We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for what is was...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosa's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosa's Hotel
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine for what is was...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Rosa's for several days in early March. The location is nice and convenient, but other than that, we weren't too impressed. The beds were very uncomfortable. We weren't expecting anything fancy, but they were so thin you could feel the bed frame through it. We layered another mattress on top, but it still wasn't great. The noise is still a factor. It didn't seem as though anything has been sound proofed. By 9 or 10pm, you could definitely hear the club next door. We did have our own bathroom, the only hostel on our trip that we did, so that was nice. Tony is nice and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yarrow-flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosasHotel, Owner at Rosa's Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Thanks, Yarrow for taking the time to review Rosa's. I wish you had mentioned that your mattress was unsatisfactory. We have replaced most, as we are nearly complete renovating the rooms. I surely would have moved you two. Hope otherwise you enjoyed your time in San Ignacio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
1
31
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Rosas is centrally located in downtown San Ignacio. It is a block away from the bus stop, which we used to travel across the country. It has a second story balcony with great views of San Ignacio and a nice breeze. The rooms are simple, clean and come with ac/tv if you request it. The owner is a really cool American expat. I stayed there for a week with my friend who got really sick when we were in town and Tony was extremely helpful in getting him healthy. He cares a lot for his guests and will bend over backwards for you. Thanks Tony!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnunn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosasHotel, Owner at Rosa's Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Thanks so much for your praise, Mr. Nunn. However, I must give credit to the local physician who graciously accepted us into his home on a Sunday morning to help your friend. Simply put, being a good host is quite easily accomplished in a town like San Ignacio. This is a very special community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

Rosa's Hotel was a last minute stay for us. We were both feeling sick and needed a place in town ASAP. Lucky for us, Tony had a room with AC. He also fixed our dehydrated tired selves some of the best fruit smoothies we've ever tasted. Be sure to ask him to make you one! Also excellent WIFI and satellite TV.
Although we couldn't get the hot showers to work, Tony was very quick to take care of the cockroach issue we had to the best of his ability. We also had the room closest to the entrance of the hotel, so maybe that's why we had the roaches. Location was great, price of room was very reasonable, and be sure to book your room early for February!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc0050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosasHotel, Owner at Rosa's Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Thanks so much for your compliments. As I explained to you that evening during which I did battle with the roach, these are the tropics, and those things FLY. You can't stop them. However, as noted by other reviewers, and militantly patrolled by me, this is a very clean Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minden, la
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

just today got back stateside after five weeks in awesome san ignacio area and was never at a loss for activity. when i picked rosas after gleaning reviews, i got the buy of a lifetime. the hotel is clean and comfy but the buy (and inexpensive at that) is in company there. tony, the owner, and his family become your family. guests come and go but none left strangers. i'll be back soon and you can bet rosas will be my base.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davisturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

If you want to be in the middle of things in a clean hotel, at a great price this is the best in San ignacio and includes a continental Breakfast.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank tobaccocay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed at Rosa's for a night, and found it to be a truly great hostel with one catch - the noisy nightclubs on either side.

Our room was sparse but clean and had a private bathroom - can't ask for much more than that. The patio/porch area was lovely and had a nice breeze. They have breakfast available for you, and a little outdoor kitchen that you can use to cook your own meals if you so desire. The staff was really helpful and gave us lots of advice about tours and helped us connect with "Jim," the owner of the Barton Creek Outpost, when we thought we had missed our ride. It is RIGHT IN THE CENTER of San Ignacio, which is super convenient as well. They also have wi-fi.

The only downside is the loud music at night. Bring earplugs, or request a room farther back from the street.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosasHotel, Owner at Rosa's Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Once again, thanks for recognizing our Hotel as a clean warm place to stay, hosted by great people.

That being said, there is a night club next door, which has recently made sound proofing improvements to the building, following a bit of arm twisting by yours truly.

Further, the Night Club next door only has dances on Saturday nights or some Holidays.

Lastly, the Hotel is located in down town central. If you want 7 nights of guaranteed peaceful sounds of wilderness, then I recommend you find a hotel out of town. I mean, seriously, I cannot name hotels in this response, but let me assure you, I have stayed in a very posh place in Manhattan, New York, and my 500U.S. a night got me horns, and sirens to sleep to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

This hotel is ok but thats it. At 8;30 pm the bar next door starts playing music so loud that the room shakes from the bass provided by their sound system. It continue at decibals equal to that of a live rock concert. It continues until approx 1.30 am. If your their for the night life and parties then you will do just fine. If you looking to get some sleep go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosasHotel, Owner at Rosa's Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
After several letters written to the Belize Liquor Licensing Board, the owner of the club next door has put a brand new roof on and sound proofed the building.

It was really a nuisance but truly, for about a week in June I thought the club had closed down. Turned out that the owner did a nice job of quieting down the escaping good times happening inside.

Thanks for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.5 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicool Hotel
Tropicool Hotel
#13 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#12 of 14 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#4 of 31 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella's Backpackers
Bella's Backpackers
#6 of 19 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosa's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosa's Hotel

Property: Rosa's Hotel
Address: # 65 Hudson Street, San Ignacio 50101, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Specialty Lodging in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosas Hotel is located right downtown in walking distance of all shopping, tour guides, and restaurants/entertainment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rosa's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa's Hotel Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing