We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE found!!!”
Review of Ka'ana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ka'ana Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PARADISE found!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We vacationed in Belize for 9 amazing days, 4 of which were spent at Ka'ana and the other 5 on the beach. Ka'ana is a beautiful, tropical paradise in the Belizean jungle a few miles from the Guatemalan border. The resort is filled with gardens, pools, beautifully apportioned rooms and warm, friendly, exceptionally helpful staff members. You want a piece of heaven? Stay at Ka'ana!! I also recommend their overnight stay in a Mayan city - it's a once in a lifetime experience that the Ka'ana staff makes perfect. They will also set up a private, romantic dinner for 2 under the stars - it was magical! They really pull out all the stops for their guests - truly a gem of a resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    75
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
137
533
25
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayflower, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We vacationed at Ka'ana over our Christmas break. We had 10-days in Belize and so we stayed at Ka'ana the first half of the trip and then stayed at Grand Caribe on Ambergris Caye the second half of the trip. We stayed in a Casita at Ka'ana which was a very spacious one bedroom unit just off the central pool area. The Casita was nicely equipped, very comfortable and quite. The resort staff did an excellent job keeping our room cleaned. We joked that they must have staff communicating around the clock on our comings and goings because the room just stayed cleaned all of the time and when we would return to the room in the early evening hours they would have our small fridge stocked with a special treat of the day; always a homemade dessert of some sort. This is something we started looking forward to every evening. When we arrived in Belize, our luggage did not, and so the Ka'ana staff were very helpful in sending someone to town with our essentials shopping list. The restaurant at Ka'ana has excellent food. Our only complaint about the restaurant was the food prices seemed too high. There were three of us, and we easily spent $150 at dinner. We quickly decided that we would be much happier taking a cab in to town for dinner (a quick/short ride).

I highly recommend the Ka'ana for anyone looking to stay on the Western side of Belize and planning to take trips to the Myan Ruin areas, ATM, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judyleosara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ka'ana for the first leg of our Belizean honeymoon. We split our time in the country so that we could be adventurous and then lounge at the beach. My husband took the reigns in planning the honeymoon, so I was at first surprised when we arrived at the Ka'ana, and it was not located in the mountains, but was much more centrally located in San Ignacio.

What I quickly realized is that the location is perfect for people who want to travel around while in Belize. The Ka'ana is situated in such a way that trips to the mountains (Big Rock Falls- amazing) or the ATM caves or Tikal (right over the border in Guatemala) are all just over an hour away.

The cottages on the property are awesome. Comfortable beds, air conditioning, flat screen televisions, fully stocked mini bars, and a great bathroom. There is also a private back yard area with an outdoor shower and a chaise lounge for two. Perfect for relaxing before dinner. We took one day off exploring on Christmas and lounged by the pool. If you are looking to get sun, I would recommend snagging chairs on the lower level of the infinity pool. The staff was extremely attentive, taking food and drink orders and supplying the sun-bathers with water. The restaurant on site is great. I recommend the pork chop, short ribs or snapper from the menu- absolutely delicious. Complimentary breakfast room service is also a plus when you have early excursions.

The greatest part of the Ka'ana is the staff. They all know you by name, and are always available and willing to help you with whatever you may need. They are some of the nicest people I have ever encountered. They made our trip so enjoying and stress free. Along with the Ka'ana staff, the guides from the tour company they use are absolutely fantastic. If you are looking for adventure in Belize, and looking to do it in style, the Ka'ana is the perfect place to be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband & I vacationed here over Christmas and could not have been happier. This property is a gem in the jungle of Belize. So many activities to do, or nothing but sitting by the pool and drinking a drink from Oscar's new Pool Bar. The staff are warm, welcoming and friendly. The food is excellent, the rooms immaculate and gorgeous from the casitas to the Villas.

My husband hates to travel and we are going back next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ka’ana and were very happy with our stay. At the outset let me just say that Marisol and Alberto are both fantastic. I hope the hotel realizes how lucky it is to have two such spectacular people work at their hotel.

The resort is very pretty. We stayed in the 1-bedroom pool villa – the 2 villas are a bit separated from the rest of the property. We liked this as it enabled us to feel like we were the only ones there for much of our stay.

We liked the layout of our villa very much. One small note is that it would have been great if the pool were heated ever so slightly. Given that we were so active during the day during the height of the sun, by the time we got in the pool, the sun had set and that combined with the water temperature made for a chilly experience. That said, it was wonderful to have our own pool – loved.

We thought the food at the resort was great. I generally have very low expectations at resorts and my expectations were surpassed. The Belizean breakfast was a great assortment of food – fruit, scrambled egg, ham, fry jacks (addictive!!), beans, etc. The dinners we ate at the resort were also great. I particularly loved the dukunu appetizer, spiny lobster, and snapper. The resort has its own garden which explains why the produce tastes so pure and fresh. Yes, the food is more expensive than it would be in town at a local restaurant but hotel food is always more expensive - you pay for convenience. But luckily the food was so good that I didn't mind the cost.

This is a resort we will remember.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TheLadyinRed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Visited for a few days at the end of Nov and had a wonderful time. Although as other reviewers commented the food and tours are a bit pricey, we knew that before booking so it was not a surprise. We ate most of our meals at the resort and booked all of our excursions through them as well and we were not disappointed. The convenience and quality was worth it to us. The room and grounds were impeccable and the staff was friendly. Great local flavors; we were introduced to Salbutes with chicken (it is a new favorite of ours) and we ordered the conch ceviche at every dinner.

The tours were amazing and enjoyed all of them (ATM, Tikal, Xunantunich/Barton Cave). With the private tour we were able to set our own pace which allowed us to miss the larger tour groups, especially in ATM and Tikal. In ATM especially, we felt as if we were the only ones in the cave for most of the trip to the ruins. Only on our way back did we see most of the other tour groups... and there were a lot of them ... which spoils the intimacy and spiritual nature that you expect to experience in the cave. Onil, our concierge, prepped us the evening before so we knew what to bring and what to expect for each trip. They had all the gear, drinks and food prepared for us each morning. And since I was not a strong swimmer, they even had a life jacket for the ATM tour. Having our own driver/car and guide allowed us to ask a lot of questions and learn about the area, people and history because most drives were an hour or more. Also I tend to get car sick and only the major roads are paved so traveling via SUV instead of a bus or mini-van was much more comfortable for me.

It is a beautiful place and would recommend to anyone who is comfortable spending the money. We definitely have no regrets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days in late November. We did the package plan with breakfast and dinner included, and we arranged for two private tours through Kaana to ATM and Tikal.

PROS
- Great tours - you absolutely must arrange your tours through Ka'ana. It's more expensive, but the quality of the guides and the experience makes it worth every penny. If you do ATM, go early (we left at 7am and it felt like we were the only people there - it was an amazing experience). Also, our guide was Patrick who was phenomenal!
- Food - every meal was great; the menu had a good variety and each dish was executed well and showcased local flavors. You must try any dish with chaya (especially the chaya and eggs for breakfast).
- Wine - decent wine selection especially if ordering bottles; this was the only place in the Cayo we found with good wine
- Casitas - beautiful, impeccably clean, amazing art, luxurious beds, high-end bathroom. Nothing to complain about here. We even took a nap in our hammock on the front porch.
- Grounds - very few bugs (but still bring bug spray); our favorite thing was eating dinner next to the fire pit at night; the bar is cozy and fun; the pool area is peaceful and relaxing
- Staff - incredibly accommodating; very gracious (even to the more obnoxious guests staying there); each staffer tried to learn about us and what we were doing; these folks take their jobs seriously and it shows.

CONS
- Pricey (but still worth it)
- Food - the menu doesn't change from night to night and there are no specials. They did tell us that they had recently changed the menu and were going to add specials. After four days of breakfast/dinner we ate our way through everything on the menu; one more day and we would have repeated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EWandJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
11.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
427 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
243 reviews
3.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
965 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'ana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'ana Resort

Property: Ka'ana Resort
Address: Mile 69 1/4 George Price Highway, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ka'ana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ka'ana Resort is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name 'Ka'ana' meaning, 'heavenly place,' this delightful resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ka'ana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Ana Boutique Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Ka Ana Boutique
Ka'Ana Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing