We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Morne Raquette, Saint Joseph, Dominica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The experience at the hotel was great. The ambiance was breathtaking, natural, peaceful and eco-friendly. This was my first visit to Belize. The local food provided by the restaurant was excellent, a variety of local dishes were provided during my stay. I would definitely recommend the San Ignacio Resort Hotel to anyone planning to visit Belize. The staff members were friendly, helpful and professional.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royal Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    186
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
256
383
48
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel this past week and we were blown away at the hospitality we received! Every staff member went out of their way to make sure the experience was top notch. We stayed in the Master Suite which is the best room at the resort and it was so worth it! We booked the Actun Tunichil Muknal Cave (ATM) tour and canoeing on the Marcal River through the resort and they made sure our experiences were unforgettable! The restaurant on-site was exceptional and the animal watching was a lot of fun! I would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaG12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent hotel and location. Very close to a maya site and restaurants. The hotel looks amazing and offers many tours around the area. Best hotel in Belize. The restaurant offers a great variety of local food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MephistoUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My first visit to Belize so I was looking forward to being in the city and seeing something of the country. It was a big surprise when I got transported from the airport after a 36 plus hour trip so I was really lost when I arrived. It is in a small town but the place is a gem in a small and ordinary place, but the natural aspects are beautiful and the hotel is excellent. The staff excel at working hard to ensure you stay is pleasant. The reviews indicated the hotel was good and the rooms well kept and clean, they did not disappoint. The room was large and very comfortable. Internet access was good and consistent. The food was well prepared and tasty although it is focused on the local beef industry so it may not accommodate to all tastes. It was a poor choice for a meeting but a wonderful experience. I am happy to have stayed there and experienced something really different.

Room Tip: The forward rooms that overlook the river and have the old style four posted bed would be a great wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karta_Mita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel may be under some renovation, but it still stands out. Where should I begin?

The facility is fantastic. Clean, polished and even beautiful fragrant flowers in the lobby. The staff greeted me by name, brought a cool drink at check in, and took my bags to the room. The pool is beautiful, clear and at a perfect temperature. Not a thing out of place...

The rooms: Well furnished, bright, airy and a lovely veranda with a hammock. A large "open-air" tiled shower greeted me, perfect after a long day of hot travelling. The bed was great, with high-quality sheets and very, very comfortable. I slept very well. And quiet all around.

The restaurant: A great mix of local flavor and traditional cuisine- For dinner I recommend the eggplant fries, the pepper steak and the bread pudding. A great drinks list containing a number of home-made creations. Breakfast has both the standard "eggs and bacon" as well as many local derivatives. I found all of it great, but the plantains and the johnny cakes were my favorite, with fresh guava preserves.

Don't forget the Iguana Preserve- The owners have donated land and resources to develop and grow this facility, and it is doing very well for these animals that are becoming very limited in much of their range. Worth the walk down and tour.

I know that they are doing all this work, but I'm excited to see what they are actually improving. I'll be back!

Room Tip: All the grounds were very quiet, but the upstairs rooms looked appealing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herpdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Unless you want to go to one of the expensive places, this is by far the best value in San Ignacio. No, its not the Ritz Carlton, but remember where you are. My wife can live without AC, but with the steamy Belizean weather, I welcome it to relax.

My wife chose this place for the inland portion of our Belize trip for our 15th anniversary. She chose one of the meal plans, and we dont regret it. The food is really good , especially for the region. The rooms were comperable to 3 star American hotels, maybe 3.25 stars.

The employees were at the very least accommodating, and most were VERY helpful. If you get Ted for a tour guide, you did well. We cannot emphasize enough that arranging tours thru the hotel was a good idea IMO, because they were priced well, and the hotel made EXTRA sure that the excursion went well. We went to Tikal, and Ted went along just to make sure everything went well. (Other tours may not do this ?????) We also did the ATM, and our tourguide had a huge flashlight, whereas other guides did not. Huge bonus for us. Overall...... evaluate your expectations..... this is not a pricey eco lodge.....and this is also not the Omni in downtown Atlanta.. it is San Ignacio, a quaint little town close to the Guatemalan border. For the money, it is the best value around, IMO. You may save a few bucks, or pay a lot more, but this a nice place to relax after a day of excursions, and the staff will help with any problems you may have . I am glad my wife chose this place for our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JStevens2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deming
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

San Ignacio Resort Hotel is a great place for a vacation! It is easy to get to everything in town, yet one has the feeling of being in a remote area. The resort has jungle plants, trees and flowers surrounding it, which attract a variety of birds and butterflies. The rooms are well-appointed. The restaurant has a great selection, and the food was really good!
Cruz, the tour guide for trips to several Mayan ruins, has an archaeology background and is quite knowledgeable. Onil, the concierge, went over the details of our trips and tours each evening, ensuring we had a very pleasant experience each time.
There are two drawbacks to this property: The lower level rooms and pool are only accessible via steep stairs - so not ADA friendly. Guests are allowed to smoke on their balconies - and the smoke hangs in the air of ALL of the balconies; if you don't like smoke, don't bother with a balcony room.

Room Tip: Choose a main level room if you can't climb stairs, as there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearhug68jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
3.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
629 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
282 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
686 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Property: San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title HOTEL OF THE YEAR 2016/2012, RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016, and HOSPITALITY AWARD 2015 by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing