We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, clean hotel in San Ignacio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Martha's Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 31 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good, clean hotel in San Ignacio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Martha's is centrally located right next to the main square and very close to a lot of restaurants and shops. Rooms were very clean and spacious and tastefully decorated and very reasonably priced. Melody was very responsive to emails and she helped us with all our hotel and tour bookings.

Martha's also has a very nice restaurant with a great variety of items. They had a great breakfast and opened early on Christmas day, so we could quickly grab a bite before heading for the tours. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    97
    22
    6
    12
See reviews for
38
103
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

The room was nice and clean, the hotel itself had great areas to relax and enjoy as well as a great balcony overlooking the road. It's literally one block over from the main street with all the restaurants and souvenir shops. The staff was very helpful. They rushed and had all our laundry washed in one day and it was very inexpensive. We didn't eat in the restaurant since there was such great food out on the streets but heard that it was good from everyone who had tried it. This was the best value of all the places we stayed in Belize.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chad Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

On balance Martha's is A1 with us. A resort hotel it is not, make no mistake. It is a small, extremely well-managed hotel in the heart of of town. Affordable and comfortable, the rooms vary in size and price. Management and ownership rest with Martha and John, who will always go out of their way to accommodate. (Their son is mayor of San Ignacio.) We have stayed at Martha's on annual visits with UVM students since 2007. Guest house restaurant serves excellent food. We highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: You will be comfortable in any of their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayanad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Nicely decorated, clean and comfortable room with a/c, two double beds etc.

Staff and owner were all very friendly and helpful. There are definitely cheaper places in town but they looked more like a hostel / guesthouse than this which is very nice small hotel.

Would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Moods_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Martha's Guesthouse was a very comfortable, clean place to stay while visiting Tikal. John met us at the Belize City airport and provided a great shuttle with lots of information and careful driving out to San Ignacio. Elias is a great guide to Tikal, Luis and Tosh are both excellent local taxi cab drivers in the area and can provide trips all around the area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights and 4 days in San Ignacio. Instead of staying at a jungle lodge we decided to stay in the city as a jumping off point to the Cayo. I was very pleased with the level of cleanliness and comfort of our room. The balcony was so charming and some of my favorite moments were relaxing while drinking coffee and taking in the sounds of the city. The staff were all super friendly and helpful from the hotel to the restaurant. We ate breakfast every morning in the restaurant and it was so delicious!! Fresh ingredients and generous portions. Overall, I really only have positive things to say about our stay at Martha's. Definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Martha's is in the heart of town and close to everything you need, whilst also being quiet, spacious and exceptional value for money. If given a choice, stay in the room on the top floor as the breezes are cooling and views amazing. Martha herself i quite lovely and we found Melody a pleasure to speak to and deal with. It really is a friendly, comfortable place. The room had real character and bathroom had adequate water pressure and heat. I highly recommend staying here. It'squite easy to get to from Belize City on the Benque bus from the bus station, and the fare is only 10 or so Belize dollars. It takes about 2.5 hours. Get dropped off in town and it's 100m walk!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wezy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.4 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
3.0 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#12 of 14 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#4 of 31 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martha's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Guesthouse

Property: Martha's Guesthouse
Address: 10 West Street | PO Box 140, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Martha's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martha`s Guesthouse Hotel San Ignacio
Martha's Guesthouse Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing