We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

San Ignacio Hotel exceeded our expectations. Great location five minutes walk from the center of town. Extremely friendly and helpful staff -- at the front desk, in the bar and restaurants, housekeepers, etc. The concierge (Oneil) was particularly helpful to us. The pool is beautiful and the environment very relaxed for kids. Restaurant excellent as well. The "iguana project" they have is also a fun addition.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is amazing, the bedding a dream come true...the staff, so incredibly nice. I highly recommend the Iguana tour, Breakfast with the Birds and the Medicinal plants tour...the guides are amazing people who are truly passionate about the material they are presenting. All of the staff is incredibly kind and helpful. The pool was gorgeous, the food spectacular.

Room Tip: Every room I observed was extremely nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the San Ignacio Resort in February, 2013. It was a delightful stay. The location is so convenient - within San Ignacio but you would have no idea you are in town as the grounds are so tropical and private. The staff are very friendly and really went out of their way to make us comfortable. Mary and Lacey were exceptionally helpful and Mary's personality is so bubbly and professional. Aaron, the bartender, took really good care of us and we loved our "Welcome Cocktail!" Reuben and Amaris were also wonderful to us. I can't say enough about how accomodating all of the staff were - always with cheerful greetings and asking what they could do to make our stay enjoyable.

The food was fantastic - I love Belizean food so I was in heaven. The Bar Menu was especially good, as were the breakfast foods, coffee and fruit.

The rooms (we stayed in three different rooms as our itinerary has us leaving and coming back) and all three rooms were exceptionally comfortable. My husband and I would comment each morning on how comfortable the beds were - I even inquired about what they use as a mattress because I wanted one for home! The rooms were nice and quiet.

Loved the bathrooms - very large showers and plenty of space to move around. The soaps were locally made and had a wonderful tropical scent. Also, flowers and tropical leaves were used to decorate their bathroom. I felt like I was royalty! Also, very comfortable bathrobes were there for us to use. And, I loved having a safe in the room so we could leave our passport, etc. while we were off on excursions.

The staff booked an excursion for us with Cayo Adventure Tours - to the ATM Cave. Oh my goodness, this was the most amazing trip! Our guide for the day, Martin, was so informative and taught us so much about the Mayans, the local flora and fauna and about the cave itself. He took such wonderful care of us and I think we had the best tour guide with Martin!

We also wanted to visit the Orange Gallery Gift Shop for some gifts and the front desk staff were happy to arrange a driver to take us there and to take us to several other shops. Whatever they arranged for us always went smoothly and with excellent service.

The hotel is beautiful. It is comfortable, classy, but very friendly. But for us, the best part was the service - the staff all act like they love their jobs and can't wait to do whatever they can to make you comfortable. We loved our stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in three different rooms and they all were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetheriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The San Ignacio Resort Hotel is a class of hotel un-matched in Belize. Service, Food, Staff, Rooms, Amenities and the general Atmosphere of the hotel is relaxing and warm. Check -in was professional, restaurant staff attentive and attention to detail is refreshing. Loved the Hotel and will be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMHVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

From the time we checked in to the time we checked out. the staff were welcoming and super friendly. We had a wonderful room with a garden balcony. Our king sized bed was very comfortable, and the bedding was of high quality. We had a number of meals at the hotel, all were good with the exception of the fried chicken which was overcooked. That however was an isolated incident. A number of tours were offered right from the hotel. While we did not utilize the tennis court, it was well maintained.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony have an appealing view, while the other rooms face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim and Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I am originally from Belize. I have been back and forth regularly since 2001. I was given an oppotunity to go to another resort, but my answer was I know how San Ignacio Resort Hotel
is and I don't have to go anywhere else. The workers were so friendly yet very professional.
What I like the most is every-where you turn there is a smile on the faces of the employees. A smile might not be the same to everyone but it means a lot to me.
In spite of maybe the employees hardship there is always a smile and I like that. A smile goes along
way for me even if the person does not smile back. A smile tells me "I appreciate you and you
are very important to me". Even the owner smiles. thank you San Ignascio. I have not tried the Spa or Fitness center, but maybe next time I will.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margarita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I recently got married at the San Ignacio resort Hotel and had the most incredible experience. The flowers, the food, the staff, the management and the accommodations were more than we expected. The guests who came from all over the world for our wedding were blown away and so were we, in fact, they are still talking about the lamb kebabs. Mrs. Paulita and her team really made our dream wedding a reality!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoyGitana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
3.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
841 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
640 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
141 reviews
11.1 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
445 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: $202 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title HOTEL OF THE YEAR 2016/2012, RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016, and HOSPITALITY AWARD 2015 by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing