We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Touch of Paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midas Belize

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Midas Belize
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Kalama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Touch of Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We were PLEASANTLY SURPRISED at the lovely beauty we found "around the corner" from downtown (walking). We were off the beaten path and voila! there is this lovely hotel/cottages and pool/bar. We chose to stay in #7 Cabana and were very happy! The a/c worked perfectly (a little too chili at times) especially with the overhead fan. The art work and flowers is such a nice addition. The ambiance of the rooms is WONDERFUL. You hear sounds (think of the "Tropical Rainforest C/D's you've heard" into the night and all morning long. We didn't see one insect or Gecko in our room.

The entire office/hotel/wait staff are friendly and helpful. They are used to American/European Visitors, so don't expect them to wait on you exclusively - they are all working very hard!

We enjoyed the little "Medicine Trail" that has been created on the grounds marking about a dozen trees that have healing properties and how to use them (like banana, etc.). We enjoy the beautiful flora and fauna (Belize has the most in the world).

A few things that would've made this a PERFECT (Excellent) rating would be: 1.) Management to hold to a 10:00 quiet time. The large young group was running and yelling into the morning with no regard to us who had been traveling all day. 2.) A grounds maintenance Supervisor would pick-up the various piles of leaves right by our (and other) doors that had been swept off the sidewalks, etc. 3.) The dogs didn't bother me, but I didn't see water and food for them, so I wasn't surprised when one was hanging out by the pool. 4.) You would attract more folks to breakfast if it TASTED HOMEMADE and had a little better service. Our one breakfast consisted of pork and beans(??yuck), probably powdered eggs and instant-tasting coffee, a few dollars more than any in town...that was soooo much better (highly recommend Irva's!).

We stayed and loved this place for three nights March 27-30, 2012.

SERIOUSLY! I read these reviews and wonder "under what rock do these folks crawl out"? If you want 4-5 diamond hotels, then PAY THE PRICE for it!! Otherwise, use grace when reporting.

Room Tip: The hotel portion is newer, but NOT quiet. Choose the cabanas for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryandJina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    207
    94
    41
    18
See reviews for
88
285
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

When we arrived at Midas, there was a larger tour group staying there as well, and as a result we were upgraded from a cottage to a cabana. Sweet. The room was large and clean, with a big, comfy queen bed, A/C and a TV. The cabanas are nestled in the beautiful foliage that are so prevalent on the Midas property grounds. It's really gorgeous and feels like a little rainforest retreat. San Ignacio town is walking distance, as is Cahal Pech. Please do not miss visiting Cahal Pech in favor of the other (more expensive and also farther away) Mayan attractions in the area. We would have, but we visited San Ignacio during a time of really bad flooding, so many other attractions in the area were closed. In a way, I think we lucked out. We walked up to Cahal Pech from Midas. We were the only visitors there, and had the place to ourselves. It's a beautiful place to walk around, stunning rainforest and Mayan architecture, very few tourists, and only a few Belizean dollars admission. If you want to make a day of it, you can swing by the Princess Casino and the Iguana Sanctuary (at the San Ignacio Hotel) on your walk back to town. Worth noting: 1) The walk up to Cahal Pech is quite steep. 2) We got absolutely eaten alive during our stay in San Ignacio/inland Belize. If you can, bring hardcore bug spray. The bug spray we bought locally did nothing. We actually lost sleep one night because we were so bitten up. It doesn't outweigh getting to see this awesome part of Belize, but it's still really uncomfortable.

We were able to arrange a trip to Tikal through the front desk at Midas, which was convenient, and our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable. Across the board, the staff at Midas were kind and helpful. The couple who are currently running the resort are young and ambitious, eager to please their guests and also to continue to make improvements to an already terrific resort. My husband and I had a drink or two with the owner at the pool bar on our first night in town, and he was such a gracious host during our whole stay.

Midas is walking distance from San Ignacio town but also far enough out of town to avoid the noise of the bars and nightlife. The new pool and bar area is just amazing. The breakfasts are delicious and the kitchen staff are lovely. This is a really great place to stay as a base to explore San Ignacio and western/inland Belize. I actually really regretted not having more time here! We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyRamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

The outside of the cabins were beautiful with all the tropical foliage. All the staff were very friendly and pleasant. The pool wasn't clean or didn't appear to be. It looked murky. In our cabin there was not hot water, and lots of biting bugs in the bed. I believe they were sand fleas, but we all got lots of bites even with bug spray on. We didn't have a shower curtain and the handle for the shower was broken with just a little piece of metal sticking out to turn the water on and off. The water would puddle outside of the shower and soak any towel or clothes you took in. If you can check the room before you pay. The pictures I have seen on here look really nice. My cabin didn't look anything like these! I was on the trip with study abroad so I didn't have any choice.

Room Tip: It looks like the rooms vary greatly so look before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relevart59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Seems like the reviews are highly variable depending on expectations. For US$100+ per night, I do expect to get what is advertised. In this case, a "superb bed", private veranda, hammock and air-conditioning; not to mention something that looks like the pictures - a room with natural light. Room held two queen beds up against the walls. Money had obviously been spent to upgrade the bathrooms with nice tilework, but interestingly with no door. Might be OK for two people - a bit awkward for 3 or more. Room was dark concrete block - no sliding door, no private patio - rather a large shared one. AC unit was not able to keep the room anywhere near a comfortable temperature. We returned each night to a room that was over 85 degrees and took until the middle of the night (and lower outdoor temps) to drop down to 75. Perhaps the difference is whether your room is on the north or south side of the building.

No towels in the room when we got back the first evening after 5. No handtowels ever. No urgency to get us towels that evening.

Had I paid less or been promised less on the website or the email confirmation, this hotel would have been perfectly acceptable. Had we not had a full itinerary, we would have changed hotels after the 1st night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2000expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

O.K. if you judge by 'American' standards this place may come up a bit short. For fancy pay more and stay at the San Ignacio where the Queen once stayed. Even if you choose not to pay more and stay there do visit The Iguana Project at that hotel...one of the best things to do there if you have kids! Umberto was a fabulous guide; there was a traditional medicine trail leading up to the structure that houses the Iguanas. Also, Friday and Saturday are the market days downtown- so someone who says there is nothing to do is wrong or not interested in the local culture. We loved the abuelitas making puposas on market day and drinking watermelon juice!

If you want to book a tour go downtown....every tour operator has a storefront.

The towels were a bit frayed around the edges but they were clean, as were the rooms. The AC was not up to snuff in my room- it was cooler outside, so we just turned on the fan and opened the windows at night. The bathrooms were newly tiled, beautiful even by U.S. standards, and we had all the hot water we could use. We stayed at the end of February mid-week and the pool area was fairly empty but beautiful and immaculately clean! I felt safe leaving my 13 y.o son to swim while I took the 7 minute walk into town to go to the internet cafe. It is an election year so the roads are ripped up in town and 'construction' is going on (and on). This place was away from the dusty downtown. The price was great $59 per night we got a free upgrade because what we booked was not available; I think of what $59 gets in the U.S. and I usually shudder. Any tour operator will pick you up there for free (or should) but it is only a short walk to the dusty downtown. If you will be away on tours of the ruins and the caves all day why pay more to stay someplace fancy? The beds were comfortable, the staff were friendly, the place was clean! Is it a 'resort' by American standards? No, but I'm not going to another country to sip tropical drinks by the pool and be waited on hand and foot; I do enjoy clean, safe and comfortable. By this measure Midas Resort exceeded my expectations. I think we place to much value on 'luxury' and not enough on meeting local every day people. My mother became ill while we were away and the clerk kept watch for when we arrived back to the hotel to personally make sure that I knew my husband had called.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bratface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel is very walkable to town. The new pool was a great place to relax after a day of exploring the ruins with good service, cold beer and more than acceptable rooms. We did have an issue with a broken water main at the hotel, which was fixed quicker than I had expected. The staff were very friend, the breakfasts are very good and overall, the right balance of quality for the money

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed at the Midas Resort for three nights at the beginning of our week in Belize. Our room was clean, the shower was spacious and always had hot water, and the air conditioner worked well enough to cool us off after our long days at Mayan ruins. We found the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were very tasty. Our only complaint was that we looked forward to relaxation by the pool in the late afternoon, but it was impossible to read and relax because the music they play at poolside is so loud and with a techno beat that we gave up after about a half hour of that each day. I considered saying something about it, but wasn't sure if the other guests were actually enjoying the so-called music or not. The town of San Ignacio doesn't have a whole lot to offer other than the good location to use as a departure point to several Mayan ruin sites. SInce this was our only reason for going to San Ignacio, that was fine with us. I expected a quaint, charming downtown area because I have been to many Latin American countries and the center is usually pleasant. San Ignacio does not have a center plaza and the main tourist area is a dirt street. If you plan to go to the Caracol ruins, you better be on a tour or have a rental vehicle that can handle bad roads. Our rental SUV did fine, but the trip is not for everyone. If it weren't for our passion for the Mayan culture, we wouldn't recommend San Ignacio as a place to visit. Fortunately, we ended our vacation to Belize with a trip to the area of Placencia. If we had done it the other way around, we would have been disappointed. We stayed at a lovely place at Maya Beach called Singing Sands. (which I have also reviewed)

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building, which suited our needs perfectly. The cabanas looked nice from the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_LV_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
1.4 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
3.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#12 of 14 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Belize

Property: Midas Belize
Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Belize 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Midas Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Belize San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing