We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people , very nice hotel .”
Review of Midas Belize

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Midas Belize
Ranked #8 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was my second visit to Midas and I had a great time. The staff and management made this a wonderful trip. Its an easy walk to the village market on Saturday and its something to experience ! Very friendly people both at the hotel and around the town . I highly recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: The resort offers both cabanas and the main hotel building . It is very clean, safe and beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caljen31501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 659 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

I booked a Cabin for my family. It was cozy and Excellent Service. Has Restaurant, Pool and Bar. Easy Access to to find, and not to far away from the Mayan Ruin of Cahal Pech. Highly Recommended. A local Expert in Belize.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingDavidBz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I booked the casita verde online and they charged me a different amount. When we arrived to the hotel, the receptionist explained to us that the price online was not the right price and they wanted to charge me the double of the price (it wasn't a problem to me at all) and I agreed to pay that. However, the casita verde was nothing like the pictures they showed online. My family decided to leave the hotel within 2 hours of checking in because the sheets and pillows stank and we found a lot of insects (specially warms) on it. The staff was not friendly at all. In other words... We don't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GAPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for while in San Ignacio looking at real estate. Our cabin was located near the back of the property and had wonderful foliage giving privacy even while sitting on the porch. The air conditioner worked maginificantly. We even had to turn it off in the morning because it got so cold. The queen sized bed was very comfortable and the linens and pillows were in great condition. It felt very "homey." Although the bathroom was small, it served it's purpose. The hot water was plentiful and the tap water tasted great. We even filled our water bottles straight form the sink. The dining area is large and open and the food was fantastic!! We had breakfast and dinner there several times and actually waitied to eat until we returned to the resort. There were lizards all over the property during the day which my husband and I truly enjoyed watching. Our favorite was the bar. We stopped in several times and visited with Mike and had wonderful drinks prepared by Thomas. The conversation was light and entertaining and Mike gave us some good information about living in the San Ignacio area. The pool was clean and refreshing and the waterfall provided a wonderful backdrop for the conversation while sitting at the bar. Thomas always stays late so you can enjoy late drinks and a dip in the pool before turning in at night, especially if you are night owls like me and my husband. We inquired about a few day trips and the prices were excellent. The entire staff is friendly and warm and attended to all of our needs immediately. We both highly recommend staying there and plan on returning in the near future and bringing our kids. We will stay at this resort when we do. Many thanks to Mike and the wonderful staff at Midas. This was our favorite part of the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxfire312006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved our quiet large room with the lighted, curtained off bay window where I could read in the mornings before my husband woke without disturbing him. Breakfast was great. Best fry jacks ever! Skip the dinners: they were edible at best. At worst? Our dinner our last night made my husband sick such that he ate nothing all the following day, including being unable to enjoy his lobster dinner at Hamanasi Resort in Hopkins! The staff, however, was friendly, helpful, polite and fun. It is close to town, making it easy to experience the market on Saturday, the iguana project at the San Ignacio Hotel, and try the various restaurants. I would stay there again; just skip the meal plan.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMH913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Waking to the alarm of a howler monkey in a nearby mahogany tree alerts you to the upcoming ATM tour that you booked with Pacz tours the morning prior. Looking out from the front door of your private cabin and watching tropical birds and iguanas hunt for their morning meal and discovering to your delight that you still in fact, DO have time for breakfast. A smile on your face and a breeze with the smell of jungle mingle with the sunlight filtering through the huge trees on the grounds of the Midas resort. You feel alive! and excited at the upcoming adventure into the unknown subterranean world. To be a part of something that happened hundreds of generations before your time brings a quickening to your inner man and a yearning for life.... and breakfast. :-)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dchapmanUSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Midas for two nights in Aug '13 while visiting Tikal in Guatemala. The hotel itself appears to be in the middle of an overall upgrade. The cabanas in the back of the property are rustic and much lower in price than the main part of the hotel. We stayed in Cabana #1 and it had an earthy, camping feel. We changed rooms for the second night due to a wasp nest in bathroom area. The staff was very helpful and agreeable with the move, which actually was a huge upgrade in quality. The pool area is in need of some attention at the water was a bit murky and many of the exterior lights were out. It was the slow season but the grounds really should receive more attention with the lack of guests. The food was good as we ate there one night, not wanting to take the walk into San Ignacio due to it getting dark. After two days in the area, we realized that the tired town of San Ignacio as a whole is in need of some improvements and updating. It appears to be taking place near the town center but offers little as an attraction other than tour companies and a stopping place en route to Guatemala. We visited Tikal and stayed two nights, as it was easier to book the entire deal via Mayawalks tours located downtown--Jimmy was great as a driver by the way.

The hotel had few people staying there due to the season, the room in the main part was beautiful, updates seem to be on the way, and the staff was very helpful.

We decided to stay only two nights, then onto Hopkins via the Hummingbird Hwy.

Room Tip: If staying in the rear of the property, ask to see the room first. Off season, you may be the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelpapi153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
841 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#10 of 14 in San Ignacio
133 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,021 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
600 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Belize

Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: $41 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Belize 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minute walk from the Farmers Market in San Ignacio. Midas has a large swimming pool 50x40ft with hidden entrance into a grotto pool is open from 11am to 11pm 7 days a week. Breakfast served from 7am to 10am Choice of rooms Cottage for couples, Cabana for couples or friends King Deluxe for the romantics Deluxe set up as a hotel complex Junior Suite for that additional space Family Cottage 4 to 8 persons Casita Verde 2 bedroom house Casa de Cahal Pech 3 bedroom luxury house Spare Room who don't mind sharing a bathroom. All our rooms have Air Conditioning, Fridgerator, Safe, Cable TV, Fans and Keyless Entry 7 acre property with Macal River at end of property attracts lots of wildlife Iguanas Otters, Gibnats, wildcats, Birds Toucans, Quetzal, Hummingbird and so much more. Bicycle, ATV and Golf Cart Rentals on site Tours are also offered the famous ATM Actun Tunchil Muknal, Mountain Pine Ridge, Cave Tubing, Horseback Riding and also our Neighbour Mayan Temple Tikal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Midas Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Belize San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing