We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveler rating
301
231
113
47
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
231
113
47
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews in town pool bar deluxe room main building hot water fry jacks air conditioning peace and quiet guava limb front porch cahal pech ceiling fan the cottages the river mayan ruins tour companies spent nights
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 718 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Midas for 3 nights while we enjoyed visiting Mayan ruins, cave kayaking, and the Black Hole Drop. We found the hotel to be very clean with good air conditioning (something we were extremely grateful for after our long daily adventures!) The hotel staff was amazing, and went above & beyond to make our stay a pleasant one. We especially enjoyed the proximity to town, which allowed us to be close enough to enjoy restaurants and local shops, yet far enough away for peace and quiet. Would definitely recommend for other travelers, and stay there again should I be so fortunate to return to Belize!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blayne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The single best thing about our Belize experience was the people, and it was no different at Midas. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, from check in people treated us like old friends. Everyone was very happy to answer questions or even just chat. On our second morning our rental car from Belize City died, and Mike (the owner, I think) brought his car over and gave us a jump, and then spent the next 20 minutes giving us all sorts of recommendations for things to do in town. He even spent 20 minutes drawing a map for us the next day to lead us to Big Rock Falls.

We had never been to Belize before, and Midas appealed to us due to its proximity to town and its reasonable price. It's close enough to walk everywhere, but far enough to have peace and quiet. After 2 nights we briefly considered moving to a different hotel in the center of town to be able to get more of the local vibe, but after checking out a couple rooms opted to stay at Midas for a few more days because of the solitude.

It all depends what you're looking for, if you want to be pampered at a 5 star resort there are probably better options for you, but they're twice the price and you won't be able to walk to town. But bottom line, if you're looking for a good clean no frills room, a good location, and some peace and quiet all at a reasonable price, this is the place. One other thing to note is that there is plenty of parking if you'll be with a rental car. Some of the places in town probably make you park on the street.

Room tip: We had a deluxe room near the back of the property. A little pricier (but still very reasonable), but when we booked that's all that was available. I didn't see any of the other rooms, but I'm sure they were all comparable, I think sun/shade and noise level are probably about the same at all the rooms.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russ_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was a great experience for us. The Midas Resort is a wonderful place with great people. It is the perfect walking distance from town. The rooms were nice and quiet. The staff was super friendly and always there to help. We definately would recommend this place to all our friends. Thank you so much.

Date of stay: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyjohn420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We found this little gem on TripAdvisor when we traveling into San Ignacio to visit the ATM Caves. It was a bit of the jungle but with all of the comforts of home. Hot shower, A/C, WI-Fi and a TV. Outside the cosy cabana were many lizards and birds, it was fantastic. The staff were amazing, we arrived very early for our check in and they got our room ready for us within 15 minutes, which after the bus ride we were very grateful for. After we checked out the following morning we were able to leave our bags at the office for the whole day while we were on our tour as well as leaving valuables in their safe. As soon as we returned from the trip we were due to be picked up to continue on our adventure, as we waited for our ride a lady opened up the bar so we could enjoy a cold beer before heading off. All in all a fantastic place, we only stayed one night but it definitely made our whole trip even more enjoyable.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was sorry our time was up and we had to leave the Midas hotel. We had a great stay. The cabana rooms are quiet, cool, large, and beautiful. We could walk to restaurants in town. One day we drove to the Mayan ruins and saw the iguanas at the San Ignacio Resort. Very fulfilling.
We had the Belizian breakfast with some wonderful fried dough that was called Jack Fry (I think.) Unbelievably light and delicious.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arlene70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews