We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventurous,relaxing,outstanding service and family fun.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I visted the 7th of June in room number 17 and the experience was breath taking loved every part of my stay there,the tours ,relaxing at the pool and the service was very very excellent i didnt wanted to leave. Thanks for such a great family time it was eveything i needed. Will visit again soon. Ms. Smith and Mr. Arnold.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heavenlymarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I started our honeymoon vacation with a 3 night stay at The Lodge at Chaa Creek. I could not believe how beautiful this resort in the rainforest was. The room we stayed in was a wonderful retreat, despite the no air-conditioning. The fans sufficed :) The staff was incredible. Everyone was knowledgeable about anything and everything, they were very helpful and professional. The salt water pool was beautiful and felt amazing. The food was excellent. We wished we could have stayed longer, and we long to go back! Thank you Chaa Creek - we LOVED our experience entirely. :)

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Garden Suite. It was the perfect location, slightly away from others and sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

The staff at Chaa Creek are wonderful, actually everything about our trip was outstanding. Miguel who picked us up at the airport and took us on one of our day excursions was
excellent. We stayed in the
macal cottage, it suited us very well. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Awesome location. Could of stayed longer. If you do the ATM tour, ask for Hugh as your guide. Awesome experience. Canoe into town and hike the trails. Get up early. There are many birds on site and we heard howler monkeys everyday. Indoor showers were great but we also had an outdoor shower. Loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

From the time we got picked up at the airport to the day we left we felt very fortunate to have planned a trip to this little slice of Heaven !
It is a Eco Lodge that is run very well !
The food was over the top good...using local ingredients!
Our trips off property all went smooth and never had a worried moment.
Like a trip to Tikal was a wonderful experience to see the Mayan Ruins...a must!
Cheers to you all!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paradise142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was our third trip to Chaa Creek and we have never been dissapointed. It is a stunning place and meticulously taken care of. The staff are friendly, prompt and there to help. We stay in the casitas at the Macal River Camp for a more rustic experience. The host and his family are wonderful. They provide great food and anything else you need to make your experience more comfortable. The restaurant and pool are first class. I recommend Chaa Creek to anyone looking for a great Rainforst Experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I visited The Lodge at Chaa Creek last week – June 5-9th. We were picked up at the airport and we received a warm welcome upon arrival with a delicious drink and an aromatic cold towel. We felt the moment we arrived the serenity of being in the rain forest and knew this was going to be everything we expected. And it was and then some…
We stayed in the treetop suite, which was large and comfortable. King size bed and two pull-out sofa’s so plenty of room for families. Equipped with a blow dryer, plenty of towels, soaps, shampoo, coffee and water. The suite is screened in, with a large ceiling fan that was perfect. We were given complimentary metal water bottles. We had a wraparound porch with an outdoor Jacuzzi, umbrella, lounge chairs and an incredible view of the river and the rainforest/jungle. We actually slept better than ever. No TV. For those TV junkies, I can tell you that I quickly adapted and did not miss knowing what was going on around the world. It was actually a pleasure to be able to reflect at the end of the day all the things we enjoyed; as well as being able to spend a little time catching up on a good book. And yes, there is wireless internet connection if you must tweet, check emails, FB, etc…..
There are many pro’s to this lovely eco-friendly award winning resort, if you are looking to enjoy incredible scenic views of the forest, nature in its natural habitat, and extremely warm, accommodating staff that their goal is to treat their guests exceptional. We walked around the resort when we arrived to get acclimated, and to our delight, saw beautiful hummingbirds and other species of very active birds everywhere, a troop of howler monkeys and iguana’s. They all become your friend after a while..
We had no rain, and no problem with insect bites the whole time there. We did spray some deet on us just in case depending on what we were doing.
I noticed there were people from every walk of life staying here; including families with children, couples, photographers and single people. So this is a place to be visited by everyone. Expect to do a lot of walking which certainly helped me to sleep like a baby at night!
We did the horseback riding through the forest (so much fun even if you are a novice rider), a 7-mile canoe ride down the river into town which led you into the little village. You will enjoy the beauty and wildlife as you go down this gentle river. That day was market day so we enjoyed walking and learning the culture. We ate food from one of the street vendors, and not only was it delicious and fresh, but the gentlemen was endearing and kind. Although everyone speaks English here, Spanish is another language spoken of course, and I enjoyed talking to him in my broken Spanish. He was so appreciative of my effort too. We did the night creature walk, which was a blast; and saw tarantulas, scorpions, owls, foxes, and other creatures of the night. Another must do. There is a medicine trail where you will learn about plants and trees and how the Mayans used these to cure people. There is a lovely butterfly sanctuary you can visit as well up near the Spa. All activities are on the 350 acre natural reserve property so you never have to leave.
Things to bring: hiking shoes or sneakers, tank tops, shorts, bathing suits, sunblock, sun dress; but nothing too fancy, t-shirts, cap/hat, flip flops/comfortable sandals, deet just in case, light windbreaker with a hood, light long pants if you are going to horseback ride or do the night creature walk.
We did most activities with a Chaa Creek Guide which was educational; and they pointed out things you wouldn’t see if you did it on your own. Just schedule with the folks at the concierge’s desk.
The Spa. We did a 90 minute Coma massage; an appropriate name which totally relaxed us like a mind eraser. Done outside with the sounds of nature; birds of all kind, and the gentle wind blowing; we went back for a second one before we left! We also did a facial and a manicure. These lovely ladies greet you with water or a delicious tea; beautiful flowers are the décor around the Spa placed artistically in different places. You may climb up the 144 steps in you’d like a good workout (the second treatment I asked the front desk for a ride up the road to get there!) Again, a must do while there. They do not sell product like other spas, so no one pushing you to buy anything.
There is a very nice large salt water pool, where you can have lunch brought to you as well. We enjoyed the pool at the end of our day of adventures which was just perfect. There is also a nice outdoor bar where you can chat with the other guests, having an inviting tropical drink made with indigenous fresh fruit and listen to some music.
The food was great; breakfast, lunch and dinner. We enjoyed on Sunday the traditional beans, rice, stewed chicken and potato salad. You must try the Dragon Fruit too. I couldn’t get enough of this.
I want to end this with the staff and thank them. I tried to remember everyone, and they made us feel like family. Bryoney runs this resort for the most part now, and is an owner/owners’ daughter. First day we were there, she came over to us and welcomed us, and gave a first account history of how the resort started and grew. I greatly admire her and how she truly cares about how her guests feel during their stay. Genuine and endearing; I enjoyed talking with her throughout our stay! Going down the list, Rosanna/Restaurant Supervisor, Jessica/Waitress, Jesus/ Operations Manager, Emmel/ Horseback riding guide, Goldburn/ Medicine Walk and Night creature walk, Shenny/Concierge Supervisor, and Alan/Canoe guide. Each of them and the others I may not have remembered their names, were at the top of their game, and also one of the reasons to want to go back; which we will…..

Room Tip: All rooms are good with unique qualities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeAnnFortLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
841 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
640 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
141 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
405 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: $489 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests say they appreciate Chaa Creek’s eco-friendly blend of pristine nature and a casually luxurious built environment, and enjoy the flexibility and choice we offer in accommodations, amenities, meals, tours and expeditions. Our wide range of accommodations allow guests to select lodgings that range from the rustic charm of the Macal River Camp to the unparalleled luxury of the new Ix Chel Luxury Rainforest Villas, whose stunning views, private Jacuzzis, plunge pools and amenities such as the attention of a personal butler have set new standards for excellence in a pristine natural environment. In addition, our infrastructure and nationwide network of colleagues enable us to offer a range of comprehensive, hassle-free tours and all-inclusive Belize vacation packages that cater to all ages, interests and levels of fitness. For example, our close relationships with premier Belizean reef and island resorts at Ambergris Caye, Placencia and other Caribbean vacation spots allow us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing