We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Midas Belize
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)
$85
$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
$194
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Venus Hotel(San Ignacio)
$57
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$545
$408
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Rock Lodge(Black Rock)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveler rating
288
225
112
45
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
225
112
45
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin townpool bardeluxe roomsfamily cottagemain buildinghot waterlarge poolfry jacksair conditioningpeace and quietguava limbfront porchcouple of nightsstayed nightscahal pechceiling fanthe cottages
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
547 - 552 of 696 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2010

great location, lots of trees, walking distance from town centre so it's very quiet. the place is run by friendly, attentive people, everything is clean, some food available in the little restaurant. went on two one-day tours arranged through the hotel and found the guides far more professional and knowledgeable than most. the price is fair for what you get and i'd stay there again if i'm in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rentafence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

The best of both worlds: jungle and near enough to town to go in for dinner. Stayed in a cute little cabana for 4 nights during my recent trip to Belize. Great place and very helpful staff. When our car broke down, the staff at Midas were great - they helped us find someone to get it started again, and then worked with us to make sure that we could still go to Tikal. Thanks for a great vacation!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirlseattle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in one of the Midas Resort suites in late February, 2010. We generally stay at moderately priced hotels and spend most of our budget on tours, but we found Midas’ new suites (not shown in their video on the website) to be as well appointed as what we might expect at a more costly hotel. Our room was large, the bed comfy, windows screened, fans effective (we did not use the AC), lighting good, outlets convenient, and the water is hot with adequate pressure. The tile work in the spacious bathroom was beautiful. A big drawback to the room is there is no door on the bathroom (visual privacy only); we have encountered this arrangement as well as a lack of bathroom ventilation in various other parts of the world. WIFI was available in the breakfast area (bring an extension cord) and the grounds were pleasant and well maintained. A bar down the road and large groups of talkative young people staying at the resort kept us awake a few nights - turning on the AC might have drowned them out.

Breakfasts were hot, generous and reasonably priced. You can order from the menu the night before a morning tour, but be sure to show up 10 minutes sooner than scheduled - all sorts of interruptions create delays in service. Midas is a 10 minute walk to a number of restaurants in San Ignacio proper - 3 minutes from Hode’s, a large nearby restaurant with bar, “casino” and arcade (separate for kids), friendly staff and moderately priced food with local specials every night - very convenient after a tough day of touring!

At each of the places we stayed in Belize, charges for tours arranged by the staff, Belikin, water, laundry, and applicable taxes were added to our bill for one final payment. I'd suggest asking to review your charges every few days to make resolving discrepancies easier.

Midas' staff is small and very friendly. Dorita is a wonderful manager - friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. All the staff work hard and do a good job keeping up on a long list of daily chores. At Midas, predetermined “service fees”, a.k.a. tips, are automatically added to the bill at a 10% rate of your room charge. We understood from a non-employee that the tips at Midas are actually distributed to the staff.

If you don’t want to rent a car, getting to and from San Ignacio can be a challenge. Though he is not connected to Midas, I want to recommend William’s Shuttle, based in San Ignacio. William Hoffman is a tall, friendly, bear of a guy who speaks fluent Creole - unusual for a transplant to this country.

We made reservations for William to shuttle us between Belize City and San Ignacio so that we could have a narrative of what we were seeing as we went along. William was a great commentator and we learned a lot about all aspects of Belize during our trip. Sometimes his sardonic opinions seemed a bit depressing, but the longer we stayed in Belize, the more we heard echos of the exact sentiments William expressed.

Frequent stops at restrooms and eating places were offered during the trip, and he was helpful with luggage and suggestions about tour companies and restaurants in and around San Ignacio.

When William discovered that he had a conflict on the day of our next shuttle reservation, from San Ignacio to Independence, he made very suitable arrangements for a different driver and van. And before we left for Independence, William came by the resort to apologize once again that he was not able to drive us that day and to say good-bye - a very nice gesture! We were highly pleased with the excellent substitute - a native of San Ignacio who provided a very personal perspective on Belize’s economy and culture.

Both drivers were safe, efficient, knowledgeable, entertaining and considerate. I would highly recommend William’s Shuttle Service to TA readers.

Transportation can be a little tricky within Belize, so I suggest that before you travel, look into the options for the various modes of transportation from one district to another. Check out this website: http://belizebus.wordpress.com/
It’s a very informative site with lots of links to more than just buses and shuttles.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Midas Lodge is a friendly, homey, close to town site.
The owners do their best to make you feel like family.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonja48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

original cabins are nice middle and back a little nicer, and the king deluxe is a 4 plex with very nice kings and interiors. The location is off downtown, close to teh market but far away fron the noise of the city. Can walk down to river. they have good local guide connections thought you will pay. Say Tikal and ATM, very professional and easy, nit mentioned is the 7-10 patio iwth breakfast available, and Belkin all those hours, though if you plan on lotsm, ask em to put it on ice. Wifi was great, only at the office and patio area.

Only complaint was the king deluxe had to ceiling from the bathroom to the bedroom, use your imagination.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laccudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews