We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible room, horrible staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Martha's Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 31 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible room, horrible staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

We were very excited about our Belize trip and had a great experience with every hotel we stayed at, until we got to Martha's Guesthouse. While they charged us the same rate they charged everyone else, they put us into an unfinished room, with a hole in the ceiling, no AC, and a missing door (only a screen in the back, which did nothing to block out noise or insects). Even the three screens they had "meant" to put on the windows were sitting next to the door when we got to our room - the hotel staff did not even bother to stash them. When we logically complained we could not stay in a room with no AC, no door, and a gaping hole in the ceiling, the staff not only refused to let us change rooms but was incredibly rude on top of it - at one point, the hotel owner screamed at us, saying we could just get the hell out if we didn't like our room. Now, that's customer service. Between the accomodations, the roaches, and the horrible staff and owner, I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelingtasha4791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    97
    22
    6
    12
See reviews for
38
103
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

We stayed in the First Lady suite--around $80/night--which was our big splurge on this trip (our fantastic honeymoon in Belize). The only reason i'm not giving five stars for cleanliness and rooms is that the bathroom sort of smelled mildewy (although this might just be because the area is humid, but we didn't have this problem in our hotel in Placencia, which is right next to the sea), they also didn't have a shower curtain in our bathroom so the floor would get super-wet everytime we took a shower, and the room had a strong varnish smell from the shellack I think they used on all the wood finishes. But other than that, the staff and our experience at Martha's was great. The suite comes with two big beds and a huge balcony overlooking the City and the hills, a great place to chill anytime of the day. The location is central and therefore a little noisy, but surprisingly it's pretty quiet in Cayo (or at least when we were staying there) and the noise never kept us up at night. Also, the hotel is within walking distance from all the stuff to do in Cayo. The staff are the best--they hooked us up with tours through Pacz tours to the Actun Tunichil Muknal caves (amazing must-see!) and Tikal, which were great. They even arranged for our lunch at the last minute when we did the ATM tour. There is a restaurant connected to the hotel which is just okay. Hodes down the street is much, much better.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BayAreachick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2009

location, cleanliness and staff all very good. restaurant also very nice with outdoor garden.

standard room smelled of sewer gas from drain (masked by bleach smell when we checked in)

there's some noisy air / heating thing out back which gets much louder at times during the night

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smell and noise
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank VancouverRainforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

We chose the Jr. Suite because it had A/C. Very clean. There are drawers but no place to hang things. The staff was very helpful in arranging tours. The restaurant was nothing special. The large upstairs suite is having A/C installed. San Ignacio itself is not especially interesting but good base for excursions.

  • Liked — Seemed like one of the nicer places in the town
  • Disliked — Odd bathroom design
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrummerGirlSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

Martha's Guesthouse was the most perfect place to stay while we were in San Ignacio. We were in the Double Junior Suite room with Fans (#7) and it was absolutely ginormous! The suite is actually two rooms, one with a full size bed and the other with two twin beds. Lots of light, windows, 2 fans, an armoire for clothes, modern bathroom (with hot and cold water), cable tv (not that we even watched it) and two french doors that opened up to our private balcony! We were on the 3rd floor and had a great view.

The location of the Guesthouse is amazing, just a stone's throw from the city center where you'll find lots of places to dine, including Hannah's, one of our faves. Martha's also has their own restaurant with a sweet patio - the food is delicious and the staff is just lovely. One US $ = 2 Belize dollars and you can enjoy a delicious meal with generous portions for under US $10. Beliken is their country's beer and their (dark) rum and cokes are so good (as their cola is sweetened with sugar cane).

Take some time to walk around and explore San Ignacio. I can't say enough how warm and friendly the people are here. There are dogs and cats roaming around - it's like they have their own social life, just as their owners! You'll find everything you need in San Ignacio - cool locals, banks, eats, bars, food stands and great people watching!

We signed up for 3 tours with Martha's - Caracol, Cave Tubing, and Tikal. All were absolutely magnificent and well worth the $. Martha's arranged everything and all we had to do was be (somewhat) ready to go at the designated time. You can pay for the tours upon arrival (note that they only take cash for the Tikal tour and there is an exit fee when leaving Belize to enter Guatemala) and no deposit on any tour is required. Since we went during "low" season we had our own private tour guide! David Martinez was our guide for the 1st two outings and is super cool and informative. Luis was our guide for the Tikal tour - he's a brilliant medicine man and contagiously spiritual. We couldn't have asked for better folks to show us around.

If you can nab Sandra from Lanza cab to take you around in her taxi- she has an awesome personality and knows practically everyone we passed by. She's the only female cab driver and in her Cadillac, she's hard to miss!

Don't forget to bring your sunscreen, repellent, waterproof gear for your camera and buy LOTS of water - it's hot and humid and you can get dehydrated quickly! There's a store right across from Martha's main entrance on Bullet Street where you can buy anything - drinks, snacks, supplies, etc.

You will not be disappointed with Martha's accommodations and staff. Martha & John, Hugo, Dan - they were all awesome! It's no surprise that we left our hearts in San Ignacio.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — Wouldn't change a thing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank supadupastef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

We are a family of 5 and stayed at Martha's for 4 nights in March 2008. We had absolutely nothing to complain about. The room was clean and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the restaurant is excellent. It was a little noisy at night as the hotel is in the heart of San Ignacio, but we found it to be part of the experience and enjoyed our stay thoroughly. We will definitely return. If you want to get a feel for the local culture here, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise,Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2008

My fiance and I stayed at Marthas Guesthouse for 4 nights in the huge top floor 1st lady suite, which was perfect and a steal at $80 a night.

Martha's location is perfect, right in the heart of San Ignacio, with easy walking distance to anywhere in town.

The staff, particularly Hugo Salazar the front desk manager, was extremely friendly and helpful with everything to arranging tours (including a hassle free, perfect trip to Tikal Guatemala), to transportation.



The Guesthouse is clean, convenient, and of excellent value. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank wander1591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.4 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
3.0 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#12 of 14 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#4 of 31 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martha's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Guesthouse

Property: Martha's Guesthouse
Address: 10 West Street | PO Box 140, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Martha's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martha`s Guesthouse Hotel San Ignacio
Martha's Guesthouse Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing