We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cook / food in the area ... no contest!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Parrot Nest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parrot Nest Lodge
Ranked #7 of 32 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best cook / food in the area ... no contest!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Family traveled to Belize in June 2010. We stayed at three locations during our trip. Our goal for this trip was to "rough it" with accommodations and splurge with activities. My wife and I traveled with our kids, ages 17, 15, 13, 11. All places were selected by reviewing Trip Advisor.

The second stop was the Parrot Nest in Bullet Tree Falls. We hesitated doing the tree house experience but finally committed. As advertised on their website, the Parrot Nest is no frills. This is a great place to crash after a long hard day on the river, in a cave, or touring a Mayan site.

The rooms are simple. The kids stayed in the tree house ... it is a small room with two beds. The showers are in a central location and could use some improvements ... small trickle of water and difficult to adjust.

Marcus was a great and knowledgeable host. But the true benefit of this place is the food. The cook here was the best we came across in Belize. Authentic Mayan dishes were superb.

Rooms were very affordable, refrigerator full of beer at an affordable price and a great place to hang out after dinner.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akcook13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    66
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
75
173
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

arrived at parrots nest with the lovely non-stop talking william, bless him, he is a really nice guy, he bear-hugged the lovely theo and then headed off with his 2 other victims in his lovely wacky van.....
well now parrots nest.... theo marcus and the girls are a lovely family along with all their pets, dogs

Parrots nest itself, well its a lovely location, and the family are lovely and they have lovely friends too which become your friends to whilst you are there, enjoying theo's lovely dinners, or if she is out she also has family friends that come and cook and take care of their guests and they cook lovely dinners also so all good, fed and watered and beer in the fridge, well who could want for more.....
We stayed in the treehouse as we have stayed in treehouses before and always found them such fun, well to be living up a tree who wouldn't find them fun :-) however, i did find the treehouse at parrot's nest to be ever so slightly a bit to small, maybe its my age and i get hot anyway but just a little more room and a more comfortable bed would be blissful for me, i know we are in the jungle and we mustn't expect too much but this isnt my first time to the jungle and this is primary jungle so not so deep and a little more maybe could be expected. The showers were interesting and you never showered alone (or slept alone either)! its good to shower in the jungle coz you really shouldn't really even expect hot water, but as i stated previously this is primary jungle and the showers and wash areas really could do with being updated a little.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raywheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

My fiancee, parents and I enjoyed the tail end of our Belize extravaganza at Parrot Nest Lodge. We were happy to experience a insect free time, making friends with geckos and floating down the river with the owners.

Dinners were deeeeeelicious! Theo is an awesome cook, as was her mother who used to own the Lodge who was visiting at the time. Drinks are reasonably priced considering you'll need to walk to the local store to get anything.

The family was friendly, helpful and stayed out of our hair unless we needed something.

The rooms were great. Our bed was lumpy, we mentioned it to Theo, and she had a replacement one brought in that day.

Highly recommend Parrot Nest Lodge. Also, you may want to rent a car from one of the rental places in town, much cheaper to explore the area that way, especially if you're splitting costs.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickahontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

A cute, comfy set of intimate treehouses on the bank of a river where you can watch the fireflies dance while you lounge in your hammock after a fantastic meal. Do not miss the owner's scrumptious omelet breakfasts, and delicious, hearty dinners. There isn't a restaurant in nearby San Ignacio that can compare. This place was a find, and easy on the American wallet. Close to the outdoor activities of the area it's a great homebase from which to explore the Eastern interior of Belize.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

Words can not describe the way I feel about this place. Theo, Marcus, Kaite, and the girls, you are all amazing people. I have never met such friendly and helpful people in my life. This is definately a home away from home. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, then you are in the wrong place. If you are looking for something quite and peaceful, with a friendly atmosphere then you are in the right place. Theo helped us book our tours. Im happy that she did because we got to meet one of the best tour guides around, Max. If you can tour with him, i would reccomend it. If there is anything at all that you need Theo and her family are more than willing to help you . Katie (Theo`s mom) was there, she was very helpful aswell, lots of knowledge. make sure you pick up one of her books while you are there. I am really enjoying them. I can not say enough about this place. Thank you again for everything and making us feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanieherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

Rustic and minimalist accomodations - but OK, since expected. Proprietor provides nice, friendly service and good food.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffRawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

Marcus and Theo are good hosts. They offer all kinds of assistance, from booking tours to taking you tubing down the river. The kids are delightful and you feel like you're staying at a friend's house. My only negative thing to say is the beds were really terrible. No support whatsoever. Some good mattresses and possibly some egg crate or memory foam pads would do the trick to remedy that. Everything else made up for that. The rooms were clean, the bugs are tolerable and not bad for a cabana in a jungle, and the showers and bathrooms were clean as well. The food was great and very reasonably priced. I would stay there again. Great bargain.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunnybonesColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
5.0 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.6 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#6 of 32 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vanilla Hills Lodge
Vanilla Hills Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Nest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Nest Lodge

Property: Parrot Nest Lodge
Address: Bullet Tree Falls | P.O Box 108, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Parrot Nest Hotel San Ignacio
Parrot Nest Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing