We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was great, tours were great, staff questionable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Martha's Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 35 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2007

We booked our hotel stay and tours around San Ignacio through Martha's. John picked us up at the Belize City airport and drove us to San Ignacio. That was about 1.5 hour trip and he was more than happy to talk about Belize and help us during our trip. (The transfers are not included in the price.)

We stayed at the Guest House, which was very spacious, modern, nice bathroom/shower and had AC. It was just down the street from the main Inn. We were very pleased with the accommodations.

The tours and guides were great and the process was painless.

The staff (other than John) didn't seem very competent to include the restaurant workers. And when there was a misunderstanding (such as the bill), most of the time on their part, they would laugh and not be helpful as if we were wrong the entire time.

Overall, I recommend Martha's and that you book your tours through them, just don't expect much help from the front desk.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slickjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 240 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2007

We stayed at the Inn at Martha's (a nearby annex of the Guesthouse) and were slightly less enthused that we may have been at the Guesthouse itself. We felt the Inn was isolated and less welcoming than the Guesthouse seemed. We ate meals at the Guesthouse and were very impressed with the service and the food. Martha and her husband were very friendly and their advice was great. However, we recommend reconsidering this establishment for a stay if you value close interactions with the owners or other guests.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EastcoastNerds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2007

Stayed 4 nights Jan 19th to Jan 23rd, 2007. Hotel is dead center in main part of town with easy walking to the bank, restaurants and local tour operators. We stayed in the First Lady Suite on the top floor for about $80 US/night. Hotel has wireless internet even though we didn't use it. The room is great. Two large beds, nice big bathroom although it is mostly setup for a shower. Clean, clean clean. Nice staff and helpful. The large porch was a great bonus to the room because you could sit outside and enjoy looking at the town and checking out everything. However, the view is mostly of building tops but you can see across the area to some degree. I don't think you would do better at other places. From what we saw, the hype at some of the hotels does not come close to the prices so we were really glad we stayed here. If there is any issue with the hotel it is the noise at night especially the dog next door. The city is pretty busy at night with cars driving around and people yelling. It is a compact area in San Ignacio. We took ear plugs and had the fan running which made a huge difference. From looking around I couldn't imagine being stuck at any other place in town. The restaurant has good food and prices are fair. Belize is not cheap in general but at least a coke is a buck instead of 2.50 like a US hotel would charge. We ate hear and at Hannah's several times which is about a block away. the bank is very close which is nice if you need the ATM. San Ignatio proper is not much to look at but the river runs by town.

Like I said, Very good place to base out of. ATM is about 20 minutes away, Pine Ridge is a long drive because the road stinks. CalPech and Xunatenech (spelling) are a few miles drive and easy to get to from here.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank inthegroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

Marthas guest house is a nice, very clean place in a great location in downtown San Ignacio. I ended up paying $60 US a night for a double room, which is probably on the high end for Cayo. A friend of mine got a room just down the street for $10 US, but we both did indeed get what we paid for. Comfortable beds, hot water, clean as a whistle, and no hassle at all, plus easy to book online. The house has a European feel to it, all tile and wood beams and rock, but decorated in a truly local way. If you're willin to pay $60 a night, I would highly recommend Marthas. If you're workin on more of a budget, look harder, there's more options out there.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarlboroMan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2006

My husband and I recently returned from a wonderfully adventurous vacation in Belize. We stayed at Martha's for four nights and were happy with our choice.
I would however recommend the following: booking a room with A/C as it can get humid, and mosquitos and a lizard came through the one window without a screen!
The food at her downstairs restaurant was delicious but the portions were rather small. Hannah's was a much better bet and by the crowd, it is an obvious favorite with Belizeans and travellers alike.
We booked the ATM tour with Hun Chik, went to Tikal through Mayawalk, and booked a cave tubing and spelunking adventure at Caves Branch through Eva's restaurant -- all absolutely wonderful.
All in all, the trip was superb!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vegetarian-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

Martha's was the best place we stayed in in Belize. We had the junior suite (since there were three of us), which had it's own balcony overlooking the street. Beautiful room, huge, private bath, fridge, coffeemaker. Had nice common areas with guidebooks and magazines. No A/C was the only problem, but the fans made it ok. Really close to center of town and really nice staff. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank snickelfritz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Colchester, Essex, UK
15
Reviewed June 30, 2006

Only stayed one night here travelling through to Guata but v impressed for the price (approx $25 US double room). Spotless, plenty of hot water and good shower (sometimes hard to find in these parts).
The pavement cafe, same building but seperate entrance was fantastic for breakfast with fast attentive service and the scrambled egg dish with chopped onions peppers and spicy sausage (local name escapes me) with Fried Jacks just has to be tried. Would definitely have stayed longer if time permitted and would reccomend even to upper-mid range travellers despite its budget price.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
859 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#3 of 35 in San Ignacio
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#8 of 35 in San Ignacio
673 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martha's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Guesthouse

Address: 10 West Street | PO Box 140, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: $100 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Martha's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martha`s Guesthouse Hotel San Ignacio
Martha's Guesthouse Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing