We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value for the money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Log Cab-Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Log Cab-Inn
Ranked #14 of 29 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good value for the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Log Cat-Inn & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff (especially Arnold) went out of their way to take care of us, even to the point of bringing 2 comfortable arm chairs into our cabin, since I have back problems. The kitchen staff was a little slow, but very pleasant & the food was of good quality. The pool was well-maintained, as was the patio area. The grounds were also taken care of. Our cabin was very basic, but the shower was good & the air conditioner & ceiling fan worked fine. I would have liked to have a better quality mattress but hey-this is Belize! The pillows were very hard -- get new ones!! The cabin was kept clean & towels replaced when necessary. The location was perfect for exploring western Belize. A car is a must!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanneOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location is just out of San Ignacio and is quite beautiful and quite. The price is very reasonable and the sleep quality was good. They do need to finish some of the units with windows. the food was very good if a bit slow. I would definitely recommend this location to anyone visiting the Cayo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal Town, Belize
Level Contributor
344 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Generally we have to say it has not improved over time. We stayed here 10 years ago and improvements are still underway so it can probably get better. Price wise it is reasonable but comfort wise it lacks in regards to the bed and pillows. Some cabins - as in our friends - have sealed windows so only the AC can be used to cool the place down so the noise is incessant. The shower works fine but be prepared to wait for warm water - what the heck, it is Central America so who needs hot water anyway. Bring binoculars and a hearing aid to watch TV - small screen and set up in a far far corner. Road noise in the AM but if you come from a city this should be no big deal - but it is not entirely peaceful.
The grounds are very attractive although the roadbeds need resurfacing. Upgrading of structures and the pool - which was under repair when we arrived - and Iris was good enough to give us a heads-up a few days in advance regards the pool - is underway.
Food and beverage service was limited but then again tourism seems to have slowed down so keeping full inventories and stocking all items on the menu is probably not practical.
WiFi - is not yet available throughout the site and is presently limited to the main reception/office area - but it will soon be made available all over according to one of the attendants on site.
The cook and attendants are all very attentive but the owner was nowhere to be found during our single nights stay - unfortunate as I thought she might allow us a free drink since the pool was out of commission - just kidding.
Overall, it is an OK place, not high end but more on the average side to be sure.

Room Tip: Might ask for a room without sealed windows in case you prefer fresh air as opposed to constant AC n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our group of 13 stayed for one week. The students were all in one large cabin with 4 bedrooms and bathrooms while the faculty shared a smaller cabin with 2 beds. Rooms are clean and quaint. Fresh towels every day. To get to each cabin there are tropical stone paths that are beautiful. The privacy is lovely and very safe. Free wifi is accessible at the main office area with a large screened meeting room. The dining area is covered and off the pool area with again lovely tropical views. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. We will take groups back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beccashope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. I'm giving this place 3 stars because though there were a few things that were negative, overall I think it is a nice place to stay for the money. When researching San Ignacio accommodations I had a hard time finding something that was reasonably priced and not a dump. It is not a dump - The place is on lovely grounds - quiet and apart from the city. I have to say that it is further from San Ignacio than indicated - it is about 2 miles, and it would not be a road that you would want to walk on at night as it is a rural highway. Daytime walking is fine, but just be aware that it will take about 45 minutes to walk into San Ignacio. A cab is easy enough and will cost you $5.00 (American), so that is what we chose to do after walking the distance one time.
Our cabin was small, but cute. The bathroom is VERY small, and it is a little awkward because the door opens into the small bathroom instead of out to the room. The bed was not good - too soft and you kind of sink into the middle of it. Pillows were way too thick. Also, the maid service forgot to clean our room on our second day there, and we had to wait about an hour or so after a long day at Tikal to have them clean the room so we could shower. On a positive note, the food is delicious - we had breakfast every day and they are willing to get up very early to make you breakfast so you can go on any day-long tours. We also had one lunch and one dinner there, as well as drinks a couple times. The pina colladas were awesome, and I ordered a chicken quesadilla meal twice. Iris is very accommodating and will respond to whatever problem you may have. If you don't mind rustic (with rustic comes risk of bugs, of course) and being a little far from town, it is a nice place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aries0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

These cabins are very rustic and basic, but they are clean. The scenery is very nice. The service is great and gracious. There is one building where you can access free wi-if if you want or need it. The dining area was open on the sides so you felt like you were sitting in a ramada. The food was good. Piña coladas were tasty, made with fresh pineapple. Walking paths up to the dining area, etc. are a little steep and the facility is not really wheelchair friendly, if that is a consideration.

Room Tip: There is no spa or fitness room, so they weren't terrible, just not existent. Rooms closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpballi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a rustic but clean series of cabins set on a beautiful rural site, The cabins are basic but clean and tidy, It is a little off the main highway just to the west of San Ignacio. There is a nice, reasonably priced restaurant and bar as well as a pool. The restaurant meals are very nice and the service was great, There is minimal road noise and the noise that you do hear is usually birds, geckos and frogs, We have sighted several squirrels here too which was nice, The greatest asset is definitely the staff. They are so helpful and whatever one asks is done immediately. They have made our stay a real pleasure and we would certainly return to Log Cab-Inns,

Room Tip: All cabins are spread out over the beautiful grounds, The main difference is the distance to the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckearton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.0 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
2.2 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#7 of 29 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windy Hill Resort
Windy Hill Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Log Cab-Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Log Cab-Inn

Property: The Log Cab-Inn
Address: Mile 68 Western Highway, San Ignacio 501, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family owned and operated facility for that personal touch that makes all the difference. We are a family who has lived in the Cayo area for three generations. Enjoy conversing with our guests about our background and exchanging stories about Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Log Cab-Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Log Cab-Inn Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing