We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Expierence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Clean and friendly environment. Rooms were very large and elegant. Very relaxing balconies and outside dining are with tropical rainforest backdrop. We spent time on the patios watching the many tropical birds on display in the trees behind the hotel and the outdoor dining patio,

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaTex08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

903 - 909 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2011

We weren't certain what we would get when we checked in. In 10 seconds, all our worries were put aside. Beautiful property, wonderful people. The new Spa was perfect and the massage was on of the best I have had in a very long time. Do not miss the Green Iguana Project and the Medicine Trail. Not extensive, but very informative.

Due to Delta's inability to get us to Belize on time, we missed a day. They were more than happy to apply our nonrefundable deposit to other resort uses, and would have refunded it if we had not used it all.

The location just above town is perfect (we walked into town). The pool was perfectly clean and in excellent condition, nestled right up to the rain forest. They even had tennis courts. There is no doubt that my wife and I would stay there again (longer..Delta willing).

If you find yourself in San Ignacio, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ec47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

This hotel has a very tranquil setting with most modern amenities. The rooms are comfortable with excellent views. You will find fresh flowers in the room each day.

The food in the restaurant is very good. The dining experience is excellent because of the supurb view from any seating area. The tortilla soup is to die for...could have for lunch and dinner each day.

The staff gives superb service whether at the front des, dining area or housekeeping. All employees go out of their way to be accomodating.

Very muh worth the cost.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms_flair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Reception - Attentive and professional staff. Check-in was quick and efficient. All the girls at the front desk were very knowledgeable and were attentive to all questions/requests I presented to them. For guests who haven't already booked tours prior to arriving, the staff at the front-desk can book them for you. I highly suggest this over booking with any of the numerous tour companies in San Igancio town. Another guest at the hotel had the unfortunate experience of booking with a company in town only to find out that almost immediately after, her debit card (which she hadn't used in several months) was used in an online $4000 shopping-spree.

Public Areas - Upon entering the resort, guests are treated to a beautiful lobby resembling that of a more deluxe resort, definitely one of the nicest in Belize. Flying W Steakhouse serves Belizean, Mayan and American Cuisine - you can't go wrong with anything on their menu! We ate here for breakfast, lunch and dinner multiple times throughout our 4 nights here and everything was fresh and of excellent quality and portions were sufficient. Prices are in Belizean dollars, so once converted to US (divide by 2) food here is an excellent value for the quality, especially by American standards! Stork Club is the bar on location and always had some sort of entertainment whether it be live music or karaoke. The balcony behind the restaraunt offers beautiful views down into the Macal River Valley and is an EXCELLENT vantage point for birdwatching, especially before breakfast.Pool was inviting and most refreshing and open 24 hours! I think security may have been confused on this as they kept locking the main door into the lobby from the pool, but there was always someone else to let us in, and they assured us we could use the pool anytime. There was more than enough deck space and sun-chairs and not once did it ever seem crowded. Bar-staff was available to serve drinks poolside. The resort also has a full-size tennis court. Meeting/banquet facilities onsite (I didn't use them but I know they are available.) Spa services are available by appointment. The resort prides itself in their Iguana Exhibit - a screened outdoor "sanctuary" where they breed iguanas and the young are released into the wild once they are healthy enough and can survive on their own. There are also the Rainforest and Medicine trails behind the property, however, we didn't have time to explore these.

Guest Rooms - Although not as grand as the lobby, our Balcony Room was more than adequate for our daily needs. The 2 double beds were very comfortable and linens changed daily. The room had plenty of drawers and closet space as well as a mini-safe. The bathroom was large and always had plenty of hot water, even for the 2nd person to shower. The room featured a large patio (complete with hammock) that had nice views of the lush gardens behind the property. Although nothing fancy, the room was overall spacious, clean, bright and airy. All of their rooms feature a/c.

Area Info - The next building up the hill is the Princess Casino. There is a bar and restaraunt here. Drinks are good not to mention inexpensive. Food was mediocre and for the price you're much better off eating at the resort. The actual town of San Ignacio is a 5 minute walk downhill (10+ minutes back up ;-) and there are numerous shops and local cafes worth checking out. If the market happens to be going while you are in town, it is worth checking out!

Overall, San Ignacio Resort was the best choice for us in the Cayo District. There are several more upscale "lodges" and "spa-resorts" in and around the area that offer the same sightseeing tours, however, most of them are a few miles from San Ignacio and then a few miles down a gravel road off the Western Highway. Although the isolation might make them more peaceful and tranquil, the proximity of San Igancio Resort to the town offers guests so much more freedom. If someone has a free day with no organized tours, they won't feel stuck or confined to the property when staying at San Ignacio Resort.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattmc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

The San Ignacio Hotel was a delightful surprise for us during a week's visit to the Cayo district. As we had already rented a house for the week, we were not guests of the hotel, but after enjoying its ammenities as visitors, we definitely will stay there on any return visits. We first went to the SI Hotel to use the pool for a fee, and then took in the Iguana Project. We ended up having many meals on the poolside verandah, and enjoying the chairside birding and conversations with staff, guests, and ex-pats. This is an elegant and popular place. I admire this hotel for its commitment to service, the preservaton of the hillside jungle and bird habitat, and the stellar Iguana Project. We asked to view rooms while there and were pleasantly surprised with the upscale decor. While the room price may be higher some hotels, this hotel is worth it. The staff, especially Miss Flora and iguana keeper Eddy are excellent ambassadors for both the hotel and Belize. The owner, Miss Miriam, was always gracious to us. The SI hotel made a very positive impact on our first ever Belize trip. Very highly reccommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canucksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

San Ignacio Resort Hotel | Room 16

We slept four nights at this hotel and enjoyed our stay. The resort sits atop a steep hill above town which wasn't a problem for us ( at home we hike regularly and walk almost everywhere), but be mindful of your parties' abilities. If you have a car you will be fine.
The service from the hotel staff was excellent. Everyone was friendly and attentive. The Iguana Tour was fun, and for the adventurous, your guide will let you try some termites. The pool was a treat after a long day of touring. We had a room on the east side with a patio (away from the road) and were very comfortable. The bathrooms have been updated and the open shower was nice with strong water pressure.
We had breakfast and dinner once in the restaurant and would rate the food and service as average. The dinner portions were huge (three times what I normally pack away and I am a big eater), so be ready to load up.
As with any tropical open air hotel you have some noise issues which can't be helped. Nearly everything is a hard surface; nothing to absorb sound. Be mindful when you walk through the halls every word can be heard by other guests.
The one thing that needed improvement during my stay was the cleanliness of the pool. There were a few dead wasps, several other bugs floating around. I truly didn't mind scooping them up and tossing them out of the water. The crew cleaned it a day or two later even though I had not mentioned it to them. I was the only using it the whole time we were there anyway.
All in all, a pleasant stay and great bird watching!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Got to San Ignacio Hotel after our week long stay in Corozal Town at the Corozal Bay Resort. San Ignacio was not affected by the recent hurricane. Booked the family room which was located at the end of a long winding corridor. The kids loved it as if felt kind of spooky getting there. Our room was interesting as part of it was in the air on stilts. Very quiet, private and nice views of the only jungle in town. The restaurant was great as was the bar. At night they had a reggaeton concert which was not my style. We went downtown San Ignacio and went to Fire Water Club and they had the best 80's music playing and it was hopping. The pool is large and has a nice deck around it. They also have a tennis court and casino. As mentioned before Belize is still a third world country and you have to get used to that or stay away. If you want North American perfection stay home. Belize has ants, mosquitos and other bugs. There are also geckos which might freak you out...BUT...remember they eat bugs. So they might be an enemy but also a friend. We saw these every hotel we stayed at in Belize. We really enjoyed our stay at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogBeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
3 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
850 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,243 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
143 reviews
11.1 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
449 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: $222 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title HOTEL OF THE YEAR 2016/2012, RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016, and HOSPITALITY AWARD 2015 by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing