We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”

Cahal Pech Mayan Ruins & Museum
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ancient Mayan site features a museum and several dozen surviving structures.
Fairfax, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The purpose of our trip to San Ignacio a tour of the nearby ATM Caves, and we happened upon Cahal Pech on the advice of the tour operator as a place to check out while we were in town. We had the place to ourselves, and for $10 Bz we got a personal tour of the entire site from Miguel. This is a great way to get a good experience visiting one of these sites with very low cost. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank finsterette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    421
    80
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exploring Cahal Pech site”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a little gem right in San Ignacio, don't miss it. Imagining that 10000 more people lived where san ignacio is now makes you wonder what the town was been built upon, and gives a sense of historic continuity of the population of the area. The museum has some great pieces and information, although some of the displays badly need updating and lighting. When we were there some foreign archaelogists were cataloging some finds, so research is ongoing at some level. Many of the ruins are not even fully exposed. I've seen Tikal, and this was somehow a more intimate experience. Unlike what some others say, I did find it extraordinary, if you can peel off the layers of tourism "been there, done that".

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank equinoxpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and fun”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I liked this a lot because it wasn't packed with tourists and they had some incredible pieces to view in the museum. The ruins are much more open and you can roam freely among them.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LivingTheDream0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“In town Maya ruin experience”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We walked up to Cahal Pech, which was part of the enjoyable experience. So much of Belize is geared to tours, so liked being on own. We did pay $5 to a local guide to get a general introduction to Mayan cultural and typical layout of cities.Belize needs to give its staff a course in friendliness,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xeriquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Had the place to ourselves!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a great time exploring these ruins, for only a few dollars it was a beautiful site - not manicured like some of the others. We only ran into a few other people while there. If you're in San Ignacio I would definitely recommend a visit to these ruins.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cahal Pech Mayan Ruins & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cahal Pech Mayan Ruins & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing