We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Base for exploration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The San igancio hotel is under renovation but the service and facilities are still outstanding. We arrived to visit our adult daughter who was on elective at the hospital there. We had booked early and were kept informed regularly about our booking and compensated well for the disruption of the renovations. The restaurant is still open and remains the best food in San Ignacio for us. The steaks are superb and come from the hotel owned ranch in San Ignacio. The family run business makes the place warmer and homely. The staff are all exceptional and accommodating. Of special mention is Consuela (head of housekeeping) and Jonny in the restaurant. Thank you for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: regal suites had a beautiful four poster bed and the most comfortable mattresses ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerCeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

They had construction. No way we should have paid $130 a night and our welcome was earplugs. weren't willing to accommodate the inconvenience. Restaurant very expensive. In a bad part of town. I just recommend not even going to san Ignacio. The pictures you see are the VERY best of pictures you get. Rooms have no fridge, no microwave, no coffee pot. staff is nice. beds were comfy. We were greeted with rum punch, basically just juice. Pool not heated. No spa. No fitness room. The area is ghetto!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIRH_Manager, Marketing Manager at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Good afternoon Mrs. Cindy,
Thank you for visiting the San Ignacio Resort Hotel and posting your comment here on Tripadvisor. I would first like to apologize that your stay with us was not as amazing as we strive to make all of our guests experiences here at the Hotel. You are correct that we are currently under renovations however you were notified about the renovations and offered the opportunity to cancel without any penalties prior to arrival. In addition, we offered a discount on meals, complimentary wine and ear plugs due to the renovations happening here at the hotel. The pictures you posted are of the areas that are currently under renovations and do not represent the majority of our hotel that is not affected at all by the construction. Images of the current renovations and hotel are posted in the link below. Thank you for visiting Belize and San Ignacio Resort Hotel. Here is the link to the images http://on.fb.me/1a49d0p.

Sincerely,
Trinity
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at here during our honeymoon a few weeks ago. From start to finish we were impressed by the service at the hotel. We had a balcony room that overlooked the jungle and had a wonderful hammock. We had a car staying there but it was close enough to walk to town so we didn't really need to drive much while staying there. As a disclaimer walk to town is up and down a steep hill, but very doable for us Coloradoans. The front desk people especially Marlyn were very helpful and worked with us in booking our activities. The food was AMAZING we ate some meals in town and some at the resort, but we would have been very happy to be all inclusive. The Mayan Steak is a must have! Amy one of our servers was so awesome and was always there to help. And a big thanks to John and Aaron for making sure my husband was never too far from a Belikin :-) All of the staff was very genially friendly and lots of fun to be around. One last tip, do the Iguana tour with Humberto! For a few dollars it was a lot of fun!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a balcony or better room for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillarykd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at San Ignacio Resort earlier this year and must say it was the best stay I have ever had in Belize. Upon arrival I was greeted with a complimentary Rum Punch and shown to my room. I booked the "standard room" but it was far from standard. It had 2 of the most comfortabel beds Ive ever slipped on, as well as a modern look and feel throughout. The room is equipped with a safe, ironing board, bigscreen TV, AC of course, hot/cold shower. There was complimentary water in the room as well in case you needed a late-night sip of something.

The staff was knowledgeable and courteous and the view was incredible in the morning. The food served from their kitchen for breakfast was a cross between Belizean and American cuisines and was very delightful.

I cannot possibly say anything better about the place and I highly recommend it to ANYONE visiting San Ignacio in Belize.

Room Tip: A standard room is more than enough for a cpl or 2 friends...it comes with most of the perks of othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at San Ignacio Resort over the Thanksgiving holidays and had a great experience. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful, especially the concierge, who setup our cave spelunking trip to the ATM caves. The ATM caves are well worth a visit and was a fun and unique experience not to be missed. The tour guide the hotel set us up with was by far the most energetic and knowledgeable guide we met in the cave out of the 10+ groups. The hotel even helped us dry our shoes overnight since we had an early flight at 7:30. The staff really went above and beyond for us.

It is an easy walk into town to experience some great local food, but if you decide to eat at the hotel restaurant you won't be disappointed either. It is an uphill walk back to the hotel, but it is a short walk and manageable by anyone. If you don't want to walk back up hill, there are plenty of taxis in town willing to drive you back to the hotel for a reasonable fee.

The hotel was remodeling during our visit, but we barely even noticed. We were gone most of the day, and the construction teams were finished by the time we returned. Don't let the remodeling scare you away from the hotel. Overall, it was a beautiful boutique hotel in the middle of Belize for a great price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilbur_713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is a nice place to start your trips to cave tubing, ATM etc and a short walk to local Mayan ruins or downtown San Ignacio for dinner. The bedding is excellent. I wish we could have taken their pillows over to Hidden Valley with us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We arrived in San Ignacio late afternoon and easily found the hotel parked the car and walked into a wonderfully experience friendly and efficient staff, wonderfull rooms and amenities. We had dinner at the restaurant which was excellent ( great steaks) . Will be returning here as it is a special place and easy to access all that the area has to offer. Their are cheaper places to stay but if you want it all in one special package this is not expensive its worth every penny.

Room Tip: The view over the river is my favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
3.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
826 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
637 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
11.1 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
438 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: $165 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title HOTEL OF THE YEAR 2016/2012, RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016, and HOSPITALITY AWARD 2015 by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing