We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great jungle stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #3 of 31 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great jungle stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

I stayed at DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge for an EduVenture trip run by Joy Stephens and Kathleen Kryza in June 2011. It was an unbelievable experience close to San Ignacio. The Lodge was so accommodating with getting us anything we needed. The gardens were beautiful and there were plenty of eco-tourist adventures we were able to do right from duPlooy's as companies would come to pick us up for things like Cave Tubing, Cave Canoeing, ATM Cave, and Xunantunich.

Excellent accommodations for all family and group sizes. We stayed in a Bungaloo Lodge with 4 double bedrooms, living area, 2 bedrooms, and a patio area. The office, restaurant, and main bar area were very accommodating. The restaurant had nightly specials and the servers were very personable.

I would definitely recommend anyone to stay at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BasGd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    70
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
135
155
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Our stay at Du Plooy’s Jungle Lodge was by far the best vacation of our lives. From our very first encounter to our final farewell, every step along the way was superlative in every respect. We decided on Belize as a destination for my husband’s 50th birthday celebration and travelled there with a mixed group of 5 parents, 3 grandparents, and 6 children under the age of 11. Each of us had an amazing experience. Three families started our stay at the Belize City Zoo which is well worth a visit. We were picked up at the zoo by our driver and guide, Fermin, who soon became our trusted conduit to Belize. As he drove us along the comfortably paved and nearly empty road to San Ignacio, he answered all of our questions patiently and thoroughly. He brought us to a shop to purchase last minute items, found us an ATM for cash, and stopped along the side road to Du Plooy’s itself to pick a branch of allspice for us all to experience.
We chose Du Plooy’s over Chaa Creek for a number of reasons, most important the Botanical Garden, the emphasis on eco-tourism, and the home grown food, and we were never disappointed. The road up to DuPlooys was in magical contrast to the farm and jungle we had traversed – it has been transformed from an old cattle farm into a tidy plantation and lush botanical garden. As we stepped out of the comfortable van into the driveway, the children were delighted to immediately find lizards, frogs, leaf cutter ants, and birds nests to explore. The staff quickly showed us to our comfortable lodgings.
I had alerted the staff that we were a gregarious, noisy bunch, and they cleverly situated us at the edge of the property, somewhat away from the rest of the lodgings. We need not have worried as not only were there only two other families staying there, but both couples were extremely welcoming of our boisterous bunch, even joining us in our nightly family sing-alongs in the bar!
Our rooms were comfortable. Not overly large, but perfectly adequate for each group. We managed to share two bathrooms among the 9 of us just fine. My only tiny complaint about the rooms was that my bed was as hard as a futon. Eventually, however, I was so exhausted from our adventures that I didn’t notice!
The food was absolutely outstanding—each meal gourmet – and the wait staff exemplary. I’m thrilled we got a package deal because we could eat to our heart’s content. (Alcohol is expensive, but you don’t need to drink it!) Each dinner was crowned with a fabulous dessert concocted with fruits grown on or near the premises. Our party included some famously picky eaters, and the staff bent over backwards to construct a meal meeting the needs of each palate. At the end of our stay, we mentioned to the staff that we wanted to thank the chefs. The staff brought the chefs out and we (and the other patrons) gave them a standing ovation.
Each day we either relaxed on the beach, strolled through the Botanical garden, or partook of an adventure (or all three). Fermin was our guide through floating downriver in inner tubes, spotting every bat, iguana, and bird in the dense jungle; canoeing through Barton Creek Caves; and up Mayan Ruins. He catered to our young family, making sure the tours were safe and accessible and interesting to all involved (although he is really excited about Mayan history, so he sort of lost the little kids while explaining the intricacies to the adults). Other guides took us on an extremely exciting horseback ride which we never would have been able to do with such young children in the US!
My husband is an orchid enthusiast and the guides went out of their way to show him orchids. Most were not in bloom as it was the orchid off season, but he was excited to learn and see as much as he could.
We survived the trip with only minor mishaps. The bugs were not too bad, the rain was exciting, only a few of the adults got some minor tummy upsets, and half of the kids got a weird rash which hasn’t gone away 5 weeks later. Other than that, we have amazing, indelible memories. My husband and son are ready to move back there to volunteer for a year. I cannot recommend a stay at Du Plooy’s Jungle Lodge highly enough. If you plan to go to Belize (especially in off season, as we were there in July), please do not miss out on this spectacular opportunity.

Room Tip: Just ask and they will provide!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BetsyinBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

I booked our family of 10 for the one week "Jungle, Ruins and Reef" trip. Duplooys did everything that they said that they would. It was service from getting off the plane to our return to the airport. All staff were helpful. Their guides were excellent. June was too warm for some in our group as the accomodtions at the jungle lodge were not air conditioned. LaRu Beya in Plancencia was. The food was good and the service was pleasant. We were transported in vans. One of them needed better AC. We loved the canoe trip and wandering in the gardens. Zip lining and snorkeling were the favorite activities of our 4 young adult grandchildren. Several different mammals and lots of birds are common there. I definitely would recommend this company and their accomodations.

Room Tip: Bungalows and the Casita on the board walk were the most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeelleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I can't say enough good things about duPlooy's, Cayo District, and the Belizean jungle. I spent a week at duPlooy's with my husband, two children (age 9 and 10) and my mother-in-law. Excellent service, wonderful people, wildlife everywhere, surrounded by the jungle.

The food was wonderful and the staff were always willing to answer questions about the unfamiliar fruits and vegetables. We coordinated our daily activities by simply informing the office each afternoon. They had helpful suggestions and were able to advise my mother-in-law about which activities were and were not appropriate with her back problems, as well as suggest options for combining different trips to create full day tours.

During our stay, we went on five trips plus two 1hr horse rides. The first two were with Phillip Mai (Barton Creek Cave and Xunantunich).
The third day was ATM - this cave is amazing even before you get to the part with the pottery and other artifacts. If you are physically capable, this is a must see.
The last two trips were with Fermin (cave tubing and Mountain Pine Ridge).

All of our guides did an excellent job of educating the group without boring us or lecturing. At least once per trip, the guide would stop in the middle of the road to point out a new animal or plant that would have otherwise missed.

We only had a couple of very minor problems during our trip - we were woken before 6:00 am each morning by the sounds of the jungle. Nothing needed to be done other than simply accepting that "it's a jungle out there". The other issue is the roads. Be prepared for rough roads traveling to anything that is off of the main highways.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OR_AlleyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

This is a genuine, family run operation. Nothing flashy, but great execution of food, touring, canoeing and other adventure activities. Things ran on time and the tourism opportunities have really improved in the 18 years since our last visit. Solid, dependable operation.

You are out in the jungle, so be ready for no TV, phones and very little internet. Excellent, down to earth experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We have stayed at DuPlooy's for 2 years now running an Eduventure with a group of teachers. It's a gorgeous location, built right into the jungle, so you wake up every morning to a glorious chorus of birds. The flora and fauna are stunning, including a botanical garden. But the best part of being there is the wonderful staff. They are kind, gracious, knowledgable. At the front desk, Marlon and Loreni and are awesome at helping you plan day trips and making sure all your daily living needs are met. The dining and bar staff rock. Tanika's smile and boundless joy and energy are a treat. Jose and Mason are charming and gracious. The food is delicious and the kitchen staff take great pride in what they create for their guests.

Wonderful place to grow, heal, be cared for -- whatever you need. We can't wait to come back next year with our Belize Eduventure 2012.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyKathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Not only were the facilities great, the staff seemed genuinely pleased to assist and proved to be very helpful with local culture and nature. The trips into the country were well planned and the guides knowlegable. The food was prepared well and the portions appropriate. The wonder of sipping rum listening to the sounds of the jungle unsurpassed!

Room Tip: Request a room with a screened porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuezJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.1 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
2.5 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#1 of 31 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Property: duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing