We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place”
Review of Midas Belize

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Midas Belize
Ranked #9 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Place”
Reviewed September 5, 2007

If you are looking for a good value place to stay, love the countryside, but want the town on your doorstep, this is for you.

Lovely atmosphere, welcoming and relaxing. The staff are absolutely brilliant. Friendly, helpful, always time for a friendly comment or chat. I must mention Abraham for whom nothing is ever too much trouble.

My Cabana was always kept spotless, neat and tidy. Clean towels every day, and frequent linen changes. Really good value.

Breakfasts are great, and cooked to order. While I was there an evening meal was not possible onsite, but this not a problem as the town has many places to eat out, and is only a few minutes walk away.

  • Liked — The rural setting
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fastrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    210
    100
    41
    20
See reviews for
92
300
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2007

We went to Midas and were very disappointed. It looks great but the rooms were poor and the water and electricity failed when there are tour groups in. Plus the fact there is no proper sewage disposal and there was constant noise during the day. Its a 15 minute walk into town on a dark road and there had been a violent attack a few weeks earlier at the hotel. There was no need to be in San Ignacio, better stay at the Black Rock Lodge from what we heard. The only reason to come here were the excellent and friendly manager , Roger and his daughter. Unfortunately they have since left.

  • Liked — Manager
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanortalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidasBelize, Owner at Midas Belize, responded to this review, September 22, 2007
I must appologise for the inconvenience you may have had at Midas Resort, but we have no records of your visit.

If you did stay with us I appologise once again, as we only got our property back from Rodger and he left it in a bit of a bad state for us to fix. all the electricty as has been upgraded now and when you come back to Belize are more than welcome to stay with us again. As new improvements are on the way.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Midas is a lovely place just a few block away from Burns Avenue in San Ignacio. The individual cabanas are quiet and there is lots of wildlife to see - although the location is only five to ten minutes from downtown. Be sure to talk to Maria, the manager, she can help arrange various tours and provide suggestions on other activities nearby. She and the rest of the staff are terrific.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank LASBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, TX
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2007

I must say, my stay at the Midas Hotel was quite excellent. It was a beautiful spot, the management was kind, helpful, and so very friendly. I never felt any concern for myself or my personal belongings, and my accomodations were very comfortable. I loved the Midas and its staff and plan to stay there again on my next visit to San Ignacio.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wg1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2007

This quiet and beautiful place was a wonderful surprise for us after traveling all day from southern Belize. The cottage was very comfortable with a front porch that looked out on the interesting array of plants around the grounds. We watched iguanas and other lizards and also were able to do some birdwatching on the grounds and along the nice path down to the river. It was an easy walk into town for meals although we had a great breakfast right there at the resort.
Roger and his daughter Celina were very helpful in regard to local sites. As a final bonus, we were able to go swimming at a sister resort in town, after exploring the local Mayan ruins.

  • Liked — comfortable at a good price; quiet grounds in natural setting
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desertsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Midas has a lot of outdoorsy charm, from the cozy, wood floored cabins to the open air restaurant. But like some reviewers have noted, if you're used to staying at the Ritz and need a hairdryer and minibar, then this is not the place for you.

If you're on a budget and love being close to nature then it's perfect. The grounds were lovely, with pathways that showcased native plants like orchids and palm trees. I saw huge lizards on the property - very cool - and we were serenaded awake by tropical birds every morning.

One big minus, though it wasn't the resort's fault: their neighbor likes to burn things. Actually, many parts of the country seemed to be burning while we were there (pre-monsoon, unfortunately). It was very unpleasant and would probably really bother someone with asthma. But it was the tail end of the dry season, so hopefully the fires are out by now.

Location: Great for walking into town (or you can take a quick cab ride). If you're there on a Saturday, don't miss the nearby farmers market. It's a real cultural treat.

Restaurants: Skip Hode's next door. The food was very blah and the drinks weren't good either. We weren't particularly impressed by Hanna's in town, nor the restaurant at Cahal Pech. And we're not really that picky; the best meal we had was actually in Guatemala - lunch at Tikal: simple peasant food but oh so delicious. Midas serves meals if you order in advance, and we ate breakfast there a few times. I loved their jacks; a puffy pastry that was a pleasant surprise.

Trip highlight: Don't miss ATM, the cave of ancient Maya sacrifices - human and otherwise. If you can hike along flat terrain, and don't mind getting a little dirty and a lot wet, you'll have a blast. Ask Roger or Celina to set you up with a guide; only a handful are allowed to do the tours. It ain't cheap (about $90) but you'll never forget it.

And we should thank Roger and Celina for being such nice hosts. They'll help you arrange trips and offer advice when needed.

And a HUGE thank you to our cab driver/tour guide who taught us so much about the Maya and kept us entertained all the way back to the airport. He even stopped at the zoo to show us around! Muchas gracias, Miguel.

  • Liked — Jungle location close to town
  • Disliked — Smoky fires nearby
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertbeachgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

We booked our stay at this hotel after reading others' reviews on this site. Overall we were pleased.
Positives: Roger and Celina were really friendly and always willing to answer our questions, the food was delicious- it was the best we had during our stay in San Ignacio, and the location was great- quiet and only a 10 min walk to the center of town.
Negatives: the cabins were much more rustic than we were expecting and the beds were very uncomfortable. The cost of the hotel was pretty expensive considering what the cabins were like. The tours we booked at the hotel were quite a bit more expensive than booking them in-town (which we discovered on our 2nd to last day, unfortunately).
Overall, we had a great stay. We went to San Pedro after San Ignacio and we were disappointed with our decision. We should have spent our whole trip in San Ignacio- there was so much to do and see.

  • Liked — The staff and the location
  • Disliked — The sparseness of the cabins
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank twentyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
3.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#7 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Belize

Property: Midas Belize
Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Belize 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midas Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Belize San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing