We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Cayo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Legian, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Cayo”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Always a great place to stay; it improves every time I am there. Loved the hammock on the patio. One of the best pools ever, especially considering the view of toucans and other birds that live in the foliage surrounding it.

It's the best of Belize in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    185
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
256
383
48
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We enjoyed the hotel. It is a nice place to stay while exploring the Mayan Ruins in the area. The Concierge was very helpful in planning tours. Don't book your Mayan tours with anyone else! The hotel does a great job and are very flexible in scheduling etc. Their prices for tours are reasonable and all of their tours are private which is really nice.

Food in the hotel was good but a little pricey. We walked down the hill to dinner all of the nights and enjoyed the local cuisine. It was really good!

The Iguana Tour at the hotel was really fun. The kids enjoyed it. We stayed in a Spa suite and it was spacious enough for our family of four.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccermom1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights , excellent location and service .
The room we stayed is a standard room but was so small that has no place to move around.
And there was music in the night I think probably coming from the next door casino was so annoying that I couldn't sleep .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sridhar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I just returned from a 3 night stay at San Ignacio Hotel and loved every minute of time spent on the property! This was my fourth trip to San Ignacio in the last 3 years and second to this hotel. There are many nice places to stay in the area but none have the luxury this hotel has with the in-town location. I was traveling for a week with a friend and this was a great way to end our busy week of business in the Cayo area. Well appointed, comfortable, clean rooms; turn down service (not a necessity by any means but a very nice touch!) and an amazing staff all the way around make this a great place to stay. Lisel, Amaris, Carlos, Amy, Ysenia, Onil (just to name a few) all made our stay very enjoyable. The hotel has stayed relatively small which adds to it's allure for me-they really do care about your experience because they are a part of it. Everyone learns your name and looks to help whenever they can or just chat about your day and your time in their beautiful country.The morning bird watching on the beautiful veranda over the
jungle was great-Collared Aracari's zoom in and out landing on the trees right in front of you! The pool is a wonderful refreshing treat whether just lounging around it for the day or cooling off after an adventure. We did not book any tours this trip but have done the Iguana Project tour on the property-a MUST! I love Belize and it's people and would highly recommend this San Ignacio gem!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are especially nice because they overlook the jungle ridge. But hopefully you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly44207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at San Igancio Resort Hotel for four nights in a Deluxe Room. The room was not big but very comfortable with really good A/C. We enjoyed the small balcony with hammock overlooking the jungle in the mornings. The service, especially from the staff working in the Running W restaurant on site, was outstanding. They were always very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had anything we needed. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant everyday before heading out to explore and had dinner there once. We enjoyed all the meals we had there and the convenience of on site dining and beverage service. Bird watching on the balcony in the mornings at the restaurant was a real treat. The location was perfect for us as we went on full day excursions every day and it was an easy walk into town in the evenings. It is also a cheap taxi ride to town if you don't want to walk the huge hill. The swimming pool was very nice and we had it all to ourselves when we used it in the early evenings. We did not spend a lot of time in our room except to sleep during our stay but enjoyed this hotel very much as a home base for all our excursions. If you want to be close to town it's an excellent option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbie_avl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Family of 5 spent a week exploring the Cayo District based out of San Ignacio Resort Hotel.

The hotel was perfect for our needs. Rooms (Regal Room/Spa Suite) were exactly as described, clean and comfortable. Air conditioning was very much appreciated due to the tropical climate. Rooms were quite and beds very comfortable.

Staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. From the reception, cleaning staff, management staff, to the restaurant/bar staff and grounds staff---every one was great!!
We felt that the staff genuinely cared about our experience and were eager to share their country.

We ate breakfast daily and several dinners in the hotel restaurant as well. Service and food were both good.

The only tour that we booked through the hotel was the onsite birding tour--which was excellent.

(Outstanding staff included: Carlos, Amy and Pearla--and those were just the ones we got to know)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brown11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My family (mom, dad, 11 year old girl and 8 year old boy/girl twins) had a wonderful time at SIRH. One of the highlights is the Iguana Project tour. All of us had a great time and learned a lot from Eddy. The hotel is within walking distance of the town, but the hotel really has everything you need. All of the staff was wonderful from the front desk to the bar. We also had the hotel arrange for our trip to Tikal. It made for a wonderful experience with no worries at all. Go enjoy the pool and all the San Ignacio has to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spa Suite, which was wonderful for a family of five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
3.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
628 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
282 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
686 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Property: San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title HOTEL OF THE YEAR 2016/2012, RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016, and HOSPITALITY AWARD 2015 by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing