We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don't stay here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Venus Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We did not book accommodations ahead of time and saw that Venus Hotel got decent reviews so went ahead and got a room there. The room looked fine on the surface, but we discovered many problems later on. First, there is barely any hot water. You can get lukewarm water with little water pressure or cold water with high pressure. The repairman said all the showers in the hotel are like this. When you get back from a day in the muddy ATM cave, a decent hot shower is key. Second, the sheets had some stains, to the extent that I did not feel comfortable sleeping on them. Third, the TV reception is poor.

Since San Ignacio is very small, just a few streets long, any place you stay is close to town. I would highly suggest looking for another place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
5
36
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Hotel Venus is an amazing place for many reasons.

-The staff are wonderful-very friendly, very helpful, very welcoming
-The rooms are affordable and clean
-The balcony is decent
-They did our laundry
-They let us take calls
-They held our bags for us over two days when we went to Guatemala
-They reduced the rate for the rooms as we stayed there for 10 days
-They us keep food in their fridge-AC, cable tv, hot showers
-not one bug was scene probably because of all the geckos in the halls (none in rooms)

The hotel staff was very accommodating. The rooms aren't spectacular but they are clean and affordable. I stayed there for 14 nights in total and it became like home. The owner is a sweet older lady and she treated me like a grandchild. She told me all about her family history and the hotel. This hotel is one of a kind. I doubt I'l have this type of experience again. When I left, I got them a card to thank them for all that they did for me during my stay,

*I did see a few rooms however that I would not have stayed in. Stay on the floor where the front desk is. Both my rooms on that floor were great. The rooms on the upper floors were much smaller and dingier looking.*

-go to Paks for tours-ATM is a must do
-go to Serendib for dinner. Best food in town and really reasonable
-go to Fiya Wata for nightlife
*Hidden-ask around town for the internet place in the mall. it is much cheaper. The South Indian place beside the mall is amazing too.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

Stayed here last year and did not hesitate to stay here again, but checked out at least seven other hotels on Burns Ave. this time, out of curiosity, no comparison. We layed-out at the Macal river this trip and the Venus did our laundry. Only $15 BZ., and we had alot. No coffee in house this time, but got it 30 ft. away at Greedy's, directly across the street. Wonderful staff, stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uswaorganizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

The Venus Hotel can be a nice economical stay or a complete bummer, depending on which room you end with. This will explain the big discrepancy between the above reviews (all of which are accurate). For our first two nights we were put into a room on the second (third in US) floor (i.e. the floor above the reception floor) which was small and doss-house standard, at best. Plus it was in the very centre of the building with no window to the outside and so VERY noisy at all times of the night (which is to be expected in San Ignacio). One 'wall' was in fact cardboard, and the only way we could sleep was by trying to decipher the Italian spoken by our neighbours on the other side of the card wall !
Then on the first day our beds were not made. Dismayed by all this, we then requested a room with real walls and a real window. We were shown three others on both floors which ALL had cardboard walls, and then after much reluctance by the concierge were shown an OK room with real walls on all four sides on the reception floor facing the back — bliss in comparison ! But of course we were charged extra for the a/c which was totally ineffective.
The moral: stay here only if you like playing room roulette !

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — poor quality of the rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PearlyGates_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Ignacio hotels

Seattle, WA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

The nicest place we stayed in Belize. We were trying to stay on a tight budget on our stay in Belize, but we wanted something clean, convenient, and with some style. This place fit the bill and then some.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0neshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

The room was fine, only the shower/toilet/sink was in the corner of the room and though it had a wall round, it didn't go to the ceiling and had western style bar swinging doors. All in all the bathroom wasn't that private so be prepared to share all with your room mate!
Also our room door didn't feel that secure, wouldn't take much for the door to just swing open.
Was a bit of a strange place, it appeared that some of the people in other rooms were long term guests and I can't say they were the most desirable neighbours.
On the positive the location was great, easy access to everything.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleprincessUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

Our trip to Belize (first and so far only) found us spending our first two nights at the lovely Venus hotel. All was perfection from the start. Called to book, emailed to confirm, arrived with enthusiasum, and greeted equally. Choice of two beautiful rooms. Hard choice. Deciding factor, a little more elbow room and a wonderful internal window. Comfortable beds, fans, tv with lots of channels, and WITH PRIVATE BATH! Often used, the second story balcony to relax, read, and enjoy the view of the soccer field (saw practice), the vendors street, and the beautiful little park. Located on Burns avenue, its right in the middle of everything. The staff was awsome and security was great (one night we stayed out a little late and came back to find a gate, as I was thinking we were locked out, the night shift staff ran to unlock the gate immediately). The only reason we didn't stay there the full week, was that we needed somewhere to lay out. We found out later, there's a beach not far from there. Price? If you can't afford to stay in this beautiful place, you should't be here. ($30 a night US).

tom and debi

Pennsylvania, USA

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank desertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
0.4 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
3.1 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Benque Resort and Spa
Benque Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Benque Viejo del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel

Property: Venus Hotel
Address: 29 Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Venus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Venus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel San Ignacio
Venus Hotel Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing