We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & location - highly recommended”
Review of Midas Belize

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Midas Belize
Ranked #9 of 34 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great value & location - highly recommended”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We loved staying here - like others have said, it's a great value and super close to town yet fair enough away to be quiet.

The rooms are super nice - we stayed in a Deluxe room. Like others have also said, the walls are a little thin, which was only a problem one night when our neighbor had the TV loud enough for us to hear...we were both so relaxed (and possibly warn out from all of the hiking & exploring) that we were able to sleep through it just fine though.

Breakfast was great, but that was really the only meal we ate here. Town is so close and has so many options to eat at that we preferred to explore rather than stay at the hotel the whole time.

All of the tours we booked were able to pick us up here, which only saved about a 5-10 minute walk but still nice, especially since many tours start pretty early (at or before 8AM).

The pool was great and everything was as advertised. Staff was super friendly. Definitely a great way to do San Ignacio!

Room Tip: We really liked the Deluxe rooms, but the cabanas looked nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    214
    100
    41
    21
See reviews for
98
305
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Midas for 3 nights while we enjoyed visiting Mayan ruins, cave kayaking, and the Black Hole Drop. We found the hotel to be very clean with good air conditioning (something we were extremely grateful for after our long daily adventures!) The hotel staff was amazing, and went above & beyond to make our stay a pleasant one. We especially enjoyed the proximity to town, which allowed us to be close enough to enjoy restaurants and local shops, yet far enough away for peace and quiet. Would definitely recommend for other travelers, and stay there again should I be so fortunate to return to Belize!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blayne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The single best thing about our Belize experience was the people, and it was no different at Midas. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, from check in people treated us like old friends. Everyone was very happy to answer questions or even just chat. On our second morning our rental car from Belize City died, and Mike (the owner, I think) brought his car over and gave us a jump, and then spent the next 20 minutes giving us all sorts of recommendations for things to do in town. He even spent 20 minutes drawing a map for us the next day to lead us to Big Rock Falls.

We had never been to Belize before, and Midas appealed to us due to its proximity to town and its reasonable price. It's close enough to walk everywhere, but far enough to have peace and quiet. After 2 nights we briefly considered moving to a different hotel in the center of town to be able to get more of the local vibe, but after checking out a couple rooms opted to stay at Midas for a few more days because of the solitude.

It all depends what you're looking for, if you want to be pampered at a 5 star resort there are probably better options for you, but they're twice the price and you won't be able to walk to town. But bottom line, if you're looking for a good clean no frills room, a good location, and some peace and quiet all at a reasonable price, this is the place. One other thing to note is that there is plenty of parking if you'll be with a rental car. Some of the places in town probably make you park on the street.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room near the back of the property. A little pricier (but still very reasonable), bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russ_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was a great experience for us. The Midas Resort is a wonderful place with great people. It is the perfect walking distance from town. The rooms were nice and quiet. The staff was super friendly and always there to help. We definately would recommend this place to all our friends. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyjohn420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We found this little gem on TripAdvisor when we traveling into San Ignacio to visit the ATM Caves. It was a bit of the jungle but with all of the comforts of home. Hot shower, A/C, WI-Fi and a TV. Outside the cosy cabana were many lizards and birds, it was fantastic. The staff were amazing, we arrived very early for our check in and they got our room ready for us within 15 minutes, which after the bus ride we were very grateful for. After we checked out the following morning we were able to leave our bags at the office for the whole day while we were on our tour as well as leaving valuables in their safe. As soon as we returned from the trip we were due to be picked up to continue on our adventure, as we waited for our ride a lady opened up the bar so we could enjoy a cold beer before heading off. All in all a fantastic place, we only stayed one night but it definitely made our whole trip even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, california
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was sorry our time was up and we had to leave the Midas hotel. We had a great stay. The cabana rooms are quiet, cool, large, and beautiful. We could walk to restaurants in town. One day we drove to the Mayan ruins and saw the iguanas at the San Ignacio Resort. Very fulfilling.
We had the Belizian breakfast with some wonderful fried dough that was called Jack Fry (I think.) Unbelievably light and delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arlene70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Midas is a good enough place to stay in San Ignacio, especially on a budget. Their rooms tend to run at least USD$30/night cheaper than some of the higher-rated resorts/lodges in the area, yet Midas is also very safe, modern, close to town, and rooms are very clean. My deluxe suite (recommended over a cabana or cottage) was actually the nicest and most modern hotel room I had throughout my recent trip to Belize. Gorgeous floor tiles, comfortable king bed, and lovely cedar scent throughout the room.

But, there are a number of reasons I will never stay at Midas again. And, I wouldn't recommend Midas to anyone who can afford a better hotel, either. Here's why:

1. The pool towels are totally micromanaged. Each guest gets a yellow placard, which must be taken to the front desk in exchange for a pool towel. Losing this placard results in a USD$50 fee per placard -- these are 3"x5" plastic pieces, not hunks of precious metal! Ridiculous! Then, one must return the pool towel to the front desk after use, thus walking up to your room still dripping wet -- one cannot wear the towel back up to their room and just let housekeeping take it away the next day! Goodness, these are just cheap-o pool towels! I thought perhaps Midas' procedures were standard Belize customs, but every other hotel I stayed at in Belize had pool towels sitting out, that guests could grab at their convenience, and that housekeeping would collect from rooms the next day. So I don't know why Midas has to micromanage pool towels this way. It's annoying and an inconvenience.

2. Bugs are a problem throughout Midas. I left a burrito, wrapped in foil, then in a plastic bag, in my room for less than 2 hours. Upon returning, a stream of ants had entered the room through an uncaulked window and had enveloped my burrito. The swimming pool is littered with bugs. And the kitchen/restaurant area is swarming with mosquitos -- sitting there for 25 minutes left me with 7 bites on the right leg alone, even AFTER applying OFF!.

3. WiFi is not available throughout the resort, and was certainly not available in our deluxe room. It is only reliably available in three areas -- the pool, the restaurant, and the front desk. Each area has its own password. Why don't, instead of having three crummy routers, they invest in one good router so that everyone can get WiFi throughout the property, including in their rooms???

4. Front desk staff doesn't tell you enough information. We had to ask about the drinking water -- they don't just tell you not to drink the tap water, where to buy bottled water, etc. We had them book a Tikal trip for us, and again, they didn't tell us any details about the trip. Nothing at all about the length/duration of the tour, what costs were included, whether we needed to bring extra cash, whether lunch was included, what clothing/shoes were recommended, etc. If you have any questions, you really need to pry answers out of them.

5. The hotel sells bottled water for BZ$3/bottle, but only when the front desk is open. Every other hotel we stayed at in Belize just provided free bottled water to each room and had 24/7 access to refills.

6. Breakfast kitchen staff is painfully slow. The waffles are from pre-mixed batter, the kind you just pour onto a waffle iron for 4 minutes -- so I thought this would be a quick to-go breakfast before our Tikal trip. I arrived and ordered at 6:50 AM, but did not receive the waffles until 7:20 AM. Yet, a couple who arrived at 7:00 AM received two full English breakfasts by 7:10 AM! And, all the while, I'm getting attacked by the mosquitoes -- an extremely aggravating breakfast experience.

7. Housekeeping completely turned off our A/C each morning, making the room even hotter and more humid than outside! So when returning from day trips, and all we wanted was a nice cool A/C blast, we had to wait 45 minutes for the room to cool down again.

Overall, Midas is a nice hotel, but there are a lot of little things that added up to an aggravating experience. I would definitely not stay at Midas again -- some of the equivalent or better hotels are further outside of town, but if you have a car or can dine on-site, they would probably be better options than Midas. I regret not just shilling out the extra money for a better hotel in San Ignacio.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stargirlssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
128 reviews
3.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
985 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
256 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#7 of 13 in San Ignacio
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Belize

Property: Midas Belize
Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Belize 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Midas Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Belize San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing