We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Macal River Camp” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Ranked #2 of 31 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Macal River Camp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent 3 night in a jungle cabana at the Chaa Creek Macal River Camp and we loved it. We are the type of people who love to tent camp and love being close to nature, and here you can't get much closer. We thought the howler monkeys were right outside our door at night they were so loud, it was amazing. The sounds of the jungle put us to sleep at night and it was fun wondering just what kind of creature was making each noise. There were lots of bugs in our cabana but this is to be expected when in the middle of the jungle. You have to walk outside to community bathroom and showers and these were kept clean, and the showers had hot water.
We thought the price was great for what we got since it included full breakfast and great dinners. We enjoyed walking over to the main resort area which is down a jungle trail to get a drink at the bar and use Internet service. We would buy a bottle of wine and bring it back and sit on our deck and enjoy the view. Dosio and his family are caretakers and cook the meals, they are attentive and genuinely nice people. If you are thinking of staying at the Macal River Camp please do your research, we loved it, but it is not for everyone. Chaa Creek has many other higher quality and higher priced accommodations, so I think there is something for each type of traveler here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    134
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
381
484
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Beautiful site carefully situated in the Belizean foothills by the Macal river.

Sumptuous is the word that comes to mind. Our lodge was fabulous and huge, with indoor and outdoor showers and hammocks on the deck. No TV. Decor plush but in keeping.

The grounds are immaculate and the restaurant staff and food (plenty of choice) were excellent.

Large infinity pool was a real plus.

We did lots of canoeing and went down the river to San Ignacio (not much interest there). We also went canoeing in a cave which was great. We spent a great few hours horse riding (we are not experienced) through the Belizean countryside.

Great place to chill-out for a few days.

Our trip to Belize, we stayed in three locations, was organised by naturallyBelize who really know their job and advised on our destinations, everything about it went like a dream.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solarpowered2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our experience at Chaa Creek was absolutely wonderful. The property is beautiful and the surroundings are amazing. The staff was top notch and the food was perfect. I really can't think of a thing I would change. We were traveling with a number of kids (age 1-7) and were concerned that there would be enough to do but we should't have. There were plenty of activities for any age. I might have been more adventurous if the kids weren't with us but I am so glad we brought them. If you insist on plastic cartoon characters for the kids to play on and continuous cable access this may not be the place for you. However, if you want to experience the rainforest and be very comfortable in the process, go to Chaa Creek. There were really too many special touches to know where to begin.

Room Tip: Every room looks great. I think Chaa Creek was full but you would never know it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frs2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by warm and friendly people. The grounds were beautiful and we instantly felt like we were in a jungle paradise. The service oriented staff was fantastic. Miguel provided transportation and fantastic tour guiding services. Erin at the pool, Alan on night tour, Jessica and other restaurant staff were superb. Drinks and food were great, with drink specials and a variety of menu choices each day. Our children enjoyed the grounds and seeing lots of wildlife. Our biggest surprise was the huge salt water pool. Spa was tranquil and the butterfly farm was worth seeing. Research timing of your visit as it can be very warm during dry season.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to be all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was our first stop in Belize.. and we didn't want to leave! The resort is incredibly beautiful, totally peaceful and serene. I can't say enough good things! The staff was very friendly and felt almost like family by the end of only 3 days. The food was delicious! Our room was spacious, open and really set the tone for our trip- beds were super comfy and the tall thatched roofs were really unique and airy. We enjoyed several excursions while we were there including a cave tour, horseback riding to the ruins and canoeing down the river. The open air restaurant and bar were the perfect spot to relax before and after our adventures. Dwane makes some of the best drinks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahooper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our second visit to Chaa Creek was like coming home. We saw familar faces of people who work there and felt comfortable. Our first day, we lounged by the pool. it is warm, all the same depth, for swimming and the children's pool is the water fall caused by the overflow. We had lunch poolside and felt like we were in heaven with all the birds and howler monkeys in the distance. The second day we rode horses and saw so many birds .Thanks to Robert, we saw a mother Howler monkey up in the trees with 2 little babies. Robert could not have been more attentive to this senior citizen who has never rode a horse. The third day we embarked on a fatastic day with Lazarius to his home on Vaca Lake for the pontoon ride. I can't praise Lazarius enough for the memories he gave me and my husband. The day was filled with laughter and surprise and the waterfalls and the walk up the last one was the dessert. Thank-you Lazarus from the bottom of my heart for literally helping me "every step of the way" and providing the walking sticks. You said we were "pioneers" as this is a new venture for you, and I know that with your help and guidance many more people young and old will enjoy your backyard and want to come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cutie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here in August 2012. Stayed in both the campsite for one night and upgraded to a cottage for another two nights.
The food is great. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the bartenders are a lot of fun.
All areas of the lodge were clean. It is not overly manicured. The landscaping was perfect and when I wanted even more of a jungle feel I took to the various paths or took a canoe trip.
Had a great time lounging out on the hammocks both at the campsite and cottage, drink in hand, gazing up at the stars.
And there is nothing like having breakfast at camp with howler monkeys overhead!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotorCityAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.8 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
4.0 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Property: The Lodge at Chaa Creek
Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing