We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ka'ana Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Venus Hotel(San Ignacio)
$57
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)
$85
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$545
$408
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Rock Lodge(Black Rock)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (905)
Filter reviews
905 results
Traveler rating
788
84
24
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
788
84
24
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewska anawine cellarbedroom villaorganic gardenour honeymoonsweet corncave tubingfire pitcooking classprivate poolprivate tourturn down servicethe general manageroutdoor showerprivate dinnerwelcome drinkpork chop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 905 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We loved Ka'ana! The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and very private. We ate a lot of our meals in the restaurant and bar, and found the staff to be friendly, helpful and just overall very pleasant. One of our best experiences was doing the Mayan cooking class that the hotel offers...while a bit pricey, we thought the cultural experience was important and fun. We did not love San Ignacio by any means..but the location is a good spot for attractions in the area and the road to Tikal in Guatemala.

Room Tip: Any room with an outside shower was good for us!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for your review! We love that you love Ka'ana and enjoyed your stay at the resort. Our Maya nights are a new addition to our offerings and we're happy to know that you felt the cultural interaction and experience was important and fun. We feel the same! Thank you again for your positive feedback and we hope you'll come back and visit Belize and Ka'ana again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Myself and my husband visited Belize in Aug 2014 for our honeymoon. We stayed at Ka'ana for 4 nights and it was a perfect base to explore the fascinating culture, history and nature that Belize has to offer.

The rooms are lovely, decorated with local art and furnished with Belizean furniture which makes for a more authentic experience. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and attentive to your every need. The atmosphere is incredibly relaxed and peaceful and you are surrounded by the sounds of the jungle.

On arrival we were warmly greeted by the friendly management team (Jock and Janine) and offered welcome cocktails which were ideal after our long journey. Then in the room we had a fruit platter and chocolate dip waiting for us which was delicious!

The small, intimate touches are the things that we will remember from this hotel... candles lit in your rooms at night, treats left in the fridge, private dining experience amongst the wildlife, pathways lit by candle light, breakfast in bed, the calmness of the resort and most notably the staff were so friendly and keen to meet your every need. The staff were so proud of their country, San Ignacio and the hotel. One staff member even stating that he looked to work each day as he genuinely loved his job and meeting new people.

We would recommend this hotel to any of our family and friends. Its the perfect jungle hide out if you are looking for an adventurous holiday in the jungle whilst enjoying the luxury of a boutique resort to return to from your daily adventures.

The only minor fault was that the TV was faulty throughout our stay and the wifi connection was poor in the rooms. Whilst I appreciate that we didn't go to the jungle for these elements however it is advertised as a high end resort which promises these facilities. This was not a priority for ourselves but worth mentioning if these facilities are important to you.

Thanks for a great experience,
Simon and Gemma (England)

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Hello Simon & Gemma! Thank you so much for writing a review and for so eloquently describing the details of your stay with us here at Ka'ana. We truly are so glad that you all had a wonderful stay and that you felt like we were the perfect luxury jungle hideout to come back to after your days of adventure. That's exactly what we wanted your experience to be like. On behalf of the entire Ka'ana team, thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back to Belize and Ka'ana someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Two friends and I stayed at Ka Ana for a week and had an amazing time. The room (an air conditioned casita with a flat screen tv ) and grounds were beautiful and the staff is very friendly. The best part of our stay was the tours, we did a cave tubing tour, a trip to Tikal, and a day trip to San Pedro for snorkeling and fishing. The hotel is perfectly situated for all of these excursions and the hotel takes care of all of the details and we always felt like we were in good hands. We also took part in relaxing massages at the spa, a complimentary morning yoga class on an outdoor deck under a canopy of trees, a guided tour of the zoo, a trip to the Iguana Sanctuary, and spent plenty of time relaxing at the pool (a pretty infinity pool but a bit on the smaller side, which is fine since it's almost always nearly empty). They also offer Maya cooking classes and bartending classes on site- you will never be bored!. The only downside was that it was hard to get wifi from the rooms but there was easy access from the rest of the property.

Room Tip: The casitas were nice and private- a deck with a hammock out front and an additional deck with a lounge chair out back. Indoors we had two queen beds, plenty of dresser space, a seating area with a table, and a roomy bathroom. If you can splurge though, go for the villas with their own private pool-gorgeous!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Ka'ana with your friends. We're happy that you had an amazing time with us this summer and truly appreciate all the positive feedback you've shared here. What a fun trip you all had- it really is a good example of how much there is to do and see in this part of the country and why a trip to Belize should include a visit to the jungle. Thank you again and we wish you and your friends all the best for your future adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Ka-ana was our first stop on my (now fiancé) and my two week trip to Belize. Everything was just incredible. I had arranged prior to our trip to do the tour to Xunantunich. What my girlfriend didn't know at the time, was that I had also arranged to propose to her at the top of the largest ruin on the site. Ka'ana helped with everything including finding us the BEST tour guide named Andy to help with the plan. It went perfectly and it was so beautiful. I even had them sneak some champagne to the top of the ruin to celebrate the moment! Everything I asked for, they made happen, including a private dinner on the terrace with candles and tiki torches for our engagement dinner. It was unbelievable.

The staff at Ka'ana was amazing. Garnett and the rest of the crew made our trip fantastic. The room was beautiful and well appointed. The place has such a peaceful and serene vibe. It's like a little oasis away from the world, and it felt like we had really gotten away from the craziness of our lives. I would recommend this resort to anyone, and I really hope to come back one day. They knocked it out of the park!

Thank you Ka'ana!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookerama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Congratulations once again! The whole team at Ka'ana loves proposals and we're just so happy that we were able to be a part of making yours happen. Personalized, once-in-a-lifetime experiences like the one you've described here are what we're all about and what we feel every visitor to our beautiful country should have. Please know that we truly enjoyed having you and your new fiancee with us. We wish you both all the best for your future together and hope to be able to welcome you back to Ka'ana someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Absolutely everything about our stay at this hotel was fantastic! We were greeted at the airport (at 6:20 a.m.) by a great guide who whisked us to the hotel, providing all kinds of facts and answering all of our questions along the way.
We were greeted personally by managers Jeanine and Jack upon our arrival with some type of amazing, refreshing cocktail.
After resting a bit, we had the opportunity to sit down with Jeanine to discuss our activities during our stay. For every tour you receive your own personal guide for the trip and they are wonderful!
Together with their outstanding staff, managers Jeanine and Jack personally ensure that every aspect of your stay is impeccable. The food and cocktails are top notch -- fresh, creative, and delicious! Each room feels like a little casita, and it well appointed, complete with air conditioning (which is wonderful in this part of the country).
Because the property is small, you really feel the personal attention to every detail.
I really can't say enough good things about Ka'ana. You simply MUST stay here if it is within your budget to do so!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for your review! We're so glad you had such a great stay in this part of the country and at Ka'ana. From the early morning pick-up to the personal guides and attention to detail- all these elements that you described so kindly really make us very happy. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share this feedback and to refer us to others. Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back to Belize and Ka'ana and in the meantime we wish you all the best for your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews