We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in the jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #2 of 34 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
southern california
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection in the jungle”
Reviewed April 27, 2010

My wife, nephew and his best friend stayed for 4 nights at Chaa Creek. I had stayed there 22 years ago, and there have been some improvements (spa, pool) but I am happy to say the flavor of the hotel has remained the same. It's a great place to bird watch, glide down a lazy river that's a 5 minute walk from our room, see a small but excellent museum, and observe morpho butterflys at their own hatchery on the grounds.

The staff are friendly, helpful, polite, and eager to help. The food is excellent, and used local produce to enhance flavor. Waking up in the morning to the sounds of the jungle is invigorating. They also have horse riding, and various free activities. Our guide Miguel took us to several adventures: Rio Frio cave, zip line, Rio On waterfalls and ponds, tubing inside a river that goes into an amazing cave, and Mayan ruins. His knowledge of flora and fauna was excellent.

Chaa creek is an excellent place to base your stay in Belize. it's about 1 1/2 hours away from the airport. Many of the attractions in Belize are spread out and take a while to get to. Chaa Creek is a wonderful place to return to after exploring this amazing country. I hope to return some day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjthediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    141
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
411
506
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We loved our stay at Chaa Creek. It was our first destination in Belize, and it was wonderful to have our driver waiting for us at the airport. After a pleasant drive west, we arrived at our cabana (#16) which was wheelchair accessible. Arriving in the room was wonderful: our towels were folded like swans on the beds. The rooms and bathrooms are really beautiful. We loved our outdoor shower and the fact that you can drink the water from the tap. The only bummer about our room was that it was near the bar, so we could hear music and people until the bar closed (maybe around 10 pm?). The food at the resort ranged from OK to really good. We loved the tortillas at breakfast, the drinks by the pool, and the lunch menu. Dinner was disappointing (bland), so we often ordered off the lunch menu. We loved the bird watching tours in the early AM, and the tour of the Mayan organic farm was interesting. We paddled down the river to San Ignacio (boring and hot). We liked our tour to Xunantunich, but our guide was just OK. We had a great time paddling at Barton's Creek caves. We lounged by the salt-water pool, and enjoyed drinks at the bar before dinner. The grounds are GORGEOUS, and we loved seeing howler monkeys, butterflies, and all kinds of toucans on the property. As a wheelchair user I needed a fair amount of help to get up the hilly terrain. There are two steps into the Dining Room and another couple into the bar area: the staff were happy to left me. I was able to access the pool through the towel room. The shower inside our bathroom was too narrow for me to access, but the outdoor shower worked well. Everyone was very willing to help. We met some interesting people and generally enjoyed the luxury of the resort. We especially enjoyed chatting with the owner. We picked up that they might have a booking problem: they knew I used a wheelchair, but had us move from one room to another after the first night (the rooms were identical, but the first night we had the access the room by crossing someone else's outdoor seating area). We heard a number of other guests complain that the hotel had messed up their arrival dates, and one family had to stay at the 'camp' for one night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abh345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

There is no nightlife at Chaa Creek and very little interaction between guests. The rooms are rather basic, no air-conditioning (there are no glass windows, only screens), no television and no refrigerator. The lack of a locking door is an issue, however a small safe (about 6"x18"x12") is available in the room for wallets and cameras. The variety of food is limited and is not included in the bill (I feel obligated to mention that every member of my group was taken ill by the end of our stay, but this could have been simply due to the fact that we were not used to the types of food served).
On the other hand, the staff is nice (though a candy bar did disappear from my room while I was gone) and it's a beautiful area (other than the humidity and bugs). Internet access is available, but only from two exceptionally slow computers.
The "expeditions" scheduled from Chaa Creek, however, were excellent. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. He knew the right times and places to go to avoid tourist traffic and provided a large amount of information regarding animals, history and other interesting things.

Unfortunately the photos I have are too large to post to this site, but they included the long dirt road to reach the lodge, a gecko found in our room (I didn't get a picture of the snake) one of the cottages and a variety of wildlife.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photographer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Instead of skiing this year we decided to make the trip to Belize for Spring Break. After extensive research here at Trip Advisor and numerous other sites, we opted to vacation at Chaa Creek. We specifically decided to take their EcoKids Rainforest Adventure as it was jam-packed with activities for our kids (and us, too!) in the morning, rest and relaxation by the pool in the afternoons and a night activity, too. The package included all food, transfers and lodging for the four of us (our kids are ages 8 and 6). To say that this was one of our most memorable vacations is an understatement...it was simply fantastic!!!! We enjoyed treasure hunts, night hikes, Mayan ruins, canoeing, hiking and horseback riding. Our guides were all friendly, knowledgeable and caring. Through Robert, Aidan, David, Joe and Michauk, we gained a true appreciation for the rain forest an Belize! It wasn't just the guides that were great, but also Mick and Lucy, Ben, Oyneal, Miss Maria, and every other staff member we encountered. They were the epitome of customer-friendly. As for the food and drink...it was out of this world delicious!!! And the price, I think that's the best value of all. The package is 5days/4nights and we added one additional day to just hang out! You can check out prices on their website at www.chaacreek.com. All of this and howler monkeys, too, right outside our wonderfully decorated and sumptuous cottage. We later found out that we were the first family to take this tour, which quite frankly stunned us because it was absolutely perfect!

I can only hope we get to visit Chaa Creek once again in the not too distant future, and that in the interim, Mick and Lucy might consider writing a guide for all hospitality businesses to follow. Until then, we will think fondly of Chaa Creek and stay in contact with all the fantastic staff and friends we made along the way!

PS - The Spa was amazing too...get "The Coma" massage!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We recently stayed at the casitas here and loved it. The casitas are an affordable option to Chaa Creek's other more costly rooms. They are permanent tents located about a 10 minute walk from the main hotel. The area is run by Dolcio and his family and they are excellent hosts. The breakfasts and dinners that his wife prepared were delicious! We loved being in the tent at night and listening to the sounds of the jungle, which included a troop pf howler monkeys one night. Being able to take advantage of the hotel's other amenities, such as the guided walks, canoes and the pool, made our stay feel even more luxurious. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopeschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2010

My husband, 14 and 10 year old daughters stayed 7 nights in the casitas. We were joined by another family with similarly aged kids. We loved staying in the "camp," although it is really not camping, more like a cabin with a canvas roof. There were beds, linens and a porch with a hammock and chairs. It could be noisy at night, but that was from geckos, howler monkeys, cicadas and an occasional possum, all of which we enjoyed. Dosio and his family, the caretakers of the camp, took wonderful care of us. The food was great! Plus, we used the beautiful pool at the Lodge, and booked several excursions through the concierge there. We highly recommend a trip to Tikal in Guatemala and horseback riding (Robert in the stables was great with kids; we even let the girls take a second ride by themselves.) The walk to the Lodge is ten minutes along a beautiful trail and was not difficult.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pecele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

After a week on Ambergris Cay, we ventured off to Chaa Creek. What a treat. This is a classy resort in the middle of the jungle. To enjoy this eco lodge, you really need to be adventurous, like to hike, bird watch, ride horses, canoe and relax. Best to plan your days in advance. Each day, one of our children planned our events for the day. The highlights were a morning horseback ride around Chaa Creek, a canoe trip from Chaa Creek into San Ignacio, a morning at the Spa, and best was a day’s trip to Guatemala to see the Mayan ruins at Tikal. The drive to Tikal is long and bumpy but well worth the adventure. Also be sure to visit the market in San Ignacio and take in a soccer game while there.

We enjoyed breakfast, dinner and cocktails each day at the resort. The meals were terrific, local and always had a fun twist. We are used to fine restaurants and we were not disappointed here. Lunch was always out on one of our adventures. It’s probably a good idea to bring along some snacks as you are a ways away from shopping. Be sure to store your snacks securely as we did have a 4 legged visitor each night that gnawed on our trail mix. Part of living in the jungle I guess.

Be sure to bring some snacks along as you are in a fairly remote location.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
807 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
279 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
243 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Property: The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing