We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour coordination here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a friendly, clean place. I see some other reviews here talking about noise, but my cabana faced the city and was almost all the way down (closest to city view) and I didn't hear a thing. The cabana itself was great; I loved having our own porch and hammock.

The food in the restaurant (especially breakfast) was excellent. Like...VERY good! The buffet was good but ordering off of the menu was tastier.

The staff was friendly and helpful, and had excellent coordination of the tours. Any questions you have about your tours, drivers, etc., before you go can be answered there.

I can't speak to the hotel room building...on the outside it did look run down. But the cabanas were a great deal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 603 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights in May. We stayed in a cabana for the screened in porch and hammock. The views were beautiful and there was usually a good breeze coming in the porch. There were a bunch of small fires in the area which made the view a little hazy, but still wonderful. The hotel is a little ways from the main strip in town; we walked up the hill one night and decided to just pay the $7BZ for taxi rides the rest of the time... well worth it. We only had dinner and breakfast there once, both good and wonderful outdoor seating area. The Belizean Snow drink was delicious! The staff was always very friendly and helpful. We didn't do our tours with them, but did have them arrange our transportation from the airport and to the water taxi which went off without a hitch. We did have a few ants in our bathroom, but we brought bug spray which worked just fine. Any hotel in the jungle is bound to have a few critters. The sound from town was only noticeable one night, and it wasn't that bad; we enjoyed it and it didn't keep us up at all. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked Cahel Pech because it seemed to be the least priciest place in San Ignacio with a pool. We figured after hiking all day we would want to relax in some water.
The reservation process took WAY longer than necessary because we could not seem to get a price. Staff wanted to nail down our itinerary before quoting us any prices and unfortunately our plans are price dependent. We finally pulled the trigger after more than a week of negotiations and just hoped for the best.
We booked the cabana because it was the cheapest option, however, what we got were hostel conditions (which I'm not opposed to) but with resort prices ($90 USD/night). Our full size mattress was sitting on top of a twin size box spring. If I could have charged rent from the centipedes and bugs in my bed, I probably would have broken even.
The hotel has a fantastic view overlooking San Ignacio and the surrounding valley. However, you pay the price for this view via the loud weekend noises from nearby bars and unrelenting smoke from the dry season fires.
The steep hill alienates the hotel from the city and leaves you feeling kind of stranded for meals and such unless you want to constantly pay for a taxi into town. 90+ degree weather is slightly prohibitive of the walking option. Therefore you are left with the hotel restaurant which in and of itself is not terrible. However, the food is resort American style food and pricier than what is listed on the website unless you pay for and reserve your meals ahead of time. It was good, but not Belizean by any stretch of the imagination.
The hotel arranged a couple of fantastic tours for us and we were lucky to get to spend the day with Codi Ireland, a knowledgeable and friendly guide who took us on a tour of Xunantunich and a beautiful canoe ride down the Macal River. He is one of the best iguana spotting guides I have met! He can find them anywhere and he will turn around a canoe on a dime until you see them too. ;)
Bottom line: Cahel Pech has an identity crisis. They are offering hostel like rooms at resort prices. Mind you, the conditions are not a problem for me, the problem is paying high prices for those conditions. Next time I'm in the area I will probably stay at Trek Stop and cool off in the river like the locals, saving myself a genuine wad of cash. If you like the resort atmosphere, my advice is go a little farther down the road. The other resorts in the area are located just off the Western highway a little further and you will no doubt pass them on your way to the ruins. ;)

Room Tip: If you choose a cabana, pack the Deet. If you want a great tour guide, request Codi Ireland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsdandc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Being close in proximity to the Cahal Pech ruins was appealing to us so we booked in at this Village Resort.

We were checked into a cute cabana with a thatched roof - rooms were decent, lots of hot water, nice hammock on the screened in porch. The pool was very nice and had a nice view of the valley.

Food and service at the restaurant was good. They made one drink called the Belize Snow (i think!) it was delicious!

Their downfall is something they can't really help - the noise from the city below was horrible. We arrived on a Friday so the bars were all full. The music was terribly loud, so loud it felt like the bars were right next door to us.

I would skip this place simply for the noise.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I thought this place was going to be amazing based on the price and what I had read online. I'll be honest, this place had it's hey day in the 1950's. The rooms had seen better days, and were in much need of a makeover. Service was great and they set up cave tubing for us and figured out a trip to the ATM cave as well as they were spot on for local places to go and what to expect. They have a nice pool although so goofy statues and you can literally walk out of the back of the hotel and onto the grounds of the Cahal Pech Ruins. This place is also up on the hill, which is a hefty uphill hike from the downtown/commercial district.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TryppAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I will say the rooms were very clean and spacious, but the musty smell was hard to over look. TV reception and wi fi are not good. The hotel sits on a hill so dining options are limited as is the hotel menu. If you are looking for a budget hotel, this will do it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliegtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The best things about Cahal Pech are its location and its staff. There's a huge covered veranda (which also includes the open-air restaurant) where you can look out over the city to the hills beyond and watch the the morning mist evaporate, the sun set, and (at the right time of year) the thunderstorms roll in. The rooms are modest, and always clean. When we're in Belize, it's not about spending time indoors anyway, so the size and decor of the rooms is SO unimportant to us. If they work, and they're clean, and the showers have hot water . . . we're good! We don't even bother to book one of the lovely separate cabanas, even though they too are good values. We've gone back twice, had the same experience each time with friendly helpful staff. Oh . . .and when you're there, you have to stop at the bar and see Oscar - order one of his signature Belizean Snows!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mijestic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.4 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
851 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
641 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,243 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Orange Guesthouse
The Orange Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Unitedville
22 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahal Pech Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahal Pech Village Resort

Address: Cahal Pech Hill | P.O. Box 1, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: $97 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cahal Pech Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahal Pech Village Resort is located in the heart of the Mayan world, San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize. We offer professionally guided tours of local and other Mayan ruins in English and Spanish, as well as access to Mayan Healing, Culture and Art. We also offer Eco-tours, Jungle Adventure, Horseback Riding, Reef Diving and more. Relax at our Pool, or see Belize’s Beaches and Caves, Waterfalls, Sink Holes and Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Cahal Pech Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahal Pech Village Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Cahal Pech Village
Cahal Pech Village Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing