

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
doylebyrd
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice house for a large group”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

There were 7 in our group (4 in family and 3 friends all adults).The house certainly met our needs although one of the friends slept in the living room. The beds were comfortable and the baths were clean. The kitchen had all the equipment we needed. The addition of a coffee maker was appreciated when we asked if there was one. The pool was clean and the yard well-maintained. Not much the owners can do about it but the neighbor dogs were noisy during the night. The house was close to town and the Mayan ruins. We did a tour of ATM (used MayaTours downtown) and had a great time. We also did a tour by ourselves to the Mountain Pine Reserve to see Rio Frio Cave, Rio On Pools, and Big Rock. It was a long trip on rough roads and a bit scary running into soldiers with automatic weapons.

Compared to the rest of the buildings, hotels, and houses we saw in the area this house is a gem and provides all the comfort of our home in USA. I would not recommend the hotels downtown. I am very happy we chose this house as it was nice and not that expensive.

We drove in from airport and got there in the dark. Tough with basically no road signs, took a bit to locate the house. But when we got there, Blanca was waiting to show us the house and give us the keys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: My wife like it. :)
Liked least: Dogs barking, but not much the owner can do about that.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2016
Thanks again Doyle to you and your family for staying at Hillview House! We are so glad
you had a wonderful trip! Always know that you are more than welcome to stay with us again, have a wonderful day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1withnatu...
Belize City, Belize
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home!”
Reviewed December 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We loved the place, it was like our home away from home. The owners were really welcoming and helpful it made our stay a pleasant one. Relaxing on the deck of this home made us truly appreciate the beauty of this property. The house had all we needed and more. The pool was a great addition and the price was a steal for having the entire home all to ourselves! We would definitely recommend & plan on visiting again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the road to the property could have been better
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2015
Thank you Angela we are truly glad you guys we able to stay at hillview house- your always welcome back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlbdisapp...
Pyatt, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Victim of neglect.”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house is a bit run down and neglected. The finish on the wood floors is all but gone. The tub in the master bed room has some serious mildew going on. Several lights were out or broken and a table lamp in the living room had the bulb socket duct taped to the lamp. The fan in the dining room did not work. The refrigerator gave up the ghost while we were there causing us to loose the food we had bought and we had to eat out for the rest of the stay. The cleaner, gardener, and pool man all did an adequate job, but no mention was ever made that they would be coming unannounced. It's a little disconcerting to look up and see the gardener on the back porch looking in on you. Better communication from the owner would have gone a long way with this. Wifi is available but you pay for your own. Towels were provided (only three) but no wash cloths. Oh, and you need to bring your own toilet paper if you plan on staying more than two or three days and this was for only two of us. The house is supposed to sleep six. Not even close to being adequately supplied for that many. Kitchen utensils were serviceable but only just. The pool ladder is cobbled together with zip ties and has a milk crate on the bottom because it is too short and not properly installed. All in all the property did not meet our needs or expectations. If all I wanted was a place to sleep, there are plenty of cheap hotels around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: leaving
Liked least: Invasion of privacy by the hired staff with no prior notice from the owner that they would be coming.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
I very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. It is unfortunate that you did not contact me as many of the minor problems could have been addressed. We do have wifi and plenty of towels and the housekeeper could certainly have bought more toilet paper. Thank you for your feedback I will certainly address any other problem and provide better communication with future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view from the pool
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing