We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect base for our adventures in western Belize”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Perfect base for our adventures in western Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Family of 5 spent a week exploring the Cayo District based out of San Ignacio Resort Hotel.

The hotel was perfect for our needs. Rooms (Regal Room/Spa Suite) were exactly as described, clean and comfortable. Air conditioning was very much appreciated due to the tropical climate. Rooms were quite and beds very comfortable.

Staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. From the reception, cleaning staff, management staff, to the restaurant/bar staff and grounds staff---every one was great!!
We felt that the staff genuinely cared about our experience and were eager to share their country.

We ate breakfast daily and several dinners in the hotel restaurant as well. Service and food were both good.

The only tour that we booked through the hotel was the onsite birding tour--which was excellent.

(Outstanding staff included: Carlos, Amy and Pearla--and those were just the ones we got to know)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brown11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    178
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
231
362
45
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My family (mom, dad, 11 year old girl and 8 year old boy/girl twins) had a wonderful time at SIRH. One of the highlights is the Iguana Project tour. All of us had a great time and learned a lot from Eddy. The hotel is within walking distance of the town, but the hotel really has everything you need. All of the staff was wonderful from the front desk to the bar. We also had the hotel arrange for our trip to Tikal. It made for a wonderful experience with no worries at all. Go enjoy the pool and all the San Ignacio has to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spa Suite, which was wonderful for a family of five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I visited Belize for the first time for our 10 year anniversary and LOVED our stay at SIRH. It is definitely the nicest place to stay in town and is a short walk from all the restaurants, banks and action. However, the hotel has everything you need if you don't feel like walking into town. The restaurant is wonderful for all meals of the day, the room was great, beautiful grounds, great pool, wonderful staff and service. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden View room and it was very quite and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelnel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My family (mom, dad and two boys ages 12 and 14) stayed four nights here. Our experience was great! The staff were amazingly helpful, courteous and went out of their way to make sure we had a great time.

We stayed in the spa/family suite and it was just right for our family. The facilities are clean, well-cared for and having the restaurant there is a huge bonus.

This resort is close to town (walking distance) and is easy and convenient for tour-operators to come pick you up for any tours you may want to go on. The pool, iguana project and proximity to town are reason enough to stay here again. But it is the staff that really sets this resort apart. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

After wrapping up a week in San Pedro and a short flight to the Municipal, Ted was already waiting with a fully stocked and plush, air conditioned van. We were immediately whisked comfortably throughout Belize City with our final destination being the San Ignacio Resort Hotel. Our path took us through city, coastal, savannah, and sub-tropical terrains, with our unknowingly appointed guide Ted answering all of questions concerning the country and it's vast history and current cultures. Upon arrival, the feeling that was established immediately reminded me of visiting home or visiting an old friend's house. After a quick tour and an early check in, we settled into our room and were pleasantly greeted again, via room-service, with two delicious rum punches! Since we we checked in on a Monday and were wrapping up our honeymoon on a Thursday, we had limited time, but with the Hotel's assistance, they made all our dreams come true! The following morning, Ted was waiting to escort us on a personal adventure into Guatemala where we were welcomed with some incredible coffee, juice, snacks, and extremely clean bathroom facilities. Upon linking up with our Tikal guide, we (including Ted), adventured off to one of the greatest world history sites on the planet, Tikal. The site is also well known as being the largest, as well as, being home to some of the earliest temple sites of the Maya. Upon returning to the Resort, we spent our remaining time relaxing by the pool that overlooks the Belizian jungles and eating gourmet foods from the Resort's steak and seafood restaurant, of which gets it's beef from their cattle ranch located several miles from the property. One of the head waiters, Ragner, was always available to answer any questions concerning the many wines and delicacies that the restaurant had to offer. We also relaxed in the Stork Club that boasts both an outstanding "bar menu," but also a scaled down version of the main restaurant's menu. For maximum relaxation, a stop by the spa for a massage is a must, as we indulged on a magnificent couples massage that took over an hour to fully awake back to the real world! To sum up the staff, grounds, accomidations, and facilities and services in one word that is offered by this Resort, phenomenal. Typically after some time on vacation, it feels that it is time to go home, however, for the first time in memory, we DID NOT want to go home, as the staff and vibe that this Hotel provided was one of pure relaxation. On our final morning, we enjoyed breakfast over-looking the jungle, watching the iguanas and various species of toucans soaking up the early sun, and devouring a last four-star meal. Our impromptu guide, Ted, then got us back to the international airport where we reluctantly parted ways from our home away from home in Belize, The San Ignacio Resort Hotel. Thank you all again and until next time!

Room Tip: Any room at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel will be a winner, as we peeked into many of the rooms while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iliketoscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

In the middle of San Ignacio is the beautiful San Ignacio Resort, steps away from town, yet peaceful and quiet, adjacent to lush gardens, with opportunities for bird watching, and morning walks. Very nice grounds and facilities, relaxing pool, friendly staff and top notch in customer service. You are welcomed with a cool refreshing drink, at the reception where staff remember you by name (even if several months have gone by since your last visit). All in all, can't go wrong with this property.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mlaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this luxurious resort. We were amazed by the friendly staff and service provided! The town of San Ignacio is also a very friendly and safe town. The resort is within walking distance from the downtown area and market. Easy walk into town, but a bit of a climb up the hill? There are taxis if needed, but we never needed them. Private rooms with hammocks, great water pressure, and clean! The restaurant is a 5 star dining experience! Various wildlife can be seen off the balcony overlooking the pool. The food and drinks were amazing with drinkable filtered water. Wi-Fi available and all necessities you could imagine. The staff treated us like family and we had the time of our lives! We have traveled the world extensively and have never stayed at such a hospitable resort like this! Definitely coming back and staying longer next time!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Property: San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title HOTEL OF THE YEAR 2016/2012, RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016, and HOSPITALITY AWARD 2015 by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing