We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is an awesome jungle lodge with great service and hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parrot Nest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parrot Nest Lodge
Ranked #7 of 31 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place is an awesome jungle lodge with great service and hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

I hope you like rustic if you're going to Parrot Nest, because sleeping in a tree house is just that! Don't worry, you can still close your windows and doors at night though. The Nest is a great looking place with a perfect jungle surrounding, giant iguanas, a hilarious host and AMAZING cook. Totally worth it. Take advantage of their trips too, like the ATM caves. I would definitely go back. Thanks again Parrot Nest!!

- Jon & Wendy

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDNeumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    66
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
75
173
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

The people at Parrot's Nest make the difference, everybody is so nice, the home cooked meal is awesome, as is floating down the river on one of the complimentary tubes.

Had a swell time here!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalterAdvices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Parrot Nest is great. The owners are great people, extremely nice, full of info, and cook up some delicious food. The cabanas are very comfortable and it's wonderful falling asleep to the sound of the jungle's insects. The shared bathrooms, grounds etc were really clean and well taken care of, it's obvious that there's a lot of pride in the property. The location is also great, because you're right on the river (which you can float for free) and in a quiet spot, but you can be in San Ignacio proper in 10 minutes via a colectiva. To top it all off, it's extremely affordable and well-priced for a double occupancy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoldswitcheroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

Excellent food. Great hostess who helped us plan our days in the area. Highly recommend this to those who want to be surrounded by the jungle. Charming, rustic rooms in a fabulous setting.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ErinHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed at Parrot Nest for 4 nights in Mid-November 2010, and loved everything about the place. The rooms are awesome- not fancy but comfortable and very unique (we stayed in one of the tree houses). Yeah, they are a bit small, but trust me- you won't be spending much time in your room anyway! The dining/hang out area is really great- open air deck looking out over the lush green yeard and scenic river (great for a refreshing swim, too). We hung out here at night with chatting and playing games with our fellow travelers and had such a blast Loved the food- Theo is an amazing cook, so definitely join in on dinner if you have the chance (there are also some great places to eat in San Ignacio). Parrot Nest is in such a great location- outside of town so it is very peaceful, but close enough that the taxi ride was dirt cheap. Theo and Marcus (and the girls) were so nice and accomodating- they really went above and beyond helping to set up tours and dropping us in town when they were heading in. Their kindness really made our stay memorable and truly out of the orinary. If you are planning on traveling to Cayo, I can't recommend Parrot Nest enough.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahoejules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

This family-run respite is a gem of a place. Stay in the treehouse if you can, but keep in mind all of the accomodations are nicely situated and charming. Swim and tube in the river. Enjoy daily sightings of agoutis, toucans, iguanas, and beautiful birds-not to mention the family of furry pets you will quickly befriend. Lay in a hammock, read from one of the books in their library, eat their yummy home-cooked meals in good company with other world travelers, and venture into the town of San Ignacio in a $2 collectivo taxi. Truly a special place!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2FunChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

My friend and I just got back from a weeklong trip to Belize. We LOVED it here. Parrot Nest is close to town, but nestled far enough back that it feels secluded and quiet. Theo was wonderfully helpful and even drove us to the iguana hatchery when it was pouring rain (our cave tour was cancelled). Hot coffee every morning, drinks on the honor system, delicious meals every evening, friendly faces, comfy cleans rooms (though it is rustic, so don't expect luxury). OH, and when you go, please take Theo some almonds or mixed nuts. She said they are impossible to get in Belize!

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank skygazer242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
5.0 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
2.6 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#6 of 31 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vanilla Hills Lodge
Vanilla Hills Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Nest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Nest Lodge

Property: Parrot Nest Lodge
Address: Bullet Tree Falls | P.O Box 108, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Parrot Nest Hotel San Ignacio
Parrot Nest Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing