We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort, Excellent Service, Awesome Vacation.”
Review of Windy Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windy Hill Resort
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Great Resort, Excellent Service, Awesome Vacation.”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I found out about this place on Trip Advisor and decided to book because they offered all of the adventures I wanted to do. It was a little more expensive than the places we stayed at along the coast but I think the price was fair compared to other resorts in San Ignacio. The food was good, our adventures were amazing, and the privacy was great. Maybe it was just the down season but it felt like we had the whole resort to ourselves, which was great. They even upgraded us to an air conditioned room. The property is beautiful and so is San Ignacio. Book at Windy Hill for a wonderful stay on the east side of Belize. Book in the down season for a better value. PS: If you plan of staying a few nights the pool is a great way to relax on a day off from adventures.

Room Tip: AC was sweet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJJ206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    103
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
83
132
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My wife and I took this trip because we wanted to visit the Mayan ruins. We had not really investigated Belize. We were surprised to find out that they speak English as their first language. It was very safe and we had so much to do, we couldn't do it all. I highly recommend it to anyone thinking of going. The Windy Hills team were very helpful and made the trip unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryantblackwelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

From both the side-by-side rooms to the stand alone cabins, you cant go wrong. It was a fabulous location with all you could ask for. A restaurant, bar, pool, and access to San Ignacio is everything you should look for in a hotel. The view from the pool is amazing, they have beautiful landscaping, and all the necessary ammenities. Staff was friendly. Amin is an amazing server and bartender, working tirelessly to make sure that the guests have a great time and fabulous service- with a smile. Thank you Amin.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bushnell620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver,Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We had to flee Cahal Pech and found this by chance, we have chosen the economy room, compared to C P luxury, simple, could be upgraded somewhat, the cabanas are very nice as we have seen. Excelent staff who like to please and are very helpful. Nice pool and bar& restaurant to relax. We stayed for 3 nights and could have stayed longer. We had hot water, but who needs hot water by 85F?

Room Tip: check availibilty and check out the rooms on arr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Our 8 day trip turned into 10 days while airfare shopping and we needed to find a place to stay for the extra 2 days. Since 8 would be on Ambergris Caye, we located chose Windy Hill in the Cayo district to get a different experience and be close to the ruins at Caracol. My husband and I have traveled in Central America frequently. We were traveling with our brother and sister-in-law who had never experienced the area. We were all thrilled with the location, friendly service, and reasonable prices. We took a trip to Caracol with a very informed guide that was arranged by the office. Caracol is quite a trip up and back, so no the way back, the guide stopped at the pools in Rio so we could take a swim. We went from bustling busy life to rest and relaxtion in less than a few hours upon landing. We will indeed stay at Windy Hill again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamilt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stumbled upon Windy Hill after spending our first night in downtown San Ignacio--which was OK, but the town is crowded & bustling & hectic and not exactly a place to relax after touring around Cayo. Windy Hill Resort is exactly the opposite: just outside of town, quiet, tranquil, scenic, romantic, relaxing--and an AMAZING value. We actually heard an ad on the radio during an exceedingly bumpy ride back from Caracol. I was dreading staying overnight in town again...but I was wary of the prices they were advertising given the amenities they were claiming to offer (the infinity pool was what REALLY attracted me...) But we checked it out and were so pleasantly surprised. The cabins are really cute and very comfortable and clean and private. There's a cute front porch on each and they have the most comfortable hammocks of any I tried in Belize (and I tried many...) The staff was helpful, friendly and efficient. And the private, expansive, lovely grounds were like an oasis to us after a day of driving, exploring, and climbing ruins, etc. We chose an air-conditioned cabin and paid about $85 for the night--a really great value given what you get. A non-AC cabin (these are 2 connected cabins rather than single stand alone cabins...but the experience is basically the same) is something like $50--an INCREDIBLE DEAL--and I found that even in June the AC wasn't really that necessary as there are fans in all the rooms that keep them cool enough. Plus, THE POOL! It was a real treat to be able to splash and lounge around after a long day...and the next morning. I wish we could have stayed longer--we didn't get to take advantage of all the tours and activities they offer. So, we'll have to do that next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

stayed with wife and girls 7 and 9. Very nice pool. Very cool private cottages. 2 full beds each and a bath. Had AC. Fans over beds - nice. Restaurant was very good in my opinion. Not gourmet but tasty. Go with the seafood as it is awesome in Belize. Snapper rules. Did the drive to Tikal. With border crossing, about 2:45 there and a little less on the way back as the crossing was quicker. VERY WORTH IT.

Next day did horseback riding right at Windy Hill. This was excellent. The family loved it. Hot but fun and then back to the pool

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoodgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
1.6 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Hill Resort

Property: Windy Hill Resort
Address: Graceland Ranch | Mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windy Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Rivers, Maya Temples, Gentle Mountain Breezes...Service Extraordinaire! Located in the foothills of the Maya Mountains, the most diverse and beautiful area of Belize, Windy Hill Resort & Tour Company provides all the modern conveniences in a lush tropical setting and just minutes away from the archaeological sites and other popular attractions in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windy Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windy Hill Hotel San Ignacio
Windy Hill San Ignacio
Windy Hill Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing