We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Midas Belize

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Midas Belize
Ranked #8 of 35 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed in a cabana which is a small private room with a bathroom, porch, and hammock! It was simple, but we didn't really need anything more. We had breakfast there every morning which was fantastic. I miss the fried jacks already!! The staff were REALLY HELPFUL and took care of a lot of different things for us. They booked a tour for us at Tikal with tour guide Elias. It was an amazing experience.

Room Tip: The cabanas are small. Would recommend the deluxe or the green house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TARAnSEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 673 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were staying at the Hopkins Bay Resort, Belize when we decided to go to the ATM Cave and take a day trip to Tikal, Guatemala. The Resort recommended we stay at Midas Resort in San Ignacio so we didn't have to travel back to Hopkins.
The Midas Resort was a comfortable, charming place to stay, a short walk from the town center. The motel was a no frills kind of place that was clean and comfortable. There are two buildings with several rooms in building, and then several free standing bungalows. There is a dining patio with friendly, helpful kitchen staff and a good breakfast.
The front desk staff is helpful and they spoke English, were able to recommend places for dinner and gave good directions. All in all, the Midas Resort was a nice place to stay for a couple nights while in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sculptor-for-fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay. Both the service and food were excellent and they made us feel like one of the family. The bed was comfortable, and the air conditioning in the room was superb. The private shower was nice and hot as needed. Daily housekeeping was attentive and complete. The atmosphere and service combined couldn’t have been any better. Chef Carlos is one of the best chefs around and does a fantastic job with seafood. One night the kitchen was closed and Brenda ensured that we were pampered to the nines by handing us a menu for a nearby restaurant, taking our order, then having our order delivered to the resort. She then transferred our food to china and set us up with a romantic dinner next to the pool, complete with votive candle and an overhead lamp just underneath the umbrella. By the way, she made us some fantastic fresh pineapple juice to go with our romantic dinner. All of the staff anticipate your needs even before you realize the need and are there to pamper you. Lisa, our morning waitress, couldn’t have been any better. And the fry jack is a must-do for any visitor!

Room Tip: Go deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our experiences were indescribably fantastic. We LOVED the pool and the secret cave in the pool was fascinating. The staff were attentive to our needs and made us feel cherished. The owners were as delightful as could be. I was lucky enough to be invited by chef Carlos for a cooking lesson on making fry jack (a favorite Belizean bread). Staff member, Manuel, caught a 3+ foot iguana for us to touch and take close-up pictures of and he even offered to let us hold it (we chickened out). We were fortunate to attend an authentic birthday party at the resort and got to witness all the children taking turns at batting the colorful pinata.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaskanGemstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We thought Midas was in the perfect location - about a 10 minute walk from the "downtown" San Ignacio area. We liked staying in room 7 - it wasn't in the main house so we didn't hear the music from the bar at all, but it was close enough so that we felt comfortable. The property goes pretty far back, so we liked being closer up front. We had a bathroom in our cabana, but the ones outside for the shared rooms didn't look to appealing to tell you the truth! The two sinks outside weren't even really covered! The breakfast was decent and if you have an early tour, they start serving at 7. The "bacon" was too salty but the fry jacks were good, as was the (usually) freshly-squeezed oj. Tomas the bartender was very friendly and even told us where to go to see Cahal Pech, the iguana preserve (we saw both, must-sees), and Xunatunich (which we missed). Chef Carlos was also very nice as well, although we didn't get to try his food. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. I'd recommend it!

Room Tip: Cabana 7! Close to the main house but still separate so you don't hear the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandakay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here with my parents a few years ago in May of 2008. I know it's been a long time but I wanted to post about this hotel because we had such a great experience there. The family that owns this hotel bent over backward to make sure that we had a nice stay. A couple of nights we even hung out with the owners and played a little acoustic guitar. They arranged our transportation to and from the Belize City airport as well as a number of local tours. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarita888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife, daughter (15) and I stayed for a couple of days in Feb. of '13 at the end of our trip to Belize. We didn't have any reservations here or at any other place we stayed for the week, and this was the most accomodating hotel we stayed at. When we showed up the only room they had was a deluxe room which was a reasonable price for what we got. The room was nicely updated and clean, there was only one bed but my daughter slept in the bay window and she thought that was cool. We ate at the restaraunt for one breakfast and one dinner and thought both were fantastic. The most important thing to understand in Belize and like countries you visit is that you're not staying at a Marriott or a Hyatt hotel in the US so let your hair down a bit, and go with the flow. The only way YOU have a bad vacation is because of YOU.

Room Tip: I would agree with other reviews that the deluxe rooms are the way to go. I didn't see the into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
859 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
616 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#3 of 35 in San Ignacio
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Belize

Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: $45 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Midas Belize 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minute walk from the Farmers Market in San Ignacio. Midas has a large swimming pool 50x40ft with hidden entrance into a grotto pool is open from 11am to 11pm 7 days a week. Breakfast served from 7am to 10am Choice of rooms Cottage for couples, Cabana for couples or friends King Deluxe for the romantics Deluxe set up as a hotel complex Junior Suite for that additional space Family Cottage 4 to 8 persons Casita Verde 2 bedroom house Casa de Cahal Pech 3 bedroom luxury house Spare Room who don't mind sharing a bathroom. All our rooms have Air Conditioning, Fridgerator, Safe, Cable TV, Fans and Keyless Entry 7 acre property with Macal River at end of property attracts lots of wildlife Iguanas Otters, Gibnats, wildcats, Birds Toucans, Quetzal, Hummingbird and so much more. Bicycle, ATV and Golf Cart Rentals on site Tours are also offered the famous ATM Actun Tunchil Muknal, Mountain Pine Ridge, Cave Tubing, Horseback Riding and also our Neighbour Mayan Temple Tikal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Midas Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Belize San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing