We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Time And A Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Time And A Great Location”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Belize and it was made wonderful by the staff and the comforts of the San Ignacio Resort Hotel. The food was great and the service was wonderful. The entire staff was friendly, engaging and everyone's goal was to try and meet our needs and make us happy. We felt as though we were among family. Even our last minute changes in plans were accommodated by the staff as they endeavored to meet everyone's needs. Though we went touring and had a number of great experiences, my wife and I agreed that the one thing that made this vacation a stand-out was the San Ignacio Resort Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave68_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    180
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
234
367
45
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Lovely hotel with all the amenities a traveler needs! Good food, great service with a smile, clean and comfortable rooms and a lobby and restaurant that seamlessly open to the outsie world with views of the jungle and river...what more could one ask for. What a great place to stay in Cayo. The smiles and friendliness of the staff were authentic; one could not help feeling like this is a place you don't want to leave. I highly recommend San Ignacio Hotel to launch your adventures in Cayo or just explore the quaint and lovely town of San Ignacio. A great experience!

Room Tip: Jungle view rooms are ideal, but all are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adreanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2013

There are things that we experience, that we never want to remember;
There are things that we experience, that we hope others never go thru.
But, there are some things I have experienced, that I pray and hope that everyone I know and dont know, for a matter of fact, would experience BELIZE!
Paticularly, CAYO DISTRICT, SAN IGNACIO TOWN, HOTEL-RESORT!
I've travel to more than a few places, and met more than a feew people.
But, I have been somewhere, that when it is time to leave - you just dont want to leave . . . . BELIZE, CAYO DISTRICT, SAN IGNACIO, HOTEL-RESORT . . . IS THAT KIND OF EXPERIENCE.
I am in love with the beautiful country; I am in love with the beautiful people; I am in love with the beautiful hospitality; I am in love with the beautiful feeling of life & freedom! Freedom to breathe clean air, natural habitat, and full forest affect.
I have been affected from my visits to San Ignacio and the Hotel-Resort SO MUCH, that it is my place of choice to travel three times a year or more.
I am currently looking to invest in a home/hut/dwellings or land; so I can come and not be in a hurry to return to artificials of statemanship!
THANKS BELIZE!!!

Room Tip: I have stayed in every area of the resort and i dont know of any area/room greater than the other; B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMMY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
295 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It's not easy finding an ideal hotel in the jungles of Belize. The area located central to many of the attractions--Cayo, Belmopan, San Ignacio, etc.--isn't exactly developed like a "first-world" country. Sure there are a few high end jungle resorts but some of them don't even have AC, are really expensive, and require a long off road ride to get to (trust me, you have to drive over a lot of rough terrain to get to the fun attractions--the last thing I'd want is an EXTRA off-road ride to get back to my hotel). After exhaustive research, we went with the San Ignacio Resort Hotel. The hotel accomodations by normal US standards is objectively 3 stars at best, but the combination of other conveniences and customer service makes up for it. I'm holding it to a standard relative to expectations.

The SIRH is exceptionally located for seeing the area attractions. You are in San Ignacio, but up a hill so you are detached from the "downtown" part of San Ignacio which we found to be mildly sketchy. A trip to Tikal is a two hour ride to the west, ATM is an hour away, Jaguar Paw is 90 min away, and Caracol is about 90 min away. Cahal Pech is right there and the Iguana Project (awesome!) is right on site. You're driving to the good stuff no matter what, but San Ignacio is very central which is key. It's all paved roads to get to the hotel.

We stayed in the spa suite converted to a family suite. It had a nice long balcony facing the jungle and three full size beds (aka "doubles"). The room was nothing fancy but it was clean, had comfortable beds, had a great working air conditioner (which was non-negotiable in our search for a hotel), and had no bugs whatsoever in the room. The only downside to the room was that our shower water ran low on hot water after 2 people used it so the other two had to take to luke warm showers. The cleaning services were prompt and there is an evening turn down service.

What sets the SIRH apart really is its customer service. We arranged for van service from the airport and shuttle service to the water taxi terminal outbound with a stop at the Belize Zoo. It was very easy and convenient. Although their concierge can arrange day trips for you it is must more cost effective to find a tour guide in advance. On arrival you get a tour of the grounds and welcome drinks. There is someone at the desk 24/7 and they are all very friendly and really do their best to accomodate all your needs and questions. We ate most of our meals at the Running W steakhouse onsite and really liked it. You can't beat eating on the outdoor patio with its views, but they will bring your meal anywhere you want it. If you want room service, no problem, if you want to eat by the pool, no problem. The pool itself is not heated and was rather cold, but it was clean and refreshing. The hotel also had very reliable wifi, and a computer for use. They can also arrange spa services like in room massages.

A big plus is that they have the Iguana Conservation project right on site--see tripadvisor attraction reviews for this. They run tours every hour from 8 am to 5 pm. It takes less than an hour to see, but it's a really fun quick thing to do. It's a great eco project and the animals are beautiful. We really enjoyed it.

Overall, the SIRH really is an excellent hotel to base the jungle part of your vacation in Belize. I was impressed with their range of services and amenities and their customer service. They have everything you need for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: you can't beat the "spa suite" for a family with kids. they stick a third double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wskungfuclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

One can pay 12 BLZ $ and hang out at the pool. What a deal! The pool was refreshing and towels are provided. There is a changing room that is clean and convenient. There was no pool side service. I decided to stay for dinner for a treat. The price was more than what I have been paying but the food was very good and the amount of food was so much I have lunch for tomorrow. The staff was very attentive and answered questions about the menu with good knowledge.

This is where the royals chose to stay for their recent visit to Belize.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draePDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The staff was professional. The place was clean. The bathrooms are a blessing. The restaurant food was delicious. The iguana farm tour is a must see! Unfortunately the butterfly tour isn't there anymore contrary to what the guide book said.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Each time I have the great fortune to stay at the SIRH, I am even more impressed. The staff are so friendly and helpful. They are always asking, "Miss, is there anything you need?" The food is the best ever! My favorite is Cayo Bollo, followed by the Mediterranean Salad and a wonderful Coconut pie....

Service is impeccable and that view - need I say more.


The SIRH is my FAVORITE home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Property: San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title HOTEL OF THE YEAR 2016/2012, RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016, and HOSPITALITY AWARD 2015 by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing