We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Belize”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #2 of 32 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

We recently stayed at the casitas here and loved it. The casitas are an affordable option to Chaa Creek's other more costly rooms. They are permanent tents located about a 10 minute walk from the main hotel. The area is run by Dolcio and his family and they are excellent hosts. The breakfasts and dinners that his wife prepared were delicious! We loved being in the tent at night and listening to the sounds of the jungle, which included a troop pf howler monkeys one night. Being able to take advantage of the hotel's other amenities, such as the guided walks, canoes and the pool, made our stay feel even more luxurious. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopeschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    139
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
402
493
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

My husband, 14 and 10 year old daughters stayed 7 nights in the casitas. We were joined by another family with similarly aged kids. We loved staying in the "camp," although it is really not camping, more like a cabin with a canvas roof. There were beds, linens and a porch with a hammock and chairs. It could be noisy at night, but that was from geckos, howler monkeys, cicadas and an occasional possum, all of which we enjoyed. Dosio and his family, the caretakers of the camp, took wonderful care of us. The food was great! Plus, we used the beautiful pool at the Lodge, and booked several excursions through the concierge there. We highly recommend a trip to Tikal in Guatemala and horseback riding (Robert in the stables was great with kids; we even let the girls take a second ride by themselves.) The walk to the Lodge is ten minutes along a beautiful trail and was not difficult.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pecele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

After a week on Ambergris Cay, we ventured off to Chaa Creek. What a treat. This is a classy resort in the middle of the jungle. To enjoy this eco lodge, you really need to be adventurous, like to hike, bird watch, ride horses, canoe and relax. Best to plan your days in advance. Each day, one of our children planned our events for the day. The highlights were a morning horseback ride around Chaa Creek, a canoe trip from Chaa Creek into San Ignacio, a morning at the Spa, and best was a day’s trip to Guatemala to see the Mayan ruins at Tikal. The drive to Tikal is long and bumpy but well worth the adventure. Also be sure to visit the market in San Ignacio and take in a soccer game while there.

We enjoyed breakfast, dinner and cocktails each day at the resort. The meals were terrific, local and always had a fun twist. We are used to fine restaurants and we were not disappointed here. Lunch was always out on one of our adventures. It’s probably a good idea to bring along some snacks as you are a ways away from shopping. Be sure to store your snacks securely as we did have a 4 legged visitor each night that gnawed on our trail mix. Part of living in the jungle I guess.

Be sure to bring some snacks along as you are in a fairly remote location.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Chaa Creek quite a bit. We stayed in the tree top suite, which was by far one of the most unique and beautifully decorated rooms we ever stayed in. We had a jacuzzi on our wrap around porch that overlooked the Macal River. The grounds were immaculately maintained. There were dozens of on sight activities including a butterfly farm, horseback riding and canoeing. There were also tours such as to Tikal, a Mayan ruin and also caving and tubing were options as well. If you have an opportunity go to Tikal and Caracoal. The ATM tour is amazing. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The cuisine was refreshing and tasty. You really got a feel for the local food. If you want to have luxury but also want to be surrounded by the jungle this is the place for you!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naomicdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

My aunt and I stayed at Chaa Creek for 3 days in March 2010 as part of a package arranged by Worldwide Ecotours and my local travel agent. Our every need was looked after - the Lodge arranged return shuttle transfers from the airport, tours of Actun Tunichil Muknal and Caracol with expert guides, and made sure that we could both get into the spa at the same time for some much-needed massages. The service at Chaa Creek really is top-notch - our needs were never questioned or ignored, and bookings and check-out were handled professionally by the warm Belizean staff.

Not for the budget traveler, but if you want to be well-taken care of after a day's adventures in the jungle, stay here.

The Infinity Pool was a great addition in my opinion - very refreshing!

A special thank-you to Francisco at PACZ tours for an unforgettable day at Actun Tunichil Miknal.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaG78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

Staying at the Macal River Camp was magic. Quiet, seclusion in the jungle, charming cabins in the trees and absolutely top-notch staff. Just a 10-minute hike away from all the amenities of a luxury eco-lodge (gorgeous pool,concierge to help with booking tours, etc) and only $55/night including breakfast and supper. Also the food at the Camp was spectacular!

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 50solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

My husband, another couple and I came inland to Chaa Creek during our 11-day stay in Belize. We started and ended in Caye Caulker, had planned on staying inland at Chaa Creek only 2 nights and, after being at Chaa Creek for about 2 minutes, decided to extend our stay an extra night. We stayed at the Camp Casitas, which is probably the best value for your money in Belize - if you understand ahead of time that you (as the title suggests) are camping. Our experience at Chaa Creek was by far the highlight of our entire trip. We went on 2 excursions - ATM and Xunantunich. ATM was one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had. We also kayaked down the Macal River, which came in a close second.
The staff and accomodations at Chaa Creek are top notch. Dosio and his family are in charge of the Casitas, and we very much enjoyed getting to know them. They are honest, kind, hard-working people who, I'm sure, have to put up with whiney, pampered tourists whose unrealistic expectations make their jobs difficult. I wouldn't say that the Casitas are totally roughing it, but they are exactly what they say they are - platformed tents. At night, you can hear the sounds of the nocturnal animals, which is one of the coolest things about staying at the Casitas. Each night, at about 3:00 or 4:00 am, we were awakened by the distinct cries of the rehabilitated howler monker population and the rooting of the Belizian armadillos. It's interesting to lie in bed and imagine what the animal that you're hearing looks like. In my head, it was always much bigger and more ferocious than the real thing. On our last day at Chaa Creek, my husband awakened me at about 6:30 am to show me the family of howler monkies that descended upon the campsite. 3 adults and 1 curious baby hanging out in the trees. Amazing.
Anwyay, Chaa Creek is completely awesome. Stay there. We have every intention of going back again.
PS - Got the 1 hour massage and it rocked. I was so relaxed afterwards, I seriously considered rolling down the hill back to the Casitas.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susannah456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Property: The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing