We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windy Hill Resort
Nearby Hotels
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Ignacio Resort Hotel(San Ignacio)
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
$224
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Midas Belize(San Ignacio)(Great Value!)
$64
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maya Mountain Lodge(San Ignacio)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Log Cab-Inn(San Ignacio)
$118
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$545
$408
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveler rating
156
107
40
17
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
107
40
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall gymfitness roomhot watervery nice place to staymayan ruinsfront porchbelize cityclose to townour entire staybeautiful groundson sitebook toursguatemalan borderair conditionertikalfanstrips
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 327 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. Bungalows are very comfortable and clean. Bed covers were a bit too warm and the lighter weight blanket was too small for the double bed. We had difficulty getting a warm shower on a couple of days as there is a trick to balancing the water pressure and the temperature.

The staff are amazingly friendly and eager to meet our needs. They added much to our feeling of being at "home". Food is quite nice and good portions. Office staff were very helpful in organizing our pre-booked excursions and worked with us to match our schedule to that of other guests so we got a refund when other guests could join us.

The pool is lovely and the overall environment is very peaceful and pretty.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Consultcinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Accommodations are more than adequate but not luxurious. Pleased to see the bedding had been updated since our last stay here two years ago. I always travel with my sleep sack to keep away "bed cooties" but felt no need to use it here. The staff always went above and beyond to meet our every need. We prebooked our excursions prior to leaving the US. Our one stipulation was to not do the Jaguar Cave Tubing on the same day as a cruise ship was in port. Windy Hill arranged all our excursions around this request. Don't miss the the ATM cave - truly amazing. Do miss the Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve unless you want to ride on a bumpy dusty road for more than an hour one way just to glimpse the 1000' waterfall from a great distance. The Rio Frio pools and Big Rock were a lot of fun. There aren't really any pines in the reserve of any size. Having visited many Mayan ruins previously we did not include them this trip but they are well worth seeing. The bag lunches leave a lot to be desired so pack some nabs or protein bars. The resort food was fantastic. You must try the chicken soup! The staff was happy to bring me anything off the menu at any time. My favorite was a plate of fruit - had one at every meal! The grounds are lovely. I would love to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed right in front of the infinity pool. What a beautiful view!!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvluv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We blew out of Belize City as fast as we could and extended our stat at Windy Hill. The staff is the best in town. Always smiling mostly Mayas with great pride in the best service possible for their guests. A bit of a hike to our cabin which you will not want to leave! (Windy HILL) but it was good because of all of the walking we did at nearby locations. Make you guide reservations with Hector. He is absolutely fantastic. Very knowledgable and kind. We also went to Tecal from this location very easily. They have a gym but you will not use it if you walk to your cabin a couple of times a day. The restaurant is good and the staff is superior. So is the bartender and bar. Don't forget the front desk staff very helpful. You'll love it and the price was within our budget.

Room Tip: Mid way up the hill is best. but if you are into ruins you'll need the exercise. They have a pool but we were too busy to use it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were at this resort from Jan. 25 - 30th, 2013 and the staff and accommodations were superb. The staff will do everything in their power to help make your stay as relaxing or exciting as you want it. When we arrived we had plans for a day trip to the Caracol Ruins but our desk clerk suggested we postpone the trip one day because of the weather. Not that the weather was going to be extremely bad just that there was a chance of rain for the day. We took him up on the suggestion and we were very happy with the outcome. We got to spend an unexpected day touring San Ignacio and Santa Elena and the next day completed out trip to the Ruins. Awe inspiring!!!! The pictures cannot do the resort or the ruins justice. Even with a little rain and cloud we still came away with wonderful tans. Thank you Windy Hills you helped to make the start of our Belizian adventure absolutely smooth and a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Our cabana was closest to the pool and we couldn't have been happier. The resort is very quiet and the cabanas are far enough away from each other that no sounds are usually heard from your neighbors.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

On a recent trip to Belize we spent 3 days/nights at Windy Hill Resort. I was under the impression we'd be walking distance from the "downtown" area, but with the heat and humidity, we weren't keen on the walking idea. Instead, we opted for cab rides back and forth, which were about $5 USD each.

As for the actual grounds of Windy Hill, there is a front office, which also houses a small gift shop. This front area is where you'll be able to access wi-fi. Across a small road from the front office, you'll find a walkway that leads to the restaurant, the bar, the gym, the pool and the cabins.

To be honest, we didn't explore the grounds much, we were basically out and about all day and came back to the room to sleep. I can just say that the grounds are peaceful and there is a tropical feel to the property.

The structure we stayed in had 2 separate rooms. Our room was clean and simple. It included two full size beds with a ceiling fan over each bed. There was a nightstand between the beds and lights above the small headboards of each bed. There was also a TV across the room, which we watched at night. No phones, by the way, which is great! Near the bathroom there was a small closet where you could store your bags and hang a few items. The bathroom was very simple: toilet, sink, mirror over the sink and a shower. Nothing fancy by any means but definitely served its purpose.

Lucky for us, our neighbors (the room next door), were great! We shared a front porch with them, although, again, we didn't spend much time on the grounds. Each of the two rooms in the structure had a hammock in the front porch area, where you could relax if you wanted.

Don't forget to bring your insect repellent! We had no problems with bugs inside the room, other than a spider, but while using the wi-fi near the front office we were bitten repeatedly by little mosquitoes.

We had breakfast at the restaurant on the grounds once and the food was fine. For dinner, however, we opted to go into town to try different restaurants.

As for customer service, everyone who we dealt with at Windy Hill was absolutely fabulous!! I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews