We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windy Hill Resort
Nearby Hotels
$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
$224
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Ignacio Resort Hotel(San Ignacio)
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Venus Hotel(San Ignacio)
$47
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$545
$408
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveler rating
156
107
40
17
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
107
40
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall gymfitness roomhot watervery nice place to staymayan ruinsfront porchbelize cityclose to townour entire staybeautiful groundson sitebook toursguatemalan borderair conditionertikalfanstrips
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 327 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was the best resort, walked in without Reservation, got the best room by the best pool ever. They arranged most amazing ATM cave trip ever and Horse back riding, We also went to the Mayan ruins right down the way and they offer guided trips to Guatemala which others at the resort did and were amazed by.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing no bad spot We were lucky enough to be right in front of the pool which i recommend.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe7408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed in San Ignacio for four nights and Windy Hills was the perfect place for me and my two friends. The cabins were wonderful and in a beautiful setting. We only spent one day round the pool (recovering from our adventure at ATM cave and a day's horse riding) but it was the perfect place to relax as it is very peaceful, although this may be because August is a slow month for tourists in Belize.

We ate dinner in the hotel a couple of times; once in the restaurant which was delicious but slightly expensive for us as we were on a budget. The second time we took advantage of the cheaper alternative of eating in the bar and shared a huge plate of chicken nachos and some chicken wings. For the other two dinners we took a taxi ($10 BZD) to the town and ate at two restaurants which had been recommended by locals: Erva's and Hannah's. Both were excellent and it allowed us to have a bit of variety as well as saving a bit of money. However, it would not be essential to make such trips into town. There was a good selection for breakfast at Windy Hills as well.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, particularly barman Tony who gave us some great recommendations for our further travels to the Cayes.

4 days was about right for our group due to the nature of the trip; we wanted to explore as much as possible and only had two weeks in Belize. However, I could have easily spent a week there if I was having a lazy, relaxing holiday. You can also organise a number of tours from this point as well. We booked ours before we went but I'm pretty sure Windy Hills are able to organise them for you too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lw128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We brought a group of 45 people to work at Santa Elena Primary School and then relaxed in the evenings at Windy Hill. I give them 10 stars for service, lodging, and food. The staff was more than helpful and went above and beyond what was expected of them. Terry and John Paul, the managers, are fantastic people who will do anything to make your experience the best! We have become friends with them and many of the rest of the staff as well. We are returning in 2014 with another group of 45 people. Where will we stay? Windy Hill, no question about that!

Room Tip: A/C is a must to get a good nights rest. Windy Hills has plenty of A/C cottages, but make sure you request one.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deacon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We are a family of six who stayed at Windy Hills. What a great place to stay! The beds were incredibly comfortable. I was worried about our safety when we left; no need to worry. I never felt more safe than being there (security guards at night even). The food was phenomenal: freshly picked fruits; everything made from scratch; incredible desserts. There is air conditioning, yet we found that if we only turned our air conditioning on for 1/2 hour at night, we were good for the rest of the night (this was in June) because of the oscillating fans on the ceiling. Very clean cottages. Front porch hammock to watch the stars at night. The staff was so nice. I felt like they were more of a part of our large group as opposed to working there. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: If you want a great view, reserve a room at the top of the hill. Looking for something closer? Cabin 13 is great for a family! Stone pathways that you can trip on, so if you are unstable on your feet, reserve the cottages closest to the office. No matter what room you choose, you will be happy!
Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed at Windy Hill Resort about two years ago and was so impressed by this place! When we brought a group of 45 people to Belize on a mission trip this June, there wasn't even a question of where to stay....It was Windy Hill, of course! The Resort is safe, the food is incredible and safe, and the service is unsurpassed by any other. The staff went out of their way to make all of us feel welcome and saw to our every need. And did I mention how incredible the food is? The cabins are clean and cool at night (air conditioning), and the pooI was clean and refreshing after a long day of working on our mission projects. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. I give Windy Hill nothing but the highest rating, and I would highly recommend this resort to anyone while traveling to Belize!

Room Tip: We had 45 people staying here from our group, and all of the cottages were great!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews