We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel that strives to provide the highest service possible. The staff is warm and friendly and will know you by name after the first day. The rooms and common areas are gorgeous, clean and comfortable. Our room had a lovely patio with a hammock overlooking a manicured garden. The restaurant has good food and overlooks a green forest canopy. We saw birds, lizards and other wildlife from our seats at each meal. Very fun! The hotel is walking distance to town and close to sight seeing destinations like ATM cave and Caracol. An overall wonderful experience and stay here. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to San Ignacio.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    175
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
226
359
42
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Friendly staff, beautiful clean rooms, comfortable beds, delicious reasonable food, and great drink prices for Happy Hour on Thursdays and Fridays 6:00-8:00. We were also very appreciative that the hotel is conscientious about conserving energy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollymaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at San Ignacio for the first 4 days of our Belize vacation. Everyone was welcoming, friendly and helpful. The meals were absolutely delicious! The scenery and nature while eating on the veranda was simply mesmerizing. We love nature and the outdoors and most of our vacations are made to incorporate such. We were not disappointed. All the excursions we scheduled allowed us to meet enthusiastic, friendly and knowledgeable guides. Our Garden Room was clean, cool and gave us an opportunity to unwind in the early morning or late night outside in our hammock and watch the wildlife. We walked mornings and nights to the common areas and one morning purchased fresh fruit from the market and ate down by the river. We felt safe and comfortable in our environment or places we chose to visit. We talk frequently about how and when we can return to Belize for our next adventure. We truly had a once in a lifetime experience during our vacation in Belize and we are extremely thankful that San Ignacio Resort was our perfect fit. Thank you to all who made it unforgettable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We considered a lot of resorts before settling on the San Ignacio Resort Hotel and were extremely happy with our choice. It was very hot the week we were there so the AC was an absolute godsend after spending all day climbing ruins and exploring the jungle. (One note: other than the nightclub, the common areas are not air conditioned. Not a big deal if you're gone all day, but worth considering if you plan to hang out.)

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, as are the grounds, and has a bit of old world charm to it. The rooms were a bit smaller than expected, but still very comfortable. What really won us over however was the restaurant. Our entire family (8 total) loved it--even the kids. The food is excellent, and the prices quite reasonable. Better yet the service is impeccable. We had several early morning excursions planned so they went ahead and took our order the night before and made sure everything was ready in time.

If you're looking for a full service resort in the middle of the Cayo you can't go wrong with SIRH.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 20yrswed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the moment of our arrival we felt welcomed as if we were old friends! Even though we booked our tours through another company, the concierge offered to meet with us privately to offer informative details on what to bring, and how to best enjoy our tour. The wait staff in the restaurant were gracious, welcoming and friendly, and service was exceptional. We stayed three days and ate there every breakfast and dinner, including a few cocktails at the bar. Our first night was our 31st wedding anniversary celebration, and the staff set up a lovely table with sweet decorations and a tall vase of freshly picked flowers for us on the patio for a very special dinner. Our room (#116) was exceptionally clean, everything worked, the patio overlooked the gardens and pool area but was totally private, and the bed was VERY comfortable - lots of pillows and the linens were first class. We saw lots of birds right from our balcony, including a Toucan. Wireless internet worked great even from the room, and I really appreciated having a safe for valuables. I'm in the travel business, and I will recommend this property to all my clients looking for affordable, clean and unique accommodations during their stays in the Cayo District.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

One review I read before taking our trip to Belize mentioned that their time in San Ignacio ended up being the highlight of their trip, even above the Cayes. We agree!!! We loved San Ignacio and all the amazing locations and activities nearby. Don't go to Belize without a visit here.

And, we highly recommend the San Ignacio resort hotel. We spent four days here before heading for the coast. The hotel is an amazing oasis on a hill above town with very comfortable rooms, a beautiful pool and an amazing backyard...the jungle. The hotel excels at customer service and was happy to help us no matter the request. They even proactively reached out to me after we left as we left some important papers in our room that their cleaning staff found. The hotel graciously offered to mail these to us in the states. Not all hotels would go to the trouble. It was greatly appreciated.

As for additional recommendations, we loved ATM, a highlight of our trip to Belize, the Iguana project tour (right at the hotel, a real treat) and a trip to Tikal. We also thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant at the hotel, but keep your options open as there are some great eating options in town too.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed At the San Ignacio resort with our family and had an excellent stay. The staff is very attentive and the food really good at the restaurant. Some rooms have a nice garden in front, full of flowers and butterflies, really beautiful to wake up with the birds. The hotel has a laid back relaxed atmosphere typical for the San Ignacio town

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.9 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Property: San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title "Hotel of the Year 2012" and "Hospitality Award 2015" by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing