We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Ka'ana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ka'ana Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were incredibly happy with this resort. We stayed in the one bedroom private pool villa and had Oscar as our private butler during our 3 day stay.
The resort has thought of everything - when you arrive they help you plan your stay/adventures so you can do as much or little as you'd like.
We absolutely loved the food, especially the Salbutes! The food is so fresh and is organic, with fruits and vegetables coming from the resort's garden and meat/cheese coming from organic/free range farms nearby.
Oscar was incredibly helpful - he figured out our schedule and made sure we had what we needed when we needed it. He offered advice from clothes to wear on our outings (long pants and close toed shoes to the Belize Zoo because of the sand flies), and the best outings for our family since we brought our 1.5 year old. The new managers at the hotel, Jacques and his wife were friendly and accommodating.
We've been to some very nice resorts and this is now one of our absolute favorites. We'd love to go back sometime.

Room Tip: Our one bedroom private pool villa was stunning. It was also really nice to have our own pool since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveVacations711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review! We're thrilled to know that you are as happy as you are with your stay here at Ka'ana. One of our favorite things to do with our guests is ensuring that all the details and logistics of your itinerary are sorted out and planned so that you can spend the majority of your time enjoying the incredible experiences this part of the country has to offer. We're happy that we were able to do this with you. Oscar sends a big hello and on behalf of the entire team here, we wish you all the best for your future travels and hope to be able to welcome you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    75
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
137
536
25
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at Ka'ana for a few days on our way from Guatemala to San Pedro. The staff were extremely helpful, accommodating, and friendly. We stayed in one of the Master Casitas which was truly one of the nicest places I've stayed. The private tours the hotel set up were also pretty amazing. They set up a custom tour for us that included yoga on top of Xunantunich. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip. When one of the PACZ guide for our ATM canceled both the hotel and PACZ were extremely accommodating in finding an alternative for us. I would highly recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review! It was a treat having you here with us as you celebrated such a special occasion. Our private tours are big part of what we do and the ability to customize experiences for our guests is what we pride ourselves on. We're so happy you were able to experience that. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope the rest of your time in Belize was everything you hoped it would be. We'd love to have you back again to visit and in the meantime wish you nothing but the best for your future adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Ka'ana is right off the main highway in Cayo, making it a great base for exploring the area, including the Xunantunich ruins that are less than 10 minutes up the road. It is super luxurious--it was the "splurge" place on our honeymoon. The rooms were very private, the managers knew our names within a day, the grounds were gorgeous, and their spa was killer. Expensive, but you definitely get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enne12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review! We're so glad you chose to include Ka'ana in your honeymoon itinerary through Belize and that you felt pampered and well looked after while you were with us. We chose our location specifically to offer our guests the ability to easily and quickly access all the incredible attractions and adventures that are available in this region and we're happy you appreciated this as well. Thank you again for your kind words and congratulations again! Come back and see us and in the meantime, we wish you all the best for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

From the minute they picked us up to the minute they dropped us off we had the best service, private tour guides, adventures and FOOD! They could not of done anything better in my mind. Now I know what it truly means to be pampered. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we could need or want. Our guide Andy was exceptional, fun too!!!! Oscar in the restaurant took special care of us, even going out to the garden at night to get aloe for my son in laws sunburn. Their food was a high point, we looked forward to meals as much as anything else. Poolside service was a real treat, great pizza too. They were constantly checking to see what if anything they could do or get for us. It will always be a special place as that where we found out we were going to be grandparents for the first and long awaited time. We are already planning a trip back next February. Tatania, general manager, thanks again and see you soon!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We are so grateful that you took the time to share your kind words about your stay at Ka'ana. Congratulations on becoming grandparents for the first time! How very special indeed. Please know that we are so happy to have been able to have you and your family with us and we enjoyed reading about how much you enjoyed the food, your guide, and the service professionals. On behalf of the entire Ka'ana team, we wish you all the best for your future travels and look forward to welcoming you back to Belize and Ka'ana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I went on our honeymoon and stayed at Ka'ana. We were so glad we did! The staff is extremely attentive and everyone knew us by name. That was a nice touch. The food and drinks were delicious - although a little expensive. You pay for quality I guess. The location is a bit removed from town but it was only a $10 cab ride to the center of San Ignacio if you feel like exploring. We also really liked the complementary continental breakfast. We were considering another hotel in San Ignacio but once we settled into Ka'ana we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. Please say hi to Garnett for us!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnbenedicto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review! We enjoyed reading about how happy you and your husband are that you chose to visit Belize and stay at Ka'ana for your special occasion. It was a treat having you with us and a privilege to serve you. Garnet says hi back and the entire team thanks you for your kind words. We hope you'll come and see us if your travels bring you back to Belize in the future. All the best to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Ka'ana was indeed a lovely resort. Peacefully tucked away from hustle and bustle with a very private feeling. The staff was very attentive and welcoming, especially our waiter/bartender at the pool and in the restaurant. Our food was adequate but we didn't find it particularly we'll prepared. The grounds are lovely in a hilly location.
We had several instances of confusion with our reservations and requests, and although they were attended to, it was not without effort and reminders on our part.

Room Tip: Casitas near the pool have delightful waterfall sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for visiting us here in San Ignacio! We're glad you thought the resort was lovely and gave you the chance to escape and be looked after by our team of service professionals. We've taken your feedback about the meals and requests you had into consideration as our cuisine and service is such a focus of ours and regularly gets great reviews. We want to be sure that continues! Thank you again for being our guests. On behalf of the entire team, we wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Certainly the rooms in this hotel are comfortable and clean and the staff are very welcoming, helpful and polite. Overall, we did find that this hotel lacks character and has a somewhat sterile environment.
The restaurant and bar areas lack atmosphere. The food served in the restaurant is average, and certainly a lot more expensive than in San Ignacio.
The hotel itself is about a 10-15 minute taxi ride into town, i.e., really nowhere near to San Ignacio. However, I think the journey is worthwhile for better, more reasonably priced food.
We booked our excursions in San Ignacio itself - the price was 50% cheaper than the price quoted by the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan30London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing Ka'ana as part of your travel plans to Belize. We're pleased your stay was comfortable even if the design details and aesthetic were not to your taste. We understand that every traveler has their preferences. We do hope that your tours were everything you wanted them to be. We think this part of the country is fascinating and overflowing with opportunities to be immersed in culture and adventure and are happy we could be your outpost to experience these. Thank you again for visiting and we wish you all the best for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
628 reviews
11.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
433 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
282 reviews
3.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
985 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'ana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'ana Resort

Property: Ka'ana Resort
Address: Mile 69 1/4 George Price Highway, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ka'ana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ka'ana Resort is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name 'Ka'ana' meaning, 'heavenly place,' this delightful resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ka'ana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Ana Boutique Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Ka Ana Boutique
Ka'Ana Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing