We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, Great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #2 of 35 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. We loved the botanical garden and found the meals to be delicious. We loved the fresh baked bread and the huevos rancheros at breakfast. We had fun tubing on the river and exploring the grounds. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My son loved feeding bananas to the kinkajous and watching the birds eat melon by the bar.

Note the rooms have no AC. They do have ceiling fans and floor fans but it still can get pretty sticky.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks so much for the good review of duPlooy's. I'm glad that more and more people seem to be staying around the lodge to explore the grounds and take advantage of the complimentary use of canoes and tubes, the botanic gardens and bird watching.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 437 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Awesome facility. Stayed in the river house with a large group of friends. My buddy got married in the orchid house there, which was so intimate and beautiful. The restaurant was some of the best food we had in Belize, and the gardens and surrounding jungle was beautiful. We also visited Xunantunich ruins, which were great, and ATM caves, which was one of the single coolest things I've ever done. If I ever visit Belize again, ill go to duplooys. Also stayed at caye caulker, and the snorkeling was great, but the locals on the island were terrible to be around.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoundaryWatersResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks for your review. You were a fun group of people and I'm glad you had such a good time. Good beginnings for Anais and Blake.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at Duplooys for 4 nights and had plenty of things to do. We love to be active and found the tours they arranged to the ATM cave and Tikal and Xunantunich were well planned and extremely unique and fun and inexpensive. We also walked through the huge and diverse botanical gardens and canoed down the river to a medicinal garden. This is a great place to go for an active vacation, great food, friendly atmosphere, and an excellent value.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter and more modern room choose one closest to the Botanical garden, but these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks for your review. The reason why our motto is "make sure you stay long enough" is because there are so many activities both on site and nearby, making Belize's Cayo District (and, of course, duPlooy's) a great place for your jungle vacation.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

K & M Terry - March 06-12, 2013
In our short stay we were very impressed with the resort. Meals are excellent, staff very friendly and freely give knowledge of local events such as La Ruta Maya canoe race, an annual event. This eco lodge has an intangible quality. 'A relaxing, calm, tranquil atmosphere permeates the area, something to appreciate with all the other amenities such as the Skywalk, the Belize Botanical Gardens, Macal River, and of course the numerous colourful bird species.
We would like to thank the owner and now new friend, Judy duPlooy for this memorable time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you, Marsha, for your comments. I also enjoyed meeting you and Ken and hope that you will return one day. Check out our new website next week. There is a photo of you and Albert in the Food section.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a nice place to stay. The rooms are just fine, the bar is just fine, the other guests are just fine, the tame kinkajous are delightful and the food can be excellent. The tours are noticeably cheaper than Andersons (for the same thing) and more flexible (no minimum numbers for example which was a problem at Andersons). Although tubing and ATM are a little further away, its not much and Tikal, and sites around San Ignaio are right next door.

The staff are really friendly and helpful but watch the canoeing as they don't tell you which rapids you can run (either way) even if you ask!

The food varied from brilliant to poor (never inedible). The guided (booklet) botanic gardens tour was really good (took us 2+hrs).

No aircon, have extra fans if needed, mains sockets in every room. Useable wifi although some needed to be at the bar to get good connection (my cheap chinese covered the whole bar area).

Because you ought to aim for Tikal as the last Mayan ruin, and ATM as your last caving/adventure it might make sense to stay here for your whole stay inland as the tour costs are lower than Andersons, even if you do tubing/zipwire as well as ATM. It nice, well priced (for a lodge) and relaxing.

Amazingly no mosquitoes whilst we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks for your nice review of duPlooy's. Of course, I'm going to hone in on the one negative comment you made and apologize for your having had a bad meal here as our staff prides themselves on making good food for our guests. I'm glad to get these comments, though because they make us look at we are doing and try too make it better.

Also, thanks for some of the useful advice you gave me.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Arrived Belize City Airport, Noel, our Duplooys guide was there to greet us. booked for a 4 day package trip and Jungle experience. Excellent service from arrival. The office were so helpful, arranged trips for us, one to the ATM cave with our very knowledgeable guide Emile, who was there for us every step of the way. Although it was raining and the path a mud bath, we all enjoyed every minute of the experience. We visited Cahal Pech, Mayan Ruin, once again Emile was very informative. Tubing, canoeing, walking around the botanical gardens you name it you can do it. Truly a warm and friendly environment. the office was very helpful in arranging a hire car for us to visit other parts of Belize. Thank you Duplooys for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65Norma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thanks so much for your positive review. I think that all of the adventures that are possible here in Cayo and the friendliness of the people, not to mention jungle settings makes this area one of the best possible travel destinations. Add a few days on the Caribbean and what more could a traveler want?!?

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stopped off for lunch during a canoe trip down the river to San Ignacio. Good food, polite service but just a bit too sterile for my tastes. Apart from the great setting it didn't feel like being in the country, rather more like being in any other US-driven hotel chain. Staff, you don't have to say you're welcome every time we say anything...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EsmithScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hello,
Thanks for your review, but I have been wondering what is "sterile" about duPlooy's. Our guests see us as anything but sterile and the fact that there were probably a couple of Aracari Toucans and other birds around our over canopy deck, make us very unlike a motel in the US.

Feedback like this is important as it makes us take a look around, but I honestly can't see this about us.


Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,276 reviews
1.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
658 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
724 reviews
5.5 mi away
Vanilla Hills Lodge
Vanilla Hills Lodge
#1 of 35 in San Ignacio
227 reviews
3.9 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#4 of 35 in San Ignacio
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: $214 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing