We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In The Jungle”
Review of Parrot Nest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parrot Nest Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Over the past few years, I have stayed at a number of exotic hostels and lodges around the world - Parrot Nest is by far my favorite. It has a wonderful environment for those looking to be adventurous (living in the jungle is pretty cool!), backpacker (Theo and Marcus are so friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area's best activities), or simply someone looking for a relaxing but different experience. The location requires a cheap cab/collectivo to reach which is made up for by being right on the river and actually in a jungle-like environment.

Having breakfast and dinner at the lodge is an absolute must, as Theo prepares such spectacular meals. Being out of the way of the city also means that breakfast and dinner times were the perfect time to sit back and share stories with the other well-traveled guests. Having the chance to chat with Theo and Marcus throughout the stay also helped me to gain perspective about life in Belize.

Overall, I came into the experience thinking it was just a cool place to stay. I came out three nights later feeling a part of the family. I will not hesitate to say that I look forward to returning to Parrot Nest any time I am in the area in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clamchaoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Parrot Nest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 365 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Parrot Nest for 3 nights, and everything about our stay was beyond exceptional. The location is aobut 3 miles outside of San Ignacio but it's incredibly easy to grab a cab or collectivo back and forth (and all of the tours that Tao helped us booked actually picked us up and dropped us off at Parrot Nest). When it came to booking tours and figuring out what to do Tao and Marcus were so knowledgable and helpful with suggestions and handled all the bookings for us. In fact, while we were there ATM was closed due to the rain, and Tao and Marcus recommended that we try Crystal Cave instead since it's a dry cave (Definitely a must, but be warned that it is a definitely more intense than the other caves in the area). We were given a clean dry towel everyday, there was always hot water, and the rooms/bathrooms were always clean. Also if you stay here make sure that you have dinner there at least one night as the food is unbelievably delicious. You eat dinner with the other guests, and was a great place to talk to the other guests and get to know them. The atmosphere is completely relaxed, everything is based on the honor system (you grab a Belikin from the fridge you mark it on your sheet). Simply put, this place has no flaws and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vincenzo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Can't say enough about our stay at Parrots Nest. This place is exactly what I was looking for and is a destination in and of itself. Marcus and his family were incredibly hospitable and welcoming. The communal dinners/breakfasts are a must! Dinner and a few Belikins turned into card games, story telling, new friends, and laughter into the night. I felt at home and truly relaxed within hours of arriving. If you're looking for a place to chill and a great experience, then Parrots Nest is the place to be.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WalkAnyWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at the Parrot Nest for 4 days and had a great time. The kids loved the tree house they got to stay in, we all enjoyed tubing in the river, and it was a great jumping off spot for adventures around the Cayo region. Tao was extremely helpful in suggesting things to do, and was better than any 5 star hotel conceirge in helping us book tours. The meals were delicious, and having a common meeting spot to visit with fellow travelers was a nice added bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tjerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife was very apprehensive about staying at the Parrot Nest due to the rustic looking pics. No doubt it is rustic but the place has a great feel which is due to the hospitality of the hosts and the communal dining. It feels like a bed and breakfast. My wife and I loved it and wished we stayed longer. The food was excellent and Marcus even gave us a ride to the airstrip in Maya Flats after we insisted that we would get a cap. I have stayed at a lot of hotels and never had that kind of hospitality. Floating down the Mopan River is great too. We also enjoyed meeting the other guests and hearing about their travels.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbulldawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Though we did not stay here by fortunate circumstances we met Marcus and Tao Teo and were invited for dinner. We were intrigued by the jungle feeling of the place and especially enjoyed the one seating dinner which was excellent. The Parrot Nest has a nice easy laid friendly feeling. It was enjoyable having dinner with all the guest and getting to hear their stories and adventures in Belize.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda and Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This place is seriously rustic. When we first got to the cabin, it seemed a shade rickety. It took a while to grow on us. However, we grew to enjoy the jungle location, the bottomless pot of great Guatemalan coffee, and the camaraderie of meals shared with the other guests. Meals are boisterous, fueled in part by the fridge full of cheap Belikin beer. If you keep an eye out, you can spot some local wildlife: we never saw toucans, but we did spot an agouti, a cute (and edible) large rodent. Theo was also happy to book tours for us and to arrange our transfer to Belize City.

We booked cabin #5 for its attached bathroom, but the hot water heater wasn't working, so we used the shared shower on the first night. The second day, it got fixed, but we still preferred the shared shower because it had much better water pressure. At checkout time, we found out that Theo charged us a reduced rate that was the same as for the bathroom-less units, which was nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branden55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
5.0 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
634 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,229 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#4 of 32 in San Ignacio
435 reviews
2.6 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#8 of 32 in San Ignacio
656 reviews
6.1 mi away
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
#3 of 32 in San Ignacio
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Nest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Nest Lodge

Address: Bullet Tree Falls | P.O Box 108, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: $32 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Parrot Nest Hotel San Ignacio
Parrot Nest Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing