We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 nights in Tia Maria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tia Maria Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 33 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“4 nights in Tia Maria”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Emelda is nice, as well as the entire hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much, rooms are nice, the best, where we stayed in Belize, but, the most, we enjoyed beautiful terrace with large and fully equiped kitchen. Moreover, great value for money. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoukyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
23
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Tia Maria for a few nights and we're pleased with our choice. The hotel is very close to town, a 3 minutes walk from all the restaurents and attractions on Burns ave (main street). The rooms are clean and quite spacious. The AC was very welocmed since the thermometer grew to 45 degrees celcius. The owner / host was super nice and helpful. Great value for the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josiane Gendron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Emelda was wonderful and very accommodating. Very simple rooms but clean and relatively cheap. Available air conditioning and stand up floor fan were in every room. Two blocks to the Main Street so easy to walk to but not as noisy at night. Was able to make international calls on Emelda's cell phone paying her for the minutes used.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Franciso
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very tidy, attractive, and yet in downtown. This hotel provides a clean and reasonable place to stay. The owner is right there keeping an eye on the place and she IS engaged in the process. A kitchen w/ 'fridge is there. The big market is a short walk so you can cook a good meal, yet there are numerous restaurants near by if you aren't motivated to cook. The balcony is delightful to just sit and read for those lazy moments/days.

Noise is always a Belizian issue but this Hotel is far enough from the noisey bars to be safe. Dogs are always an issue, if you travel in Belize I suggest earplugs and "sound barriers" (headphone like earcovers). Mosquitos are always an issue too, I would bring a 'swatter' if I go to anywhere in Belize, this area was the least troublesome-but repellant is a MUST HAVE. AC is an option, but we didn't need it during our stay.
Hotel Tia Maria and San Ignacio was our favorite and most relaxed place to stay in Belize.

Room Tip: Rooms are all on the cooler side of the building. Emelda, the owne, is a straight forward type of pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#9 of 13 in San Ignacio
126 reviews
3.2 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#4 of 33 in San Ignacio
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#7 of 13 in San Ignacio
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tia Maria Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tia Maria Guesthouse

Property: Tia Maria Guesthouse
Address: 38 West St, San Ignacio 00501, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run guesthouse. 1 block from city center, restaurants, and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tia Maria Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Maria Guesthouse Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing