We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little bungalows in prime location”
Review of Tropicool Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropicool Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Reviewed August 27, 2012

There are two cabanas in the back and we tried each of them. Bungalow 2 is right next to the road so it was a little loud. Bungalow 1 is the better pick as it's further in the yard and has a large screened in deck.
Each cabana had a double bed, a single bed, TV, minifridge, and coffee maker. The rooms were cleaned each day, and were spotless. At $35US, this hotel is a good find. It was located right on the main street so restaurants and bars are steps away. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Cabana 2 has a screened in, large porch and is a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyLovesAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 60 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights for 25 Belizean dollars a night. Room was small but clean. They change the sheets and towel everyday. The ceiling fans are a bit noisy and weak. The location is in they middle of the town, right beside all the tours. Great budget option.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My travel buddies and I stayed at the Tropicool Hotel for a week in San Ignacio. It was about $10/night for a room with three beds in it. I believe it was one of the cheaper rooms they had at the hotel. There are two bathrooms that are shared with about 10 rooms in the hotel, unless of course you decide to splurge and get the $30/night rooms (which are really nice:comes with mini fridge, coffee maker, small tv, and your own bathroom). The cheaper rooms have a small table, mirror, fan, and beds. Very very basic and simple. The premise is pretty safe. The rooms are key locked, however it is always a good idea to lock up your valuables in your suitcase. Their staff is very trustworthy; you just never know who is staying in the hotel. Rose is the housekeeper for the entire place and she's been with them for 8 years! She is amazing! She will come in everyday and make your bed with clean sheets, mop the floors and bring clean towels and soap. Probably one of the most sweetest people you'll ever meet! The rooms are very simple and the beds are decent. Nothing fancy, but very clean! No bugs at all! There is a laundry area in the courtyard that you can hand wash your clothes and hang them on the lines to dry. We loved staying at the Tropicool! Word of advise: If you want to leave a lasting impression of gratitude, bring a small gift from where you're from for the housekeepers. They work so hard in making sure your stay is amazing. Such a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricaMc00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed there for 4 nights in a private room for 2 with a friend. It was clean and simple and great value. Originally we booked 5 nights and we wanted to change to 4, even during Christmas week, the owners said 'no problem' and we paid for 4 nights. We met some friends who stayed in the shared bathroom section and it was very clean and nice as well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dansh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Moved to Tropicool after being grossed out by the "Central 'otel" 2 houses down the road that we left in disgust after one night. The two hotels are about the same price but oh my word what a different experience is Tropicool!
The owners were friendly and helpful, the room and the common showers are clean with hot water. It offered all we needed after adventuring during the day.

We stayed there New Years Eve - it was pretty loud as the section in front of the hotel is used for a street party, music stopped at 4 am which was fair enough but stage deconstruction took place from 4-6 am and was louder than the music - don't want to blame this on the hotel (and they had told us) but something a traveler should be aware of if New Year comes around again.

Room Tip: I liked room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daRealTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed at the Tropicool for four nights. We were definitely trying to stay on a budget and the price of the hotel room was definitely in our range. San Ignacio isn't a big town, but the hotel is right on the main street and yet is very quiet. Our room was basic, but clean and comfortable. The owners are super super nice and helpful. The only thing that I didn't like was that I thought we'd be able to do laundry there and while there is an area to do laundry, it's outside in weird cement sinks that I didn't feel comfortable using. Also, because it's so warm, they only give sheets (normal in Belize) but it actually did get cool at night so I requested a blanket and they gave me one, no problem.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OurGalVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I’ve stayed at the Tropicool several times. On my last trip, I looked at other hotels first, then headed straight for the Tropicool. All I can do is parrot what others have said: friendly staff; modest prices; a clean, relatively spacious room; noise-free, being in the back off the street; with table, chair, hangers, rod for hanging clothes; fan; clean bathrooms with hot water. The maid insisted on sweeping and giving me a fresh towel and soap on the second morning, though I didn’t ask for it. The best deal in San Ignacio. Paid B$25 (US$12.50).

The only drawback is that the room I stayed in (#7), which faces west, was warmer at night than during the day, as the outside wall absorbs the sun’s heat all day and funnels it inside at night. Even the fan didn't help. It’s a minor complaint, though, for such a nice property.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymundo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
8.3 mi away
The Orange Guesthouse
The Orange Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Unitedville
22 reviews
0 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#10 of 14 in San Ignacio
134 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
146 reviews
3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
650 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicool Hotel

Address: 30 Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: $18 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicool Hotel has an away feeling even though it is only one block from the center of town. The property, which stretches between Burns Avenue and West Street, is dotted with flowering plants and fruit trees: guava, banana, plantain, lime, custard apple and more -- which add shade and coolness to the place. There are rooms with shared bathrooms, outside there are three individual cabins with private bath and cable TV, offering a little more privacy. Everything is meticulously clean from the outdoor sitting area to the bathrooms. This family-run hotel is well-established and includes a nicely stocked gift shop. Inside the hotel there is a bulletin board with helpful information on tours and activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tropicool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicool Hotel Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing