We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are basic - no closet and beds are very hard but rooms are clean
But location is great - nice view
Food is good
Very nice buffet breakfast - thank you Alan
Management is very helpful
Thank you Raphael, Cynthia and Ana
Oscar will make you whatever drink you want - thank you

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishmart22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for Cahal Pech Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 594 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Cahal Pech Village Resort. We stayed in #201 (corner room on second floor). Our room was clean and comfortable with incredible views.The hotel is about a 15 minute walk into town (longer on the way back with the hills). We walked into town and would cab back (cheap and worth it). Our only complaint was the restaurant, limited local dishes, too bad since the closest alternative restaurant requires a walk. The staff was helpful, we took advantage of two tours (Caracol and ATM). Both of our guides Mario (Caracol) and Carlos (ATM) were very knowledgeable! Make sure to visit the Cahal Pech Ruins, two minutes walk from the hotel. After spending evenings in town we were happy we chose the quiet location we did, I would recommend this hotel to active travelers willing to explore.

Room Tip: #201 - corner room with multiple views and good light.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Spent Christmas at the hotel. Upon check in we were informed that the guest staying in our room had decided to stay an extra night so they "upgraded" us to a deluxe cabana for one evening then would move us to our room the following morning. The cabana was on a hillside with uneven sidewalks and poor lighting. The cabana itself has a thatched roof which I don't like as they allow critters in and the windows don't fully close so I gets quite cold at night. Not really an upgrade in my opinion.

We did the ATM cave the next morning which we booked through the hotel. The cave was an amazing experience and the guide knowledgeable. The driver of our van was horrible. At one point he actually hit another vehicle with his mirror while trying to take a shortcut to beat other tour vans. Don't book through the hotel. Lots of good tour companies out there.

Our room we finally got into was old and shabby and smelled like sewage in the bathroom. View was great though.

Plus side was that the staff was very nice and friendly and the restaurant had good food.

All in all I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank TravelbyDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A great hotel on top of town. Clean rooms that are tastfully decorated. While staying all rooms were getting new beds and TV's and they were overhauling the menu and drink list. A serene setting with proper hotel rooms or thatch cabanas. 3 pools and a great sun area. Places to enjoy a cocktail in the sun or shade, A nice place to spend sometime while in Belize. Very close (walking distance) to Cahal Pech Mayan Site

Room Tip: Best views from third floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelMcc2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

the pineapple chicken at the restaurant is amazing! great service too. pool is good for kids and the grounds are lovely. the views overlooking the city are phenomenal and it's agreat jumping off point for jungle adventures!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank telluride174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Cycling from Cancun to Palenque I planned to visit the Cahal pech Mayan site.
I thought it best to stay at the hotel on the site. Quite a climb with a loaded bicycle but worth the view from the room out across Guatemala.
The day of rest in the swimming pool and the bar waswonderful.
Visited the Mayan site. The little museum at the entrance contains lots of good information and the site is in good condition and not many others there so peaceful. Spotted a gentleman doing yoga and trancendental meditaion on one of the buildings so it must be quiet.
Next day visited the Iguana concervation project and was allowed to handle the iguanas, totally mesmerising!
The hotel meals were good and the restaurant is outside and has the view.
The high point was the visit to the ATM, simple pot holing through to some mayan relics including the crystal mainden, mystical and outstanding, a must if you are in the area. (PS I wouldn't normally do that sort of thing).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry_the_shed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great views, great pools, very good food and nice bar, helpful staff, and nice rooms. Just a short walk from the ruins, which are worth checking out. Worth a splurge over the hotels in town if you want to hang out and enjoy the view. There is far more action going on in town, though, and places like Casa Blanca are very centrally located. It will cost about $5-$10 Belize for the cab ride up the hill.

This has to be compared to other Belizean budget hotels, where hot water is non-existent (it wasn't freezing, but not hot either). I think you can put paper in the toilets, which is a cut above the average plumbing. The cabanas have a great view and general 'feel', but don't expect level floors, lighted walkways, and things like that.

Room Tip: I loved the Cabanas for the open feel. I would select a room when you show up, if possible, to see...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarGazerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.4 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
819 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
634 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Orange Guesthouse
The Orange Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Unitedville
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
999 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahal Pech Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahal Pech Village Resort

Address: Cahal Pech Hill | P.O. Box 1, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: $85 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cahal Pech Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahal Pech Village Resort is located in the heart of the Mayan world, San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize. We offer professionally guided tours of local and other Mayan ruins in English and Spanish, as well as access to Mayan Healing, Culture and Art. We also offer Eco-tours, Jungle Adventure, Horseback Riding, Reef Diving and more. Relax at our Pool, or see Belize’s Beaches and Caves, Waterfalls, Sink Holes and Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cahal Pech Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahal Pech Village Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Cahal Pech Village
Cahal Pech Village Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing