We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was just okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our stay was just okay”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I chose Cahal Pech because I thought it would be a quieter option for San Ignacio with a great view and still close to the action. We stayed in a cabana for three nights. I was a bit disappointed for a few reasons: It was louder than I expected although I'm sure still quieter than right downtown. The view from our cabana over the city was mostly obscured. The cabana itself was quite small with limited spots to put stuff (only a table with a tv on it, no closet or cupboard). We found the restaurant pricey. And the hike to town and back wasn't realistic after long days of adventures around the Cayo District. That said, the staff was very friendly, we loved the giant porch on the front of the cabana, and it's a nice looking place with the cabanas tucked in along the hillside and the multi-level pools.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    215
    102
    54
    15
See reviews for
136
250
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for six nights and had a very wonderful time. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We used the hotels shuttle service to pick us up from the Belize City airport, and to take us to the water taxi in Belize City seven days later. The pool was a great place for our kids to play and for us to relax after a long day. There is an amazing view of the town from the pool area. We also took advantage of the hotel restaurant quite often as it was very convenient and the food was very good. We stayed in both a suite and a cabana, and enjoyed both. The location is very nice being in walking distance of the Cahal Pech ruins, and for the view. We often would walk into town for breakfast or dinner, but almost always took a taxi back, as the hill is a bit steep. It is an east 10 min walk into the downtown and the taxi is only $8 to 10 BZ ($4-5 US). That was for a family of 5.
Overall we very much enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

Room Tip: The cabanas are very nice, but with the thatched roof, I think you hear more noise from the town at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExploringMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We only stayed two nights and not in a cabana, we had a 2 bedroom in the main building. Our room had a big private balcony and spectacular views. The rooms are older but were clean and comfortable. Came with its own gecko and a few ants but you are virtually in the jungle so not surprising. The walk from town is yuk - huge hill - but the taxis are plentiful and cost about BZ$8 (US$4)for the 4 of us - worth the price ! We walked down into the village quite a few times but only walked back once! The Cahal Pech ruins are on the doorstep and a great place to start your tour of the Mayan Ruins.

Room Tip: As said, we were in the main building and I think we probably had a better view than from the cabana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSPLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We spent five days a Cahal Pech in the cabanas and loved every minute of it. It is an excellent place to stay and be able to visit the surrounding area and tours. The staff was very friendly and more than accomodating. You must have a massage on the veranda of your cabana. We had great fun at happy hour drinking local coconut rum and pineapple juice. We even left our suitcases in the manager's office for two days while we went to visit Tikal in Guatemala. We actually came back and stayed another night because we were late leaving Guatemala.

Room Tip: Stay in the Cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaylagay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a very nice resort, which you do not need to leave during the day if you just want to relax. The restaurant is a little expensive for Belize (most meals from US$8-13), but everything we ate was delicious.

The bar and wait staff were very attentive and friendly. The front desk staff were nice, but I felt the service could have been better. The answered your questions but didn't particularly go out of their way.

The hammock in the cabana is a fantastic place to relax.

Room Tip: Cabanas near the top of the hill offer a great view and are easy to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theo_and_Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Having been in Belize for four weeks when we stayed here, I had become accustomed to warm and friendly service. This place was more like a typical motel in the states. Not unfriendly, but not particularly friendly either. We stayed in one of the cabanas. It was fine, if basic for the price. Smallest television I've seen in a long time, but it worked. Baths were clean, but no face cloths, or shampoo. Strange that it has a thatched roof and no windows, but had ac. It's a good place if you are in town to see the ruins. You can walk there. Also Xunun ta nich isn't far. Our feeling is this place is accustomed to tour groups, and may find individual travelers more of an inconvenience. Restaurant was inconsistent.

Room Tip: If you get a cabana, get one near the top of the hill. It's a climb to the lower ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobogado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at Cahal Peche for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Summary: The hotel is comfortable, the food delicious ,the staff superb and prices reasonable. It's a great base for exploring the region.

Details: Stay in a thatched roof cabana if you can. While furnishings are plain, the beds are comfortable and there is a separate bathroom. Our room had both a ceiling fan and A/C and flat-screen TV. Best of all there is a roomy screened-in patio with a hammock and a couple of deck chairs. It's wonderful to be surrounded by nature. While we had no problem with noise at night, a couple of friends in other cabanas were mildly annoyed by barking dogs and a crowing rooster.

The food in the restaurant is good. Breakfast is buffet style with eggs, potatoes, beans, fruit and other items. It's tasty, but if you get tired of the same lineup every day, you might try one of the restaurants down the hilll in San Ignacio for a change of pace. We would recommend Martha's and their banana pancakes for that. At Cahal Peche, the nachos appetizer is terrific and the dish featuring fish layered between fried plantains is a must try. From the bar, try their specialty drink -- a Belizian snow, which comprises white rum, triple sec, coconut cream, lime juice and lime zest.

You can relax at one of the three pools just off the bar/restaurant area and you can get pool towels at the front desk. You can book tours of ruins, cave tubing, etc.,right at the hotel desk. We went to the Xunantunich ruins with Kodi Ireland as our guide and we highly recommend him. He's very knowledgeable and friendly. The housekeeping staff visits every day. One little downside is that wireless internet is not available in the rooms. There are a couple of computers at the front desk for guest use and you can get on the net around the bar and restaurant area.

Be aware that the resort is at the top of a very steep partially paved road. While we walked into and out of town several times (and were greeted by nearly every person we passed), some people might find this physically challenging. Taxis are readily available at anywhere from $5 to $10 Belize (about half that amount in US dollars). The Cahal Peche ruins are literally within walking distance of the resort, only a short way down the hill. Be sure to visit the museum as well as the ruins.

I can't say enough about the resort staff. They are so friendly, helpful and hardworking and will make your vacation special.

Room Tip: Get a cabana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doyouski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.4 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
628 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
984 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
256 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahal Pech Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahal Pech Village Resort

Property: Cahal Pech Village Resort
Address: Cahal Pech Hill | P.O. Box 1, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cahal Pech Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahal Pech Village Resort is located in the heart of the Mayan world, San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize. We offer professionally guided tours of local and other Mayan ruins in English and Spanish, as well as access to Mayan Healing, Culture and Art. We also offer Eco-tours, Jungle Adventure, Horseback Riding, Reef Diving and more. Relax at our Pool, or see Belize’s Beaches and Caves, Waterfalls, Sink Holes and Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Cahal Pech Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahal Pech Village Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Cahal Pech Village
Cahal Pech Village Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing