We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right Downtown”

Cahal Pech Mayan Ruins & Museum
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ancient Mayan site features a museum and several dozen surviving structures.
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Right Downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

If you are in San Ignacio there is no reason to pass up Cahal Pech as it's right in the middle of town! It was one of the smaller ruins we visited but just as cool as the rest. Cahal Pech has many levels and rooms that can be explored. My favorite part of visiting ruins in Belize is that you can crawl to the top of the ruins and explore every inch (respectfully)! Must go here if in San Ignacio

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    410
    77
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gretna, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow!!! A must do!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

To think that I actually walked were mayan's walked thousands on years ago. Unbelievable!
My husband and i got breakfast early and head up to the ruins by foot from downtown san ignacio. The walk is rough. All up hill. About 20-25 minutes. Very strenuous. Take a taxi if you are challenged. If your walking be sure to bring a umbrella and a bottle of water. Also, be sure to wear shoes with very very good grip. The steps at the site are slippery with algae growing on them. When you arrive a guide will great you and ask to take you through the site. We went without the guide. The guide will charge a fee if you employ their service. Also the entry fee is $10bze. It took us about 1 1/2 hours to get through the entire site. Its small. Towards the back of the site is a pavilion for shelter if it rains and there is also a picnic table there if you want to bring a lunch. No food there to purchase. Also, there is a stand where you can buy little trinkets. There's 6 plazas to get through. Back at the welcome center there is a museum. You may want to do the museum first and then go through the site. That will give you a better understanding for the site. If walking back to downtown stop by sweet tings for coffee and a sweet treat! ENJOY!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wwalker10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So close to town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We walked to Cahal Pech from the house we rented in San Ignacio which only took us around 15 minutes. The entrance fee for an unguided tour was $10 US for two people. There were people there who offered a guided tour for a fee, started at $25 US got them down to $15 but then decided we didn't need one as we had been to many ruins previously. There was hardly anyone there, it was like we had the place to ourselves - great day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Runty22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my favorite Mayan Ruins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Love the setting over the city of San Ignacio and the 'museum' at the entrance. It is a walkable ruin and well cared for.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easy access to some cool small ruins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We didn't do a guided tour because we just wanted to experience the ruins alone and at our own pace. The walk from in town is up a steep road that seemed worst because of the heat but we stopped on the way up at San Ignacio hotel and had some cool refreshing drinks and then walked the rest of the way up to the ruins. I recommend them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank eecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cahal Pech Mayan Ruins & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cahal Pech Mayan Ruins & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing