We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
Review of Windy Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windy Hill Resort
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The pictures posted on the Windy Hill site do not do this place justice. It is in a stunning location and the little bungalows are fabulous. Fresh white linens, beautiful wood, comfortable beds and a hammock with a view. And all for a steal! The food was excellent and all of the employees were delightful. We spent one evening eating dinner at the bar just the two of us chatting with Amin the bartender and we learned all kinds of interesting stuff from him. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiep1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    103
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
83
132
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taylor bc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had an amazing stay . The grounds were beautiful and plants and trees were identified which was nice. We loved the pool and the view fro. It. was only a $10 bz trip to san ignicio . It was so vlose but quiet. They organized everything for us trip to Tikal with guide ( Paulo was great). Took us to Zoo and to Belize city to catch the water taxi so were very accommodating. The staff was very good especially we were very fond of Amin on there staff he was very pleasant and helpful also Terry one of the managers was great. We didn't have a pool view but still had great view. Our room was simple and little out dated but fine. Would highly recommend. It was a great experience for a first vacation and first stop in Belize.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had the mose wonderful experience at the Windy Hill Resort. We were met at the airport by "Bean" and transported to the resort in a very comfortable van. On arriving we met with Terry and John Paul Hales the managers of the resort and shown to our cottage #16 I think it is the best location for views on the property. The room was a very generous size and the king size beds were WONDERFUL. The food at the resort was excellant along with the service of Emil and Amin. Tours were set up by Terry in the offfice and the went off just as planned. Amust is the "ATM" cave tour it is awesome. Have Terry book "EN" as you guide if he is available. Tikal is the trip to the mian ruins and is not to be missed. We went with Pablo and He to was GREAT.
I hope this helps future travelers to this area.

Room Tip: We loved #16 beautiful view of the pool and sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We went back last weekend....and combined the stay with a trip to Tikal. It's was wonderful. The hotel arranged a tour of Tikal which was good value for money. The rooms now have wifi which was an improvement on my last visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in one of the bungalows directly across from the pool, which was the nicest part of the property. The cottage was nothing like the photos. We were disappointed and glad we only stayed one night. However, it was on the road to the Ruins, which was nice. It is a bit far to San Ignacio--definitely a drive, not a walk. The beds were terrible, hard and creeky. Very loud A/C's, but better than no A/C! We felt that we overpaid by booking early. If we had waited and booked within a couple of weeks the pricing would have been significantly lower. We were told that there is new ownership and less maintenance on the property, but we weren't impressed and were anxious to pay our bill and get on with our day. Appeared to have many vacancies during out time there (mid August).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mermaid0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was the best resort, walked in without Reservation, got the best room by the best pool ever. They arranged most amazing ATM cave trip ever and Horse back riding, We also went to the Mayan ruins right down the way and they offer guided trips to Guatemala which others at the resort did and were amazed by.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing no bad spot We were lucky enough to be right in front of the pool which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe7408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed in San Ignacio for four nights and Windy Hills was the perfect place for me and my two friends. The cabins were wonderful and in a beautiful setting. We only spent one day round the pool (recovering from our adventure at ATM cave and a day's horse riding) but it was the perfect place to relax as it is very peaceful, although this may be because August is a slow month for tourists in Belize.

We ate dinner in the hotel a couple of times; once in the restaurant which was delicious but slightly expensive for us as we were on a budget. The second time we took advantage of the cheaper alternative of eating in the bar and shared a huge plate of chicken nachos and some chicken wings. For the other two dinners we took a taxi ($10 BZD) to the town and ate at two restaurants which had been recommended by locals: Erva's and Hannah's. Both were excellent and it allowed us to have a bit of variety as well as saving a bit of money. However, it would not be essential to make such trips into town. There was a good selection for breakfast at Windy Hills as well.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, particularly barman Tony who gave us some great recommendations for our further travels to the Cayes.

4 days was about right for our group due to the nature of the trip; we wanted to explore as much as possible and only had two weeks in Belize. However, I could have easily spent a week there if I was having a lazy, relaxing holiday. You can also organise a number of tours from this point as well. We booked ours before we went but I'm pretty sure Windy Hills are able to organise them for you too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lw128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
1.6 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Hill Resort

Property: Windy Hill Resort
Address: Graceland Ranch | Mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windy Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Rivers, Maya Temples, Gentle Mountain Breezes...Service Extraordinaire! Located in the foothills of the Maya Mountains, the most diverse and beautiful area of Belize, Windy Hill Resort & Tour Company provides all the modern conveniences in a lush tropical setting and just minutes away from the archaeological sites and other popular attractions in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windy Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windy Hill Hotel San Ignacio
Windy Hill San Ignacio
Windy Hill Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing