We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town”
Review of Midas Belize

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Midas Belize
Ranked #9 of 35 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved our quiet large room with the lighted, curtained off bay window where I could read in the mornings before my husband woke without disturbing him. Breakfast was great. Best fry jacks ever! Skip the dinners: they were edible at best. At worst? Our dinner our last night made my husband sick such that he ate nothing all the following day, including being unable to enjoy his lobster dinner at Hamanasi Resort in Hopkins! The staff, however, was friendly, helpful, polite and fun. It is close to town, making it easy to experience the market on Saturday, the iguana project at the San Ignacio Hotel, and try the various restaurants. I would stay there again; just skip the meal plan.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMH913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 677 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Waking to the alarm of a howler monkey in a nearby mahogany tree alerts you to the upcoming ATM tour that you booked with Pacz tours the morning prior. Looking out from the front door of your private cabin and watching tropical birds and iguanas hunt for their morning meal and discovering to your delight that you still in fact, DO have time for breakfast. A smile on your face and a breeze with the smell of jungle mingle with the sunlight filtering through the huge trees on the grounds of the Midas resort. You feel alive! and excited at the upcoming adventure into the unknown subterranean world. To be a part of something that happened hundreds of generations before your time brings a quickening to your inner man and a yearning for life.... and breakfast. :-)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dchapmanUSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Midas for two nights in Aug '13 while visiting Tikal in Guatemala. The hotel itself appears to be in the middle of an overall upgrade. The cabanas in the back of the property are rustic and much lower in price than the main part of the hotel. We stayed in Cabana #1 and it had an earthy, camping feel. We changed rooms for the second night due to a wasp nest in bathroom area. The staff was very helpful and agreeable with the move, which actually was a huge upgrade in quality. The pool area is in need of some attention at the water was a bit murky and many of the exterior lights were out. It was the slow season but the grounds really should receive more attention with the lack of guests. The food was good as we ate there one night, not wanting to take the walk into San Ignacio due to it getting dark. After two days in the area, we realized that the tired town of San Ignacio as a whole is in need of some improvements and updating. It appears to be taking place near the town center but offers little as an attraction other than tour companies and a stopping place en route to Guatemala. We visited Tikal and stayed two nights, as it was easier to book the entire deal via Mayawalks tours located downtown--Jimmy was great as a driver by the way.

The hotel had few people staying there due to the season, the room in the main part was beautiful, updates seem to be on the way, and the staff was very helpful.

We decided to stay only two nights, then onto Hopkins via the Hummingbird Hwy.

Room Tip: If staying in the rear of the property, ask to see the room first. Off season, you may be the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelpapi153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My fiancé and I spent all 9 days of our trip at the resort. They made us feel at home. The food, drinks, and environment were great. The prices for the excursions were very reasonable. It was literally a 5 minute walk to town, most others were a cab ride away. We loved our cabana, it was so secluded and perfect. What we both loved most about the place was the local feel, we like to be a part of the place we are visiting.
The resort has a good combination of families and couples, neither seems to interfere with the other. The music at the bar does not travel to the rooms or the cabanas, it heads towards the street, and there is nothing across the street to disrupt.
We made the trek to the joining of the Macal and Mopan Rivers, it was amazing and you can swim in it too!
It's a short walk to Hode's place where you can find good food as well. We tried a lot of the local restaurants for lunch but ended up spending most of our dinners at the resort or at Hode's.
We will return to Midas, maybe even for our honeymoon, to explore the rest of Belize!

Room Tip: Cabanas are the best route to go for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FergieFerg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff there was very pleasant and nice. They tended to your overall needs and made sure that your visit was outstanding and as easy going as possible. I became friends with many of the staff members and by the end it is very hard to say goodbye. I definitely recommend staying here the town is also very close and everything is walking distance from here.
I was there for school but there was plenty of time to have fun.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubbes_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here back in May originally for 2 nights but left after the 1st night to spend more time in Guatemala since the trip was only for one week. We were upgraded to an air conditioned room in the tower after a 3 hour painful bus ride from Belize City. The room was very cozy and the proximity of the place to downtown was walkable. We stayed around the time the owners daughter had a birthday so there was a party by the pool area but this wasnt bothersome. The only thing i wasnt too comfortable with was ease of entry by anyone. Any one could walk in, speaking of which a guest mentioned her personals being stolen out of her room the day we arrived or after. Not sure how that was handled or how that all went down. Overall, we had a great stay and the desk provided us transportation to the ruins and to the border.

Room Tip: Get an a/c'ed room in the tower if you can afford it, it will revive you from hot sweaty trips t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyBoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We needed to stay somewhere in or around San Ignacio for one night on our way from Guatemala to the cayes, and Midas was one of the cheapest options. We booked a cabana for two adults and two kids through booking.com, but when we arrived they had a cabana with only one queen-sized bed (number 8) reserved for us (based on information from booking.com). They willingly moved us to a larger bungalow (number 16) and even brought a mattress for the floor.

The property reminded me of an American summer camp - rustic but clean. The TV had dozens of channels, so the kids were happy. The pool is amazing. We didn't eat there, so we don't know how the restaurant was. We were lucky to be there on a Friday night, so we got to go to the Saturday market in San Ignacio before heading out.

Overall, I recommend Midas for younger people or families looking for a lodge atmosphere within walking distance of the town.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffinPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
868 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
625 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#3 of 35 in San Ignacio
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Belize

Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: $45 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Belize 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minute walk from the Farmers Market in San Ignacio. Midas has a large swimming pool 50x40ft with hidden entrance into a grotto pool is open from 11am to 11pm 7 days a week. Breakfast served from 7am to 10am Choice of rooms Cottage for couples, Cabana for couples or friends King Deluxe for the romantics Deluxe set up as a hotel complex Junior Suite for that additional space Family Cottage 4 to 8 persons Casita Verde 2 bedroom house Casa de Cahal Pech 3 bedroom luxury house Spare Room who don't mind sharing a bathroom. All our rooms have Air Conditioning, Fridgerator, Safe, Cable TV, Fans and Keyless Entry 7 acre property with Macal River at end of property attracts lots of wildlife Iguanas Otters, Gibnats, wildcats, Birds Toucans, Quetzal, Hummingbird and so much more. Bicycle, ATV and Golf Cart Rentals on site Tours are also offered the famous ATM Actun Tunchil Muknal, Mountain Pine Ridge, Cave Tubing, Horseback Riding and also our Neighbour Mayan Temple Tikal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Midas Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Belize San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing